We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for budget traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ploy Inn

Ploy Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ploy Inn
Save
You added Ploy Inn to your Saves list
4/19 Loney Beach | Bailan, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 89 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great for budget traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in another hostel nearby and just did one night here at the end of our stay and wish we'd stated here for the whole week. It's great value for budget travellers. Decent room and it's quiet if you want a break from bars/clubs. Super friendly- especially the resident cat!!! Would recommend this guesthouse and stay again if we return to the island.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Ploy Inn for 5 days in Ko Chang. The owner was really nice and gave us a discount so we only payed 500 baht per night. The staff is very nice and always helped us out and gave us information about the island. The rooms are simple, but we had airconditioning and an own bathroom (which was outside). You will be literally in the jungle with this accommodation! However, you are only on the main road in Lonely beach which means you're surrounded by all the restaurants and close to the beach.

Room Tip: Do not expect a 5 star hotel, but if you are a backpacker and want a decent room, this is it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ploy Inn was one of the best places we stayed so far. Was nicely decorated had wardrobes, stools, desks, mirrors all the things we haven’t had for ages. We are used to just a bed and fan so was a nice surprise considering it was 400 baht for an en-suite double with fan. Took 10 mins to walk to the beach, which was lovely, the sea was so warm. Have no bad things to say about ploy. It was a very pleasant surprise as we weren't expecting much, we would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Having read the rave reviews on tripadvisor, we initially had our hearts set on staying at Little Eden Bungalows in Lonely Beach. We arrived, however, to be seriously disappointed - incredibly basic huts pretty much open to the elements... not what we were expecting at all. Luckily, we came across Ploy Talay Inn, where we ended up staying for five nights. The room was a good size, very clean with nice linen, TV and aircon; bathroom was also good. It was also nicely designed (most places we had stayed in Asia had been quite bland). Location wise, Ploy is located on the road, so not beachside, but just a five minute walk away. The sign outside advertises their scuba diving trips so you could almost miss the fact that they offer accommodation too.

If you're looking for a hut-based experience then this won't be your cup of tea, but if you can't afford a posh resort and don't want to be sleeping with the mosquitos then you can't go wrong with this place. We can't remember the exact price, but it was probably around $20 (£10 at the time), which we consider to be very good value for what we got.

Additional Koh Chang tips - eat at BIRD restaurant. The guy in a bandana who runs it is so nice and the food was some of the best we had in Thailand. After discovering it we pretty much ate here twice a day and were bewildered at how quiet it was (most people seemingly preferring ting tong (something like that) next door, which was very average)

Also, the cheapest beer and the NICEST location in lonely beach for a drink in the afternoon/evening, or even a lazy breakfast, is the Warapura resort which is located in the bottom left corner of the cluster of shops and restaurants near Ploy as you face the sea. Well worth seeking out it seemed nobody knew about this place and their beers were half the price of anywhere else with stunning views of the ocean from their beautiful terrace. We've attached a photo of this place and heartily recommend you find it if you're in Lonely beach.

  • Liked — Close to Bird restaurant! Good room for the price.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ploy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ploy Inn

Address: 4/19 Loney Beach | Bailan, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ploy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.