We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location And Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Chang Lagoon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Chang Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7/5 Moo 4, Had Sai Khao, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Montreal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Location And Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Koh Chang Lagoon Resort is ideally located on the best beach of the Island. Most of the hotel is between the beach and the only street. A portion is located on the other side of the street. I prefer to be on the beach side if I can.

On the beach side, you can have a bungalow room, which are closer to the beach, or a room the the main building just behind. We stayed in the main building and we enjoyed the view on the beach from our balcony.

The rooms are of a good size and well appointed. I like the fact that, apart the bathroom, the whole room is made of wood, including flooring. Easy to keep clean and does not trap moisture, mould, etc. Once I understood that the air conditioning unit takes some time to throw cool air, everything was fine as the unit is powerful enough. Seems strange that it takes some time to "kick in" but all is well.

The hotel has a nice lobby and large breakfast room with great food. As I tend to rise early, I was the first to show up in the morning and each time everything was ready on the published hour. If I was too early, I could still enjoy some good coffee while waiting for the staff to setup everything. Not their fault if I get up that early!

In my opinion, White Sand Beach is the best on the island to start with. The Koh Chang Lagoon resort is arguably on the best spot. You can walk up or down the beach whithout hassles which is a nice change from the beaches in some of the Caribbean Islands!

For dinner, most hotels on this stretch offre BBQ food on tables installed directly on the beach. The BBQ joint at the Lagoo Resort is excellent.

The beach is great and the slope toward the ocean is gentle. You can walk quite far from the beach and feel secure. When I was there, the sea was calm and I could barely notice eddies in the water.

The street behind the hotel (the only street!) is bustling with activities, bars, restaurants, street food vendors, etc. It is nice to walk from the hotel and be somewhere! If you have experience riding scooters, do not hesitate to rent one (200 baths per day) and tour the island. Trafic is slow and far from being Bangkok hectic! You'll discover easily the rest of the island.

I also enjoyed an excellent oil massage on the beach at the hotel. Massage on the beach is about 100 bath more expensive but the experience is something else!

Price was very affordable on agoda.com

Room Tip: Try to book in advance to reserve a bungalow room which offer a better view on the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed in 1101 for 4 days and 3 nights in November 2011. To get a room with a king size bed one must stay in the section off to the side by about 50 meters. This room is quite spacious, estimate 50 sq meters. It has a side window with a view of the beach which is about 30 meters away.
No complaints except one. The architectural genius who designed these rooms made the door frame to the bathroom about 71 inches tall. So almost once or twice a day each day , I would forget and bump my head while shouting an expletive.
I would suggest putting red tape or even a cushion at the door entry so that anyone who is over 5 feet 11 inches can be spared the trauma of daily head banging.
The beach here is beautiful and warm and clear. It is very pleasant for swimming. There are quite a few tress so you can lay on the beach and have tree shade.
The seafood on the beach is delicious and reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My wife and I along with 4 other couples stayed here for 7 nights. We were across the street from the beach on the top floor so had beutiful view of the ocean each morning to wake up to.
Rooms are of good size and well appointed. Staff are friendly. Breakfast was include in our package but for me it was nothing special, actually I only ate twice, the first morning and it was served cold. And then ate again on the morning of departure it was also served cold so my assumption was this is a regular thing. But as there are many other opportunities to eat a great freshly cooked breakfast so close it was not a big deal to me.
The hotel is situated centally in White Sands so easy walk to the bars, resturants, beach or whatever. Many places to book tours, hire scooters, book day trips etc all close by and in the hotel itself.
We have stayed here before and will stay again. It is a reasonably priced and well located hotel that will make for a comfortable and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the bungalow facing the beach. The bungalow is nice, clean and very beautifully decorated and centrally located on White sand beach . Good breakfast on the terrace with a vast choice of food; wonderful evening barbecue on the beach. The reception staff is very professional, polite and helpful.
Many attractions to do: elephant and jungle trekking, thai cooking school, rent a scooter and go around the beautiful wild island of Koh Chang. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights, at THB2200 per night, after moving from another hotel nearby due to noisy aircon. Its a convenient location, right next to the sandy beach, and near some beach restaurants. We had a large room, aircon ok, but no safe, breakfast was basic and unappealing- dont expect any fry-up. No free internet, but just go to the nearby coffee shops or restaurants for wifi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here in a beach front Bungalow for 6 nights. The bungalow was perfect,step off the verandah & we were on the sand. Breakfast was busy & the food didn't seem to get topped up so we ate breakfast each morning at the Tappas bar restaurant on the beach next door to our bungalow. The resort is in a good position to bars restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayes 2 nights in a standard room, and were lucky to get a great view. The room was old, and there were A LOT of mosquitos. But clean rooms, with cleaning every day. The beds are a bit hard! A nice big balcony.
There is no safe box in the room, and you have to pay for the WiFi - but the WiFi is excellent! Nice big and clean bathroom.
The breakfast buffet is small, but okay.
Is worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Chang Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Lagoon Resort

Address: 7/5 Moo 4, Had Sai Khao, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Chang Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Chang Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Lagoon Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Chang Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.