We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location - thats it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort

Save Saved
You added Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   58 Moo 1 | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Grand Lagoona)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 87 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Siem Reap
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location - thats it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The ONLY thing this property has on its side is the location, however that in itself at the most expensive time of the year (Christmas/New Year) goes against the location - taxi's to and from are expensive!
No-one spoke any English, everything was falling apart in out room ie the shower fell off the wall, the sink was coming away at the wall, the windows wouldn't open, the cable TV and the tea and coffee making facilities as advertised was non-existent, we had a group of inebriated people trying to get into our room at 4.30am, the food was expensive and awful, we weren't able to put drinks at the bar on our bill, the list goes on!
Each time we were in Reception other guests were also making complaints. There doesn't seem to be any maintenance occurring - what we complained about in the beginning, another guest was complaining about 6 days later.

Sad because the location is nothing short of spectacular.

Room Tip: Unsure if there would be any room better than another!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    8
    14
See reviews for
6
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The good thing upfront: The beach was stunningly beautiful and very quiet. So, if you are looking for a peaceful and quite vacation and you can live with the fact that the hotel doesn't offer much - you are at the right place.

However, that was pretty much about it.

We booked the hotel in agoda.com, 4 month before we went to Thailand. We were convinced that all the negative comments here wouldn't apply for us because we (Married couple + 18 Year old daughter) are looking for a peaceful beach vacation away from the typical tourism crowd.

We found the hotel quickly, even thought we have no experience in Thailand, we did have no problems organizing the transition and transportation to the hotel. But then problems started. We booked a extra bed (and paid for it in advance) for our daughter. But the receptionist did not wanted to know anything about this and said we would have to pay extra.

Refusing this, the receptionist promised a bed - which turned out to be a old mattress put on the floor. Enraged by the thought that our daughter would need to sleep on that "thing" for two weeks, we discussed with the receptionist again who finally provided us a real bed afterwards...a rusty old one - but a bed which we accepted.

The location is somewhat nice - if you like it peaceful (which we do). The hotel looks like it used to be nice, but no one seems to maintain it and it looks therefore aged. The hotel offers only little to buy and even things on the hotel restaurant's menu are often not available. Hence, we needed to go quite often to the next fishing village to stock up some of our things. Since there is no other way of transportation, we needed to pay every time 600 THB for the "taxi".

Overall, the service was nice but not very helping. Starting from the fact that the bills (when you bought something in the hotel restaurant, shop and bar) rarely matched the actual value bought. Over to the the lack of transportation and support in finding some.

In addition, every time we asked for help, they turned up with almost double of the prices we found outside (they seriously wanted 1.000 THB for transportation to the island peer which is about a 15 minute trip)

Fazit: Nice beach - but the hotel is not to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We got scammed into this hotel by the small office where the ferry leave's. They said great hotel "best on koh chang" after they signed us up to the horror hotel they even want tips. No one in the hotel speaks English. Only saw drunk eastern Europeans running around yelling. Food was terrible and expensive. And your stuck away from everyone else on the island. The taxi to get away was 450 bhat... cause they didnt go up there. The service was poor and the rooms were full of insects. We left after one night after booking for 3 by the scam travel office at the ferry. We asked our money back but that didn't happen. We had the most expensive rooms 4500 bhat per night for a dirt hole. AVOID!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I do believe this was a luxury resort 10 years ago but with next to no maintenence it has sadly fallen apart. We actually didnt stay here but payed for a walk around the place wich took 40 minutes and didnt see anything open or any people staying here. Too scared to look inside the big ship they have as cabins.The pool was empty and the staff flead at the site of us.Its worth a look just to see how not to run a resort.

Room Tip: worth to have a look but dont stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I am still in shock after 3 weeks as to how miserable my experience at this hotel was. We booked it online, and had no idea we were booking an ALL-INCLUSIVE resort that's totally removed from the rest of the island, and extremely inconvenient to the other beaches. We arrived after a long day of travel and were told our room wasn't ready - before they even asked us our names!! The "ship" our room was in was totally disgusting, neglected and straight out of a horror film. I have no idea how this place is still open. They did have a humorous "Competency Certificate" hanging up in the lobby which my friend and I took photos of for comic relief. But nothing else was funny about the Grand Lagoona. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here! Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Rooms are expensive, but very old. Our room was dirty and smelly, the airconditioning was old, moister and smelly, there was no sign of luxury at all. And we had the luxurious boat suite. An old rag.
People were very unfriendly, food was lousy, there was no service at all. The private beach was dirty, empty bottles everywhere.
We wanted to leave as soon as possible. It was a very nasty experience. Please, don't ever go there!
All other european people we spoke had the same experience and were hoping to leave there as fast as they could. Once, there even was a strike of unhappy hotelguests...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Maybe when it first opened, this place was grand - but not any more. Everything about the place is faded and jaded. The resort is in desperate need of investment and it's plainly not forthcoming. The staff are miserable - which is so unlike the Thai people. I suspect that the staff are treated much like the resort is - with little respect and with little care.
At check-in we found out that the rooms (2) we had booked were unavailable. The alternative shown to us was dark, smelly and the receptionist really sold it to us when she said "It's right next to the bar, it will be noisy." Luckily the one member of staff who spoke any decent English suggested another option which was acceptable (but only just.) The same member of staff told us that every single person who had checked in that day (Christmas Eve) had complained and demanded to be moved.
Throughout the resort there are signs of a complete lack of care or maintenance. The Galaxy is the centre piece - a 7 deck boat housing 70 rooms. In the pictures it looks gleaming and white and the description talks of five star luxury. In reality, from the outside it looks like the Titanic - after being raised from the depths.
The bar on the beach is fine but over inflated prices stop most people using it.
The restaurant on the beach blares out awful Russian pop music half the night. The food is average to poor in the evening and breakfast is just abysmal - in fact one resident took over from the chef to cook his own eggs and ham in an effort to put something edible on his plate.
Tables and chairs are falling apart and no one cares.
On the positive side; the beach at the resort is fine but you'll have no other option for food or drink than the resort bar and restaurant.
The swimming pool is small, dirty and no-one used it.
The location of the resort is miles from everywhere and the resort offers no free shuttle. Taxis will ask you for 150 baht per person to go to the nearest village - Bang Bao. To go to the main beaches will cost you more. You would be advised to rent mopeds at 200 Baht per day (the resort charges 300 per day so rent elsewhere); or rent a car which you can get from about 800 baht per day. The roads in Koh Chang are narrow, winding and unlit at night. Not a fun driving experience.
We rented a car and used the resort only to sleep in. We spent our days and our evenings well away from Grand Lagoona.
My advice - go elsewhere. Bang Bao, Kai Bae, Lonely Beach, White Sands Beach - there's plenty of choice.
Things go wrong at hotels, but when the hotel really doesn't care then it's time to send them a message by taking your hard earned cash elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms well away from this resort would be my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort

Address: 58 Moo 1 | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand (Formerly Koh Chang Grand Lagoona)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunchaleena Beach Front Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.