We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gajapuri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
You added Gajapuri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/19 Moo 4, Moo Baan Klongprao | Tumbol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Khabarovsk, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is wonderful hotel on Kai Bay beach with good location. All you need is near - bars, restaurants, 7 eleven, tesco lotus. If you need more- you can go to white sand beach by taxi . It is very quite, with nice beach and really friendly personal, tasty breakfasts and kitchen, great wooden bungalows. I am thrilled.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights at the end of our long travelling inThailand. Decided to stay here and have a rest. It was a marvelous stay for me and my wife, the room was spacious and nice, the staff friendliest, the swimming pool perfect, the beach nice, breakfast tasty, food and drinks in the restaurand perfect, I coul go on and on:) Staff was very professional. Even people who do not speak well English would try to communicate to us, showing respect and that they care of how we feel there. I liked that they understand that it is not the manager or owner, who pays the salary, but the customer:) Absolutely would recommend. Thank you for the nice stay!

Room Tip: Further from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Was their with my girlfriend and had the villa with pool suite and it was a delightful moment. Good atmosphere with good food and on the beach could not complain.

Service friendly staff and the atmosphere is awesome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Usually I book our hotels via Internet. This time we went to see the place having an other hotel on White Sand Beach. Getting there the receptionist spoke English ( which is quite rare in Thailand) and showed us the Deluxe cottage and the Superior one. The last is situated in a tropical garden while the first kind is just new without vegetation surrounding it. We chose the Superior and got a better offer than on Internet. We enjoyed the pool and seeing the sunset from the resort. The breakfast is OK. Location is very good, between bars and restaurants but still quiet. Bed was hard and the pillows foamy.
We still found a bit disappointing that we got one day a stained towel an each day no new
shower gel or shampoo.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Where do i start, it has taken me months to write this review.
Well this Resort gave one of the best and the worst hotel experiences ever.
Well, the hotel is amazing in many, many , ways.. the architecture, design, garden area (which is the entire grounds) etc.
The rooms are lovely, cabana style with a luxury feel... imagine inheriting a huge beach hut and you have the money to upgrade the s**t out of it, imagine entering the upgraded cabana for the first time, BAM.
Everything is top notch, modern tv set, quiet air conditioner (which is very rare at any hotel) plus an additional ceiling fan for those that do not like the AC air and the bathroom?
Oh the wonderful and huge bathroom, it has a huge high-tech multifunctional tub and a shower system at the other end of the room, yes the bathroom is so big that those two things are at least 15 feet apart.
I almost forgot, the beds… the beds are huge, forget king size, they are sultan size beds very comfortable aswell.
This was all in a superior room, by the way in Thailand standard and superior is basically the same thing. (I will explain that at the end of this review.)
The pool areas are stunning, not just good, but stunning in design, function and placement although they will be viewed as too far away from the rooms you if end up on the lobby side of the hotel.
Anyone with children younger than three will eventually get tired of the many walks you take too and from the pool which is at the end of the beautiful walk through the hotel grounds.
Taking a stroller feels stupid in that type of environment but carrying your child and all the beach accessories/toys to and from the pool will experience fatigue quickly.
With this in mind I will now go over to what i did not like about the resort.
Let’s start with the hotel grounds; again very beautiful... the tropical setting with all the rooms connected by small bridges and balconies is breathtaking but somewhat dangerous for the little ones. Do not let the small children (ages 1-4) run around by themselves.
Those unique and beautiful pathways of bridges are also quite dangerous for the little ones that like to run around and "explore" things such our little 2 year old, it’s easy to fall into the water or any of the ditches. Most part of the resort is built about 7-10 feet above ground on top of a real jungle so beside the height you never know lives within all that vegetation.
That same tropical setting is also heaven for my least favorite insect in the world, mosquitos.
In most parts of the world you only need to worry about mosquitos during night time or if you´re hiking in a very dense tropical jungle and sense you basically are in" a tropical jungle" so anytime of the day you get attacked by mosquitos just by standing or sitting outside your room for a few minutes or if you make the mistake of leaving the room door open you most likely will get a few unwelcomed visitors inside.
Again this annoying problem will bother mostly those staying the rooms closest to the main entrance up to the smaller pool area, those in the sea view rooms and those staying on the either side closer to the big pool may be spared thanks to the sea breeze that reaches it.
The beach is bad... beautiful to look at but very rocky, my son hurt his foot on the first hour if the first day it hurt so bad the he couldn’t walk properly the rest of the day.
We had to put him on one of those floaters things so he could still enjoy the water until i also stepped on rock and cut my foot.
The sand area of the hotels beach is also very narrow so you basically only have a small strip of sand to enjoy but you also have to share that space with tourist from other hotels walking up and down the beach.
The morning tide also reduces that area to a minimum and makes it very difficult to see the rocks as you bath so i would advise anyone with children to use the pools until a certain hour, just wait until the sun is on that side of the island it clears the view.
You can also walk to you right and enjoy any of the neighboring beaches, its free for anyone to swim or play at any beach regardless of where you are staying. One good thing I liked about that island.
The breakfast area, boring as many have mentioned before me... it’s not ugly, not bad but boring and its placed very high up so you have to walk up a set of stairs to get there.
Not good for anyone with an injury or parents with baby... there is no way you get a stroller up there without carrying it up those high and narrow stepped stairs which are also dangerous for any child under the age of 4.
The breakfast area besides being located a floor above does not offer any view because of the very large vegetation around the grounds, so you are sitting in a huge boring balcony type of hall with the view of treetops eating an even more boring breakfast. You can’t even see the ocean!
The food at the restaurant was expensive that we did not bother to try it, the Gajapuri resort is surrounded by restaurants that will give you the same if not better experience for atleast half the price.
I noticed that most hotels (especially the better ones) try too hard give us western/European food which they always fail to deliver because of the lack of experience, the simple fact that Europe is a continent (not a country) with a million different culinary styles and tastes and most importantly the fact that we travel to other countries to experience everything including the food... in Thailand you really want to eat their traditional food which is appreciated in most parts of the world.
So if you want a great and cheap lunch after a good tanning by the beach just walk to your right side (facing the ocean) and just behind the trees (50 meters away) you will arrive at a small BB, backpacker hotel with a beach restaurant that will give you everything and then some.

