We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the the room was maintained” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Cottage Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siam Cottage Bungalows
Save
You added Siam Cottage Bungalows to your Saves list
49/2 Moo 4 | Kaibae Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If only the the room was maintained”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It was the low season so most of the rooms were available. The location is great, just next to the beach too. But the upkeep of the rooms is poor. The first room we looked at, there were alot of ants in the toilet. The second room we saw was ok, so we took it. But after leaving the a/c on for a while it started leaking. That was it. We paid them 200baht for the 4 hours we were there and checked out. We found a better place nearby for the same rate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My fave place in the world!! Love the beach, the bars, and the beach hutsare basic but comfy and the veranda does lovely food.

It has its own little private beach with one of the best sunsets in the world, highly recommend :)

Very quiet and peaceful on an evening and easy to make friends! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Koh Chang, including Kaibai beach, is a bit touristy and built up, but is really easy to get to, with cheap buses from Bangkok (4-5 hours). Travel on the island is by pick-up truck bus, again very cheap.

Siam Cottages are the budget option, but less than a quarter of the price of the places next door. Bungalows is a nice way of describing these basic timber huts - the shower/toilet in particular are pretty basic - but bed was huge and comfortable, with mosquito net if needed. The huts are at most 40 yards from the sea.

The beach is a bit rocky at low tide but clean and warm, and only 10 yards from the bar. The bar and restaurant is a Thai long house with open walls and relaxing cushion seats. WiFi is available on the beach and they also have an internet room. The food was excellent and very cheap, so much so that we hardly went anywhere else for meals. They also run a barbecue every night.

The best bit was the friendliness, from the owners and staff to fellow guests plus the cats and mynah birds, with a really good music selection. To sum up, a very low cost hippy alternative to posh resorts.

Room Tip: Aircon is available in some bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

There are 17 Bungalows in two neat rows which lead down to the resorts restaurant and the beach. The beach is a small strip of nice white sand and although it was a little stoney once you're in the sea it's nothing too troubling.

I ate at the restaurant a couple of times and it was good affordable fare and the service came with a smile. The restaurant itself is beautifully located for staring out to sea with a cold drink whilst lazing about on cushions and listening to the Zen like background music.

The fan cooled Bungalows are fairly small but they're certainly comfortable enough and have louvered windows with curtains and a small balcony with furniture. The bathroom is an open air affair and served it's purpose fine.

There is also a small shop onsite as well as a little internet cafe for those needing their net fix

The resort is set back from the main Kai Bae road and so is resonably quiet and for 500 Baht a night I think it's a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Cottage Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Cottage Bungalows

Address: 49/2 Moo 4 | Kaibae Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Cottage Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.