We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of room for your money - great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alina Grande Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alina Grande Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
9/2 Moo 4 White Sand Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A lot of room for your money - great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This large room was excellent value at 1500 baht a night. Light spacious and airy a very big family room with 2 double beds, chairs and balcony with my desired sea view. Very large bathroom with 2 showers and bath - only complaint was very old TV. Location is excellent in the middle of White Sand resort everything a short walk away in the most modern resort on Koh Chang Island. There is a mini supermarket next to reception that sells all the essentials including hot coffee and an internet shop that worked fine. There is a 24 hour Tesco Lotus supermarket just a few minutes’ walk away that sells everything you may need. There is a music bar behind the hotel - the excellent live music finished at midnight. We found reception polite and helpful but these island resorts employ a lot of non-Thai staff so a bit of patience is required as they will often struggle to understand Thai or English. If you want your room cleaned you have to let reception know when you hand your key in otherwise your room will not be cleaned. We had a fantastic stay, loved the room and location!

Room Tip: Select a room opposite side to the Music Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    38
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
19
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Chang, Thailand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

PROS: Decent room but nothing extremely special. Room big enough for a family.

CONS: I must first congratulate the owner he/she must have travelled all of Thailand and Cambodia to find the laziest people in these two countries and then employed them. At first I thought they were just having dificulties understanding english. Typically the receptionist in a Thai hotel almost always should speak english ecspecially a hotel that charges 2200 baht per night. But then I found that my wife (Thai) had trouble communicating with the staff also. I decided that the communication gap was nothing more then not wanting to be bothered by hotel guests. I let the front desk know that I needed my room cleaned, something that should be automatic in any hotel, and they sent 6 people to clean it. One maybe 2 did the cleaning but you better believe all 6 of them not only had their hand out for a tip but actually asked for a tip. I am normally the first person to offer a tip for a job done. I always tip my hotel staff but when the reception sends 6 people that all ask for a tip its not going to happen. Morning breakfast is okay however be prepared to have to walk across the street to get it. The restaurant being across the street made no sense to me since on the first floor there is the "Alina Grande Restaurant" but it is never open. Later I was kind of gland this restaurant was not open being as I not only saw 2 cats walking through the middle of the restaurant area. The second cat had a large rat hanging out of its mouth. I had my wife ask the staff for additional towels since we booked a room for 4 people but only received 2 towels. They delivered the 2 additional towels promptly and both of them were wet. I am not a fan of busy work nor do I expect somebody to look busy. But the staff took a dislike of busy work to a whole new level. To the point that they can not even be broken away from there motionless, dumb, blank stares to even acknowledge your exsistance.

Conclusion: I know I should not expect 5 star service however a certain level of service is to be expected. The bottom line is for the same price there are much better places in Koh Chang to spend your money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orimattila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

At first glance we were very disappointed with the beach (rocks and seemengly no sandy beach) but it turned out to be one of the best beaches on our trip with the kids. Not the prettiest but safe, sandy, no jellyfish and plenty of room for the kids to play. We stayed at the hotel (beach side) for the first night (very big rooms, enjoyed them a lot) and then 4 nights at the bungalows. We only went to the pool once (there was a bad smell around) and preferred the beach. Quite a lot of snails and frogs in front of the bungalows. One of the best things about the stay was Thor's: very friendly staff, amazing curry and lovely service. Definitely would recommend having breakfast over there.

Room Tip: Rooms and bungalows on the older part (beach side) are located perfectly with a straight access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Never been to Koh Chang and I just researched everything and found this hotel online.
The receptionist whom I talked to was very nice and can understand and speak English.
The hotel is beside the main road and across the beach. And because it was Songkran holiday rates are a little bit higher compared to normal days but not really that expensive it's still actually affordable. Rates of the rooms also depends whether you want to have breakfast or won't.

The hotel don't have elevators though but it was still okay.
Our room had 2queen size beds with complete basic amenities TV, Fridge, AC, hot/cold shower.
It was a big, clean and very cozy room plus the balcony it was perfect! The room could accommodate I guess even up to 6 people. The only thing is that they don't provide shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, lotion which supposed to be every hotel should provide . I also don't like the bathroom towel because it looked overused already.
They have an outdoor pool which is also big, clean and very nice and very relaxing.

The hotel is just across the beach and a lot of restaurants and souvenir shops beside it. Very accessible. The hotel staffs are very accommodating and friendly. I will definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A nice & affordable place to stay on White Sands Beach. Centrally located...Good restaurants abound.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows are very nice, just a few short steps to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

big nice rooms, very clean and safe. fridge and balcony. nice big bed. wifi available. nice bars and restaurants all around. nice stretch of beach all in front. pool is big and lots of lounging room around it with sun beds. I'm gonna go back sometime, just not sure when. great people there

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in a hotel double room. The room was spacious with a large balcony and comfortable bed. There was no safe in the room but they hotel offered a free safe deposit box. The pool was large with plenty of sun beds available. The hotel was in a good location close to the beach and nightlife. What was a bit strange was that you had to ask for the room to be cleaned on a daily basis.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alina Grande Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alina Grande Hotel & Resort

Address: 9/2 Moo 4 White Sand Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alina Grande Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alina Grande Hotel Koh Chang
Alina Grande Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alina Grande Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.