We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical situation of taking advantage of foreigners and laughing about it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Koh Chang

Save Saved
You added Tropical Beach Koh Chang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
42/1 Moo 2, Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 71 hotels in Ko Chang
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Typical situation of taking advantage of foreigners and laughing about it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

After many years living in Thailand I'm shocked what is becoming acceptable in guesthouse etiquette.
Rudeness, lack of services!
Sure, years ago we had that in "the land of smiles," but it was cheap... Now it's not. This hotel is 1500 baht per night. Hello travelers that is not cheap in Thailand! Its medium...

This property is far from everything and after you travel down the dirt road for what seems like hours (you won't be leaving cause that trip alone is exhausting)you are met by people who speak little Thai nor English. There is no pool on the grounds! The beach is covered in rocks and garbage because instead of cleaning the workers are playing Facebook.
I checked out after 5 hours because the power was out at the guesthouse.
They explained in khmere that the whole island was without power and to be patience. Which I was, for about 5 hours. But as a dark night was approaching, I decided to call the next hotel and asked if they had power and they did:) when I complained they said " too bad" deal with it. Then when I spoke Thai (and a little Khmer) and explained that I live in Thailand they agreed to refund me the money back, which they did in cash. But now I'm dealing with a booking company because the hotel reported to them that I was a "no show" and charged my card. These people are scammers as far as I'm concerned. The power came on as I drove away. The is a way for the hotels to save as much money as possible, the power was out no where else but on this property.

This is bad management and travelors should not support these kinds of habits here in Thailand. especially as we merge into the Asian community. These companies need to learn to do business the "Right way" and not the greedy way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanyarat_12, Owner at Tropical Beach Koh Chang, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind visit us, and we are very sorry to know how disappointed you are during your stay here. On that period that you are check-in, there is some problem about the electric wire on the way from Bang Bao pier to resort, the tree as come down and broken the electric wire, but our staff give you the mistake information not all the area of Koh Chang. Anyway their 's no excute we will use your suggesstion as one of our valued lessons to improve all our services to every valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in Jan 2013.
We had a beach front room with views over the beach/sea,which was lovely.
The rooms are large spacious and have everything you need, hot showers,fridge,safe and TV ( didn't use TV). The room was serviced/cleaned every day with all towels and bedding changed.
Breakfast was included for the £25 per night we paid, buffet and not over interesting but you could always find something to eat, fresh fruit ,coffee toast, scrambled eggs and an Asian selection.
We ate in the restaurant a few times and found the food to be of a good standard and plentiful and not that expensive, we have paid more in other areas in Thailand.
The only slight down side is that the hotel is off the beaten track so without the use of a moped or taxis(which we thought a tad expensive) or if you like to a long walk, you are a little stuck on the resort, that said if peace tranquility is what you want then this is ideal. We loved it!
We did take taxis into Bang Bao pier a few times, if you do then the Buddha View is worth a visit, great food and very nice ambience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanyarat_12, Manager at Tropical Beach Koh Chang, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We had a good time serving you and having you in our resort as well. We hope to see you back again for your relaxing time.

Best regard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I travelled with a few friends -- we had two "garden view" (standard/superior) bungalows.

We found this to be a great place, and only want to say this, in case you're expecting 5* resort (there's a posh facility next door):

Driving from the ferry pier seems to take you to the furthest end of the island -- which is true! Management lost our reservation details but shuffled things around for us, added the extra bed that we had emailed about. The transfer service from the pier dropped us off at the end of the road... and the resort was about 500m further down the beach (or more, down a winding and uneven backroad). Resort staff are unobtrusive, the restaurant seems to operate at a slow&sleepy pace. There was a garbage bin in front of the next bungalow, and I don't know how its occupants dealt with the foul smells! The beachfront is rocky and unsuitable for bathing, although great for anyone who wants to explore the seafloor at low-tide.

We walked about 400m west (to the right) for a bathing-beach, borrowing the chairs from another resort (buy a snack or a drink). There are quite a few dining options along the BangBao beach; for more choices, the village at Lonely Beach is only a 60-70B taxi ride away. We had stuff for the mosquitoes, which took care of the critters. Staff helped call a taxi for us, if the driver has a card and you have a mobile number, you can book your own rides into the village or over to busier beaches. There is a tour service, offering all the things that others on the island advertise; nothing special. You can pay in cash, or with a foreign-issued credit card.

Room Tip: Garden view (standard) bungalows are fine... I wouldn't pay extra for the superior/beach-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I travelled with my daughters, 25 and 13. We had two bungalows. Seaview, but not worth it. What was ok with the resort was that the people working there was very kind.
But the bungalows was not clean and it was a lot of insects there.
The beach was not for bathing. The beach at the left side, Grand Lagoona, was great. By climbing a little we could go there by following the sealine. But otherwise, the staff told us it would take about 20 min walk and costed 50 TBH. No beds there. The other hotels beaches on the right side was also better.
The resort offer transport, but it is overprised!
It's a place with free internet, but mostly it did't work.
The restaurant closed after 8:30 PM. After that it was no staff at the resort.
After a short time we left the resort and went to Amari Emerald Cove, and it was like going from hell to heaven:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

nice hotel with good facility . hotel people are nice , room ( pool access) are nice . only one problem is hotel is far from pier .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We knew little about the layout of Ko Chang so it was not the fault of the hotel that we felt a bit isolated. The hotel pool more than made up for the lack of a nice hotel beach but not being able to walk to other beaches was a disappointment. The hotel management was helpful with suggestions for getting around although the options were limited to taxis and motorscooters and as the roads are steep and narrow the latter was not an attractive option. We had a superior room looking out towards the ocean. The room was beautifully clean and the bed comfortable for us although quite firm. The only negative was being woken a couple of times during storms when for some reason the room's vestibule light went on. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of options. Definitely a good value hotel that provided a pleasant and peaceful environment .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

More or less on the end of the road (and beyond!) lies this wonderful Tropical Beach resort where I stayed 2 weeks. I had a very nice time there but for other travellers it is worth knowing a few facts:

The road ends about 1.5 km before the resort and after that, you have to go on a bumpy dirtroad to get to the resort. You could however walk along the beach to and from the main road which is only about 600 meter. I had a motorbike and I quite liked it but other people felt a bit trapped there.

The beach in front of the resort is very rocky and not so nice for swimming but if you walk about 300 meter towards the main road, there are lots of nice places to swim and relax, with free comfortable beds to lie upon all day as long as you have something to eat or drink there. I found it to be the best beach on the island to read and relax and where beds are free.

Now the bugalows are detached and therefore much more quiet than in other resorts where neighbours can be noisy. There is a neighbouring resort that sometimes has Karaoke evening that can be noisy but usually they stop earlyish (10 PM).

On the other hand, the lights stay on all night in the park and the curtains are very thin, so I felt like it was day i.s.o. night every time I woke up in the middle of the night. I decided to use my blankets and towels as curtains to dim the lights, very annoying.

The people in the resort are very friendly but asking for a thinner pillow never resulted in actually getting one.

Overal it was a very relaxed stay, with friendly smiles everytime I saw one of the staffmembers. The rooms were spacious and clean (but why not paint the walls i.s.o. the prison-look raw concrete?) and eventhough all the minor negative points, I would still recommend it to any body who just want to enjoy the sunset, the beautiful views of the mountains and the fishermen looking for shellfish. They might even find this resort to be perfect!

Room Tip: I don't think it is worth paying more for the front bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Beach Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Koh Chang

Address: 42/1 Moo 2, Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 71 hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Tropical Beach Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Beach Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.