We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amber Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amber Sands Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   51/3 Moo 2, Baan Dan Kao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 94 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Julian and Cheryl are such good hosts. They made use feel at home from the moment we arrived. The staff is ever so friendly. Our kids enjoyed watching their meal being cooked in the kitchen. Nice table in the restaurant for the kids to play (painting drawing, hama beads...). Great food and everybody was really helpfull.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    23
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
109
128
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Must thank my wife for this find. Very special little resort which is all about relaxation and attending to their guests requirements. This small resort is on the less populated east side and near to some beautiful waterfalls, elephant treks and the large mangrove area. Food was of the highest standard with a broad menu. We ate their many times and were always impressed. They have a large selection of excellent wines at good prices. There are around 8 rooms with everything you would expect minus the TV....but I guess that not such a bad thing. Amber Sands is definitely worth a visit, you can not fail to be charmed by this special place.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huskvarna, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our week at Amber Sands in February 2014 was my first stay in Thailand!
We have two boys, 3 and 6, and this familiar hotel suited us perfect.
To start the vacation with this calm, well organized hotel with wounderful food, friendly staff and Julian and Cheryl was the best. Some nights we put out kids to bed and had a quiet dinner. The restaurant is so good and have a perfect variety with thaifood and more.
We loved the quiet nights and a few midnight swims ;)
This hotel is perfect for lovers, familes with small children and persons who need a quiet time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Amber Sands recently for 5 nights with our 2.5 yr old daughter. Julian, Cheryl and the team were so helpful from the start, arranging a smooth and easy transfer from Bangkok with a stress free check in after a day of travelling. We booked the family bungalow and were not disappointed. Lovely big 2 room bungalow with a nice view. During our stay the team were so warm, friendly and helpful, especially with our little one. The food is fantastic, very tasty Thai dishes and a good variety for children too. The resort is so relaxing, with lovely views from a nice beach, good size swimming pool and free kayaks to explore. There are some toys too that little ones can use for the pool and beach. The location is on the quiet side of Koh Chang so definitely worth taking a car or bike out to explore. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, could not fault Amber Sands, highly recommend staying here....a big thank you to everyone there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A beautiful place to stay, away from the bustle of the main beaches on Koh Chang. Julian and Cheryl were genuinely hospitable hosts and felt like friends after just 2 nights at Amber Sands. We had the two-bedroom family bungalow, which was perfect for a family of 5. We were very pleased that the extra bed we requested was a comfortable, full-size single - as the 3rd child usually gets the lumpy truckle bed! A very comprehensive information pack was provided, the food was lovely and we enjoyed massages in the open-air, looking out over the water. We were only sorry we weren't able to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Arrived on 7th May for 7 nights relaxation after some hectic city sightseeing. Ambersands had been recommended to us by friends whose taste and judgement we trust and we were certainly not disappointed. Upon alighting from the taxi we were whisked without fuss straight to our bungalow where Julian took a few minutes to show us the facilities and then left us to unpack and start enjoying Ambersands Resort.

The ethos here is on informality and relaxation, but anything from a hire car to an elephant trek is arranged speedily and efficiently. Julian , Cheryl and Debbie and all their team are very helpful and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble.

One of the most important points to make about Ambersands is the quality of the food served in the delightful, open-sided informal restaurant overlooking the beach. If you find yourself wondering whether you might need to find other places to eat out, don’t, you won’t. The standards here are high and Thai food being what it is, vegetarians are well catered for, as are the carnivores. Curry fiends will be delighted at the selection available, as spicy or not as you like, but “western-style” food is also available from a simple omelette, a cooked breakfast, fish and chips to a handmade burger; there is something for everybody, and all offered at very reasonable prices.

The Restaurant and Bar are open for meals from 8.00 am for breakfast (or earlier if you require) through until 2.30 in the afternoon, so if you are a late riser you can make it brunch instead. The staff then have a few well deserved hours off, but if you are lazing by the pool and a cold drink beckons, beers and soft drinks are still available by way of an honesty record!

To summarise, Ambersands is conveniently situated, being only a few minutes drive from the ferry terminal . It is a lovely, small and intimate resort where you are far more than just a room number. The location is beautiful, and quiet and peaceful being on the uncommercialised north east side of the island. Service and food are first class – Ambersands is everything you could wish for.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms, 6 in thatched bungalows and 2 in a two storey property that directly overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We loved our visit in amber sands, the grounds are beautifull, hosts are friendly and helpfull.
We had breakfast an dinner at amber sands every day because we coudnt imagine it could or would be better anywhere else, wich we found was true, because we ate out one day for lunch and found the quality of the food lacking elsewhere.

We took an eliphant ride, visites nearby fisshingvillage, vissited tempels, went to lonelybeach, swam in the ocean wich is Nice and warm, took a kano trip several times, but above all just enjoyed the view and the peace and quiet at amber sands.

The children miss the food, miss the friendly people, miss the swimmingpool, miss the ocean. We are all determined to return.
The first night during diner in the restaurant my husband and I decided that the long trip, (20 hours) was well worth it, we would even have travelled this far for just 2 days of bliss. Our kids agreed.

We were travelling with two kids, Gijs en Julia , 8 and 5 years, they are still talking about our visit to koh chang.

Room Tip: We stayed at the beach house , but all the rooms Will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amber Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Sands Beach Resort

Address: 51/3 Moo 2, Baan Dan Kao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace on Koh Chang's tranquil east coast in our small, family run resort metres from a quiet, almost deserted beach where we bring you a personal, individual experience. Only eight spacious air-conditioned bungalows, set in a tropical garden, all with views of the beach. Our fresh water pool provides an alternative. The thatch roof open-sided restaurant is steps from the beach and offers both traditional Thai dishes and a range of Western foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Amber Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Sands Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.