We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Privacy Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Privacy Resort Koh Chang to your Saves list
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
29 Moo 1, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Privacy resort is on the East side of Koh Chang which means the area has not been over developed. Not sure why Taxis do not seem to like going east - the price quoted at the ferry port to Privacy was 1500 baht - thats £30! Just contact Privacy direct and they will provide a much more reasonably priced shuttle. Because of the taxi price I imagined dirt tracks and hair pin bends but in fact the road was fine and would be safe to drive a rental car or scooter. As we have had bad experience with scooters my wife will not get on one. I was a bit concerned about how much it would cost to get around, but for the 3 nights that we stayed, Heiko, the German owner made sure that we got around all of the interesting places and arranged an excellent boat trip around some islands, snorkelling and great beaches. Heiko has a pickup truck and took us out each night to restaurants and back to Privacy for drinks (bought in a local shop so not expensive). The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with a/c and on suit. I thought we might get eaten by Mosquitoes etc given the location but not a bite! Breakfast was excellent. Its not near the beach but for us this really didn't matter because Heiko ensured that we were mobile and got to see everything. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the road but this really didn't matter as there was hardly any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East-Coast-Koh-Chang, Manager at Privacy Resort Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für die tolle Bewertung. Wir werden uns bemühen noch besser zu werden.
Hoffentlich sehen wir uns bald wieder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Since years we are coming to Koh Chang, natural full of adventures location, but this time we went to the east side, we have read a lot of The "Privacy Resort Koh Chang" and want to stay this place. Heiko and his team try everything that we feel the stay unforgettable. The surrounding, nature, silence, environment, etc. makes the place a paradise. The standard and facilities of the bungolows are excellent. They are really top and there is no time limit getting a proper service. The weather was great, the time during our stay runs too fast even with anTV in the room, but we never used it. Getting a motorbike from Heiko or hiking in the national parks or swimming in the swimmingpool in front the door was wonderful. Heiko was so helpful to bring us with his motorboat or car around and making our holiday perfect, all the things you want to do on holiday, he is just an amazing...The privacy has been never disturbed and we had a lot of enjoyable evenings together with Heiko and his beautful wife and other hotel guests.
If you want to escape from the business world and rest and recharge your "battery" this is the right place to do so. We really felt like we were in paradise, something that we will always remember. Thank you so much for renting out your beautiful place to us and making our stay on the otherside of Koh Chang so fantastic. It was a really wonderful. We will comeback to Privacy Resort and spend more Time.

Room Tip: Anyone are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East-Coast-Koh-Chang, Manager at Privacy Resort Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

It is our experience that a significant number of hospitality facilities in SE Asia don't understand the concept. The owners of this delightful getaway on the quiet side of Koh Chang certainly do. The facility is not exotic but the experience is fine because Heiko and Narrisa will ensure that your needs are met. We particularly enjoyed the gathering in the evening with the other guests to exchange travel stories.

Room Tip: Arrange your ground transport to the resort (from the ferry dock) in advance. Be aware that they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East-Coast-Koh-Chang, Manager at Privacy Resort Koh Chang, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

All you can read here is 100% true. PRIVACY RESORT lives up to its name.It makes a great base for exploring the island.Mothimg is too much trouble for Haiko and Narrissa.They arrsmge whatever you need, but never impose themselves on the guests. Highlight for this solo traveller were the dinner trips to local restaurants in Haiko's pickup truck. Great way to enjoy wellpriced delicious local fare.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East-Coast-Koh-Chang, Inhaber at Privacy Resort Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Google Translation
Frank H. hat nachweislich bei uns 5 Tage verbindlich gebucht und nicht bezahlt. Wir haben Anzeige bei der Polizei erstattet. Als Dank hat er uns zwei rufschädigende Bewertungen geschrieben.
Wir haben ihn auf die Hotel Blacklist gesetzt.
Auf Wunsch teilen wir gerne per eMail den vollständigen Namen und Adresse dieses Herrn mit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We wanted to spend our last few days on Koh Chang on the quiet Eastern side of the Island and booked 4 nights in Heiko and Narisa's resort. After having had a bad experience with our previous resort, we were so happy to find that Privacy Resort is a beautiful place with 6 well maintained spacious bungalows plus a very nice pool. But the best thing at Privacy Resort apart from the looks of the garden and the high quality of the rooms are the hosts Heiko and Narisa. They are the most loveable hosts we have ever had!! Their funny dogs, Susi and Rudi, just had puppies and enjoyed playing with them. At Privacy Resort you will feel like at good friends' place, Heiko helps you with anything you want and every night he takes his guests to some local restaurants to have dinner together. But if you don't like this kind of intimacy with others, don't worry, you can easily just be on your own, without feeling obligated to join all for dinner and afterwards drinks back at the resort - but then you would definitely miss the fun part!What really amazed us was the boat tour with Heikos cozy boat through the Mangroves - what an amazing experience! But for us definitely the most fun experience was staying one night in Heiko's super romantic cottage by the sea. As his resort was fully booked he offered us an alternative by staying one night at his private boat house remotely located at a private little beach (not so much to swim but perfect view). He outdid himself to renovate and make the cottage cozy before our stay there. All in all it was a wonderful stay at Heiko's and Narisa's place and we would definitely recommend it to nature lovers, couples and people who are looking for retreat rather than loud touristic places. Thank you for your hospitality :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East-Coast-Koh-Chang, Manager at Privacy Resort Koh Chang, responded to this review, April 18, 2015
Thanks a lot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Laid back and relaxed at this very decent resort on the eastern coast of Koh Chang National Park. The European owner paid much attention to minute details and the resort isn't exactly large by comparison. The short and easy drive from the island's ferry pier at our arrival was a big difference to the previous trips further west on mountain slopes and slippery, winding single-lane roads. WiFi was free and of excellent quality. Our booked room even included a free scooter to zoom around! A very tranquil location near major mangrove forests and a great base for island explorations. Boat trips and ocean kayaking was arranged for by the owner himself. The rooms were well appointed and very tidy in appearance. Our youngster loved the pool to play in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at a number of resorts across Thailand during our five-month trip, and the Privacy Resort was easily our favorite place. We were there for six weeks in January and February, 2013, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The owners/managers and staff are congenial and attentive. The bungalows, pool, and common areas are always well maintained and very clean. With their warm colors and rustic furniture, the bungalows are spacious and comfortable. The quantity and quality of the provided breakfasts was good and often contained local fruits which were new to us. Watching the ocean and listening to the wide variety of bird and animal calls from the surrounding forest was a lovely way to start the day.
The Privacy Resort suits its name. There are only seven units, all of which face the pool. Surrounded by lush tropical forest and rubber trees, its location on the east side of Koh Chang is significantly more peaceful than the heavily-touristed west side of the island. The roads are good, and short scooter rides took us to several beaches and many places to eat. Heiko, the German owner, has a boat and will take guests on various tours of the local islands and mangrove areas for reasonable rates. We much preferred the personalized aspect of exploring the shores and beaches in the smaller watercraft to a larger commercial sightseeing tour boat.
We are planning to return to the Privacy Resort this coming October for an extended visit and are really looking forward to the warm hospitality of the owners and staff and the relaxing atmosphere of this quiet oasis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Privacy Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privacy Resort Koh Chang

Address: 29 Moo 1, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A young and modern Resort in quiet location The Long Beach, the Waicheck Beach and some lonely and tropical beaches arround. Motorscooter and car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Privacy Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Privacy Resort Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.