We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Cottage to your Saves list
Paradise Cottage
104/1 Moo 1, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 76 Reviews
Sucre, Bolivia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We just came from horrible siam hut (at the other side of Lonely Beach) and arrived in the morning adt Paradise Cottages. It's lovey here! Nice hammcks, chill music, good working wifi, great breakfast and very very nice room! Love it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
28
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have been staying in Paradise cottage already for 20 days... For us this is the best spot on island... Value for money... Our cottage is like our home with a lovely terrace
The launge area is fantastic with sunset view and hammocks ... Can spend full day lazing around over there...Also the music policy in place is amazing .... I have never heard such an amazing collection of music like here...
Tumbs Up Keng :)
Will deffinatlly recommend it to my friends !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

unbelievable.. .
First he accepted the reservation, apperently he lied, when i tried to confirm, he said it was only day by day..no reservation possible after i tried to book and pay all in advance..the receptionist started being rude and said i didn't pay anything at all and it was better to look for another hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in this place and loved it! It`s quit and near Lonely beach and restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly and helpfull and the cottages clean and basic but very nice. The food is good and a view to kill. You can swim into the sea but there is no real beach and there are some rocks. We had a good time at the busy party on Halloween,it was great! We go back there if we ever visit Koh Chang again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGRA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We originally wanted to stay here for a week and had booked upfront from back home.

The place looks very stylish at the beachside with all the concrete and the little huts to relax. However, everywhere you see that either there is still work in progress or its just not finished properly. For 700 baht a night thats ok though...in the evening the atmosphere there is certainly nice.

The bungalows are not that great in comparison we thought. I have to agree with previous reviews, that the sheets and towels were not clean (like acceptably clean for backpackers) and the hut itself is very, very basic. A bit like a basement room with all that concrete from the inside.

What made us move out after 1 night is that we could not swim in front of the huts. The walk to the neighbouring lonley beach is roughly 15 min. and was too long for our personal liking.
(It was known to us before booking, so all transparent but once you're there you turn lazy.)


The service seemed ok, though we had some difficulties ordering breakfast. The set breakfast is quite basic and consist of bacon and eg. As a vegetarian I found it a bit irritating, that a fruit musli instead would be charged extra. (We settled this in the end but it was miniscule and still felt strange.)

So all in, not a bad place but not the best for swimming and that was important to us. We found some lovely huts directly at the beach for 350 a night. (Siam beach cottages).

We would not come again but check it out yourself.

Room Tip: Check the sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Boi de Llobregat, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

Quiet,perfect,super...this accommodation is simple the best in the island...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I get the feeling that the average reviews for this property come from those that expect an impeccable resort for 400-700 BHT. You won't get that here, but for what Paradise Cottage is, it is a great place to spend as long as you can afford to be away from work/school. The atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful, which is different from the beachfront bungalows/resorts directly on Lonely Beach.

Paradise Cottages is at the end of the Lonely Beach and requires a 10 minute walk to the actual beach. However, it's an easy walk and allows you the additional peace and quiet. There are 5-6 small verandas with tables and hammocks where you can spend the entire day lounging, eating, and drinking. (Beware of the ants in some of the verandas. This isn't the U.S. so don't expect them to spray for bugs. That's up to you). The food off the menu was excellent and I encourage you to try the coconut shake. The mixed drinks also appeared to be about 40 BHT cheaper than most other resorts/hotels we stopped at for a drink. Bonus.

The rooms will vary depending on what you reserve. The 700 BHT sea front rooms have A/C and a small balcony. During very hot weather periods (at or above 34C) you might want the A/C. We stayed in the 400 BHT fan room and were completely comfortable as the weather was in the 30-32 range. These rooms also offer a small view of the water as they are behind and slightly off-centered from the sea view rooms. Both of the rooms mentioned above come with a free breakfast, which was decent. The 200 BHT rooms are small wooden cottages in the third row. Didn't look into these. Don't think you get a free breakfast with them either.

The staff was extremely helfpul, especially the owner, Julia. She'll be more than happy to help you with any requests (outings, taxi rides, motorbikes, etc).

Note the kitchen is open at 8am for breakfast and closes at 8 or 9pm. There is also free wi-fi at the resort.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cottage

Address: 104/1 Moo 1, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cottage provides rustic architecture tropical style, atmosphere in the open air,Our friendly and informal with the kind of hospitality you can only find in Thailand "Paradise Cottage" Come and be part of our family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cottage Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.