We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longtime Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Para Resort Koh Chang

Para Resort Koh Chang
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Para Resort Koh Chang to your Saves list
Para Resort Koh Chang
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   15/4 Moo 4, White Sands Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Drammen, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Longtime Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I travel for many months at the time and found this place local near White Sand Beach. Of course not near the beach but good location to the local surrounded restaurants. Staff are friendly and going to stay here for some months. And for sure will come back.

Room Tip: Bungalows 2-3-4-5-6 are good choice, not near road and very beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I think the "resort" title is slightly misleading as this is basically seperate bungalows or apartments set in a garden with no actual facilities that you would envisage with a resort.
We stayed here in December 2012 and had a 3rd floor apartment. The room was really spacious with 2 king sized beds, a shower area, a bath and a small balcony. It was nice to have the space but we didnt plan on spending much time in the room so it was a bit wasted on us.
The location is up a steep hill away from the main White Sands Beach area and in the heat of the Thai sun the walk up can be quite gruelling but not unmanageable if you're fairly fit. I would, however, recommend hiring a moped/ scooter.
Having made the trip up the steep road back to the hotel it would have been nice to have more facilities there - a pool, bar & a restaurant or even just a small cafe would have been very welcome so that if you didnt want to keep traipsing up and down to grab some food or a cold drink you had another option.
There was also no wi-fi in the room which we found to be a bit of a pain as we needed to research and book our onward journey - as i'm sure quite a lot of people do whilst in Thailand.
The place was ok for a quick stop off but the lack of facilities would really become a problem after more than a couple of days - especially if you're not the most active person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigavon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this through Thai travel agent. Was told the beach was only a few meters away so assumed we came out of bungalow and stepped onto beach. Not so! The bungalows were up a hill and staff used a buggy to bring you to beach which was a 15minute walk from resort. Rooms were basic but clean enough. As we were close to forest, mossies were a problem, and the only sitting area was on balcony outside bungalow. Staff friendly enough, bit hard to understand. Breakfast was basic but ok. Make sure you know where resort is before booking!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Accommodation in Koh Chang is not that cheap and if you find something cheap then it will not be of very high quality... My friend and I stayed in a twin bungalow which was clean, well maintained, had a/c, good hot shower, cable tv,...Staff hardly speaks english but are very friendly and really want to help.

They have a tuktuk to bring you to the beach which is a 10minute walk, the way is a bit uphill (but NOT steep).

Free wifi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here 2 weeks ago with my family, worst experience of my trip in Thailand. I booked 3 nights at the Para Resort, through a Thai travel agent, the pictures on the brochure looked decent and the price was good so we thought we'd go for it.

When we arrived at the resort at first glace things looked ok, the bungalow looked like sweet little chalets nestled in the rainforest. Then when we opened the door to our room instantly you can smell dampness, the room was very basic and because we where a family of 3 they put a child bed in the room (which really is just a sorry excuse for a mattress, a pillow and bed covers)

We were tired from our long trip from Bangkok so thought we'd take a nap, when I pulled back the sheet and to my horror there was mold on the pillows and the sheet were damp, dirty and also smelled moldy. I went and told the woman in reseption and she sent her team to change the bedding. They striped the top sheet and pillow cases and words can not discribe how discusting the pillows where underneath, the amount of body fluid, and months/years of stains on it was something of a nightmare (I've posted pictures of the pillows but they were much worse in life). That wasn't the end of it, they just covered the pillows will clean linen and didn't even look embarrassed as they must on done this a million times. The extra child bed was also changed the pillows under there had mold spots all over so the changed it completely.

Don't stay at this resort if you have health or respiratory problems! My daughter has asthma which flared up quite bad just staying here for less then 24hr. The whole place is a health hazard and if it were anywhere but Thailand it would get shut down. The people who gave it an excellent review sounds as though they stay at the main building.

We inspected the the rest of the bungalow, mold growing on the door and all around the shower. There was an ant invasion too. There's also a very old & noisey fridge in the room with a TV balanced on top, opening the fridge meant honlding on tho the telly first ontherwise the TV would fall..

We asked to change room to the main building instead of the the bungalow fearing they'd all be the same and was told by the rude woman in charge that we wouldn't be refunded for the 3 night already paid on the bungalow and that the rooms in the main building would be 3,000baht per night which is around £60. So we eded up staying for the night because it was too late to search for somewhere new at that hour, we left first thing in the morning.

I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!
Location: Poor, Far from all shops, restaurants and beach and you have to walk past seedy red light bars.
Customer service: Very Bad, got evil stares from the reception lady after complaining, very rude no greeting, no please/thank you and no apology for the room.
Cleaniness: 2 words Hell Hole. standards are so low, they just don't care.

Room Tip: Stay at you peril! there's better places with better location and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prachuab Kiri Khan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

We stayed in Koh Chang para resort in July 2008.

Myself (British) and my Wife (Thai) with our then 6 month old Daughter. We took one 'family suite' room on the ground floor overlooking the garden.

My Mum and Dad took the room next door to us. It was low season, 2,400 baht per room per night.

I can't stress enough how nice the rooms were for the money.

I had been to Ko Chang a few times wih my Wife before this and we have looked around a lot of the hotels and resorts from White sands beach to Bang Bao.

The quality of the new rooms was on a level with Amari Emerald cove, Grand Orchid and other resort ' suite ' style rooms where we were quoted around 8,000 - 10,000 + per night.

OK, the location is an important factor, and there are not facilities like in the expensve and famous resorts... I just want to get across the quality of these family rooms and the great value.


So for this review, I will tackle the factors which may put you off staying here first, as well as help you decide that this place is for you...

There is no swimming pool here, and it is not directly on White sands beach but on the oppisite side of the road to the beach, on a hill within its own private garden, backing on to a forest.

Basically from white sands beach main, where most of the bars restaurants and other resorts are, you continue up the hill past Paddys Palms Irish Pub, and it is on the left there.

It is a bit of a walk to the beach, and it was a bit of a struggle with our pram and all the baby luggage in the heat. However, at the resort they offer a free shuttle service at any time of day to the beach or shops from reception. It would take 10 minutes for us, and less for fast walkers without burden.

Activities / Facilities

From reception it was possible to book a few different activities at budget prices, 600 bat per person to go for a full days snorkelling around different islands with lunch for example.

These packages were on the website at time of writing, however the new family rooms were not.

Restaurant, when we were there in July, the new Italian invito restaurant named ' Tao ' was just about to open within the resort grounds. Previously this was the resorts own Sea Food restaurant. We left before opening night, but with the huge reputation that the Swedish owner has earned from his previous restaurant Invito also on white sands beach... Im sure it will be a great success.

Right next door to the resort was a stylish Thai seafood restaurant which we all ate at one night. Good food, Mid range prices for Ko Chang, lots of good service and some big screen TV's showing the sports and movies.

Bicycle and Motorbike hire.

There are some bicycles that you can rent free, or as part of the tour packages at Para resort.

They will organise motor bike rent for you here also, at the going rate.

  • Liked — the rooms and the value for money for a koh chang resort
  • Disliked — the lack of swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Para Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Para Resort Koh Chang

Address: 15/4 Moo 4, White Sands Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Para Resort Koh Chang 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Para Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Para Resort Koh Chang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.