We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Pies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy's Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paddy's Palms Resort to your Saves list
Paddy's Palms Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9/22 3-4-5 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 93 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I called in here for a lunch meal on the 18th March 2014 and absolutely loved the atmosphere and the food. Oh course I loved the Guinness. What a shame I missed being here the day before for St. Patrick's day. We both ordered a pie with French fries and salad.
Service was prompt, good English and the time for the meal to arrive was not too long.
We called in again on the 24th to cool off after a walk along the streets of White Sands. The service was as good as the 1st visit, the snack this time were the spring rolls. Very tasty.
The interior was welcoming with cabinets of old Guinness memorabilia, the usual posters and point of sale items. The television screens are many and very clear and while we did not watch a game I am sure many would. Would I come back here for a cool beverage, very much so.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
28
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice small Hotel. Very friendly staff, nice pool, clean rooms. Good value for money. Good breakfast in the Pub. Good location, about a 10 min. walk to white sand beach, good to avoid missbehving taxi drivers on koh chang.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is definitely the place to go on Koh Chang for rugby matches! Great irish bar and really makes you feel at home. They have various screens around the bar showing different sports but for me the fact they show the rugby during the six nations makes it the go to sports bar on Koh Chang.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A very nice moderate sized hotel, 3* in my book with a great swimming pool and also an Irish pub attached .... that does a fantastic breakfast! Well located and very reasonably priced and also dog friendly should your pooch be travelling with you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Paddy's isn't located near the gorgeous beaches that you will want to visit on Koh Chang. It's 30+ minutes by scooter to the beaches we loved in the South part of the island closer to Lonely Beach. It is about 5 minutes walk to a public access point of White Sand Beach that is sandy, but it's an extremely disappointing beach...especially once you see the pristine beaches beyond Lonely Beach.

The hotel had comfortable accommodations and clean rooms. The shower was hot although the water pressure was terrible and the water reeked of metal (this may be the case for the whole island). Our only complaint real about the room was that guests smoking in adjacent rooms left our room smelling of smoke. It was also very windy during our stay and the wind coming through the hallway left our door rattling all night long.

The pool was freezing in January so nobody swam in it, but who cares when you have amazing beaches nearby.

The breakfast was decent. There was fruit, toast, tea/coffee/OJ, corn flakes and your choice of a hot meal (bacon & eggs, baked beans, fried rice, or rice soup). We ate dinner here one night and left disappointed. The best thing about the restaurant is the Guinness beer on tap. It's not that cold, but it's a stout - something impossible to find in SE Asia.

With the exception of one man, every person we met during our stay at Paddy's was Irish. Most of them were old men there with 20-something Thai girls who spoke limited English that we assume they picked up in Bangkok.

Overall, we found this hotel to be "average" in all aspects. However, it's overpriced for what you get. Unfortunately, when you book late in peak season you may end up here like we did. It's an okay hotel, but compared to other options on the island it's not ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights during the January 2014 high season. To be honest I think the 1500 baht high season prices are too high for what I consider to be just average.
The accommodation is in seperate buildings to the rear of the pub. There is private parking and a swimming pool. The pool is mainly shaded throughout the day. Reception is manned until 10pm, at which time security seems non-existent, given a few CCTV cameras. The doors to the block are left wide open all night.
Rooms are quite spacious. But walls and doors are wafer thin. The corridors seemed to amplify any noise such as doors opening and closing, thus making the building noisy.
The electric shower provides warm water and pulses decent pressure intermittently. Only 2 bars of soap are provided. One bath towel is also provided. There is a small patio which I didn't find attract enough to use. There are a good selection of channels to view on the TV, and a small clothes hanging wardrobe for storage. There is no security safe in the room. But there are security boxes in reception.
The breakfast is ok. On 2 occasions I was served something different to what I ordered. So make sure you make it clear. There is a choice of western style breakfast and two Thai style rice dishes. Plus the usual fruit and juice.
The staff all seemed miserable and hardly managed a smile. Which just underlined this budget(1500 baht) accommodation just average. Would I stay here again? No. I have already moved somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Big, quite and clean rooms, wonderful breakfast included (one of the best I had in 3 years in south east asia), there is a nice and relaxing swimming pool, 5-10 minutes walking distance from the beach, many bars and restaurants around, what else do you need?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddy's Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palms Resort

Address: 9/22 3-4-5 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paddy's Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddy’s Palms resort opened in 2006 with quality furnished rooms and a beautiful infinity swimming pool with Jacuzzi. The resort has spectacular mountain views. The resort has a large car park and is set back behind Paddy’s Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paddy's Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy`s Palms Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy's Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.