We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron on the Sea

Saffron on the Sea
13/10 mu 4, Hat Khai Muk, Ko Chang, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 170 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here and also ate in the restaurant. The food is fabulous! Try the panang curry!! Amongst the best food we have had on the island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    74
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Romantic Thai in perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Saffron On The Sea is, as the name suggests, situated right on the shore of the Gulf of Thailand. Together with the rather dark lighting concept, it creates a very romantic and relaxing atmosphere.
The menu is classic Thai cuisine, not the tourist stuff you usually find on the islands. So we had two well known classics - and something a bit more exotic. Having lived in Thailand for more than 10 years now, and being a bit of a hobby expert Thai cook myself, my expectations were high. But I was not to be disappointed:
the Tom Kha Gai (coconut soup with chicken) was a delight, like it should be - a bit limy, a bit spicy, creamy, but not heavy;
the Panang curry tasted great as well.
Our favorite was the Yam Tua Plee (Banana Flower salad), which set a new benchmark for this dish - it was an explosion of spices and tastes, mixed up in a sauce that was so good I had to finish it with the spoon straight out of the serving dish. It was that delicious.
So if you want to eat real Thai cuisine, go to Saffron - and try to mix and share a lot of dishes, like the Thais do. If you eat Thai food the Western way (one dish per person), you'll totally miss out on the experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ET1971
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food almost in the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a hidden gem and hard to find. But when you get here you will be served fantastic thai food and you will be given excelent service for a very reasonable price. We loved it all!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Enjoying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great food, all fresh ingredients quiet and cosy place by the sea.
Friendly staff, and clean presentation

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

excellent. Food was fresh and beautifull presented. Tasted great. fab service. The best thai food in ko chang. The resturant was in an excellent setting by the sea

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron on the Sea also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Saffron on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron on the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.