In the evening just walk out the main entrance and choose any restaurant you see and you will not be disappointed, the Seafood restaurant on the other side of the street to your left is one of the best and most popular on the island eat there at least twice while you´re there.
The receptionists were terrible, service at the frontdesk was basically non existant, the airline had lost of our luggage and failed to inform us so while we were running around the airport looking for the luggage or an answer we missed our connecting flight to Ko chang island and had to stay the night in Bangkok.
Even though an agent of the airline called them personally and informed them of the situation taking all the blame the hotel still charged us full price for that one night.
We would have understood If I was the "busy season" but it was the first week of December so the hotel was basically empty so it wasn’t a case where they would have lost money because they could have given to the room to another guest, it was empty!
Anyways, we kind of expected to be charged for the evening but the tipping point was that when we arrived tired after waisting 24 hours in Bangkok the clerk only said “hey you were supposed to arrive yesterday” then we explain that the airline had called on our behalf on the day before and she said “you will still pay for the first night" and nothing else. No I’m sorry for the inconvenience hope you are all okay, no courtesy at all and they still put us in a room furthest from the pool and beach even though the hotel was empty and there were plenty of other rooms in the same price category that were better situated for a family with a small child.
The rest of staff was wonderful and very loving specially to our little boy except the two ladies at the reception, their english is not the best and they basically lack the skill of communication.
We had only booked six nights (of our 12 day Koh Chang holiday) at the hotel to be on the safe side, you don’t want to take chances when travelling with a small child, a place could be perfect for you but not for your children and that can ruin everyone’s holiday at the end.
(Something very important to look at while making your choice of resort, the rules about payment and cancellation)
So since we didn’t need to pay upfront (at this hotel) we decided to only stay for two nights and left to another resort which i am going to review next.
To conclude, The Gajapuri Resort is perfect for couples because of its romantic scenery, great for families with older kids (10-15) because of its variety of pools and its proximity to the main room with shops and restaurants and for friends or siblings needing to reconnect with each other because it is quite surroundings, you don’t have to go far to find a nice quiet area to have a nice talk or just enjoy the Sundown after reading a good book.
Families with smaller children should probably stay at the Klong Prao beach area, which is quieter (the village basically goes to sleep after 10pm) and has one of the nicest beaches in Koh Chang better than the popular White Sands beach, yes I said it!
Biggest beach area, much quieter than most beaches, very few rocks, clear water etc.

Families with teenagers or anyone looking for fun should stay around the White Sands Beach area because its full of entertainment and never sleeps.
The beaches are always full of restaurants and people all day long, which is fun for those looking for it but not for those who simply just want to enjoy the spectacular views in the company of a friend or a loving one.

Side note :
About the rooms, In Thailand on most hotels you will get the same quality of room regardless of what you pay for.
First of all standard and superior are the same thing 90% of the time… the only difference we could find was that in a superior room you don’t pay for the baby bed (yes real wooden bed) and in standard you do, it doesn’t make any sense at all. Nothing does in those islands to be honest with you. The different rooms are Deluxe rooms, Pool view and Sea view rooms , the deluxe ones have a little pool of their own or are made for families with children that need extra space.
So if you go for the more expensive room you might get something beachside, poolside or a bigger room/cabana and that is what you will be paying for not an upgrade in quality/service or items at all so keep in mind that someone paying maybe half of what you are paying is enjoying the same luxury just further away from the beach.
This applies to not only this specific place but almost all of the resorts in Thailand, this we noticed after looking around and after talking to people to have been to Thailand many times and had stayed at different places.
If an hotel is 2 star then all rooms are of 2 star quality and if its 5 star then its every room is 5 star, they don’t put that extra touch of luxury in some rooms even though their price AND names state it. They dont have that sense of touch and cant really understand the need for exclusivenesss that the westerners have.

Anyone at the hotel will be just as happy with his room as you are in yours regardless how little he paid for his, you wont feel or be treated special in any way,

So if you don’t have the need for a bigger room and or your own little private pool you may save that money (which is a lot) and use it on other things to enhance your holiday experience like going on a side trip to Cambodia like I did.

Room Tip: Any room will make you smile the distance to certain areas will be the dealbreaker, read the review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have been in Gajaouri Resort for 10 days in february/march 2014. First we made a trip from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and other cities, then we came to Koh Chang for relaxind...and it was great. We had one of the new bungalows near the great pool. The rooms were very spacious, very clean, the staff very friendly and we enjoyed it very much...for having a good and chlilling time near the beach, take it!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riex, Suisse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were lucky enough to have stayed at Gajapuri for almost a month, with our son who turned 5 during our stay there :) It was absolutely wonderful! The staff is great, the location beautiful, very peaceful. The wooden bungalows with greenery all around gave us exactly the nature connection we were seeking. The big swimming pool is stunning and the smaller one a very good alternative for children. The beach is very well arranged, and the pool area also, to chill in the shade. The food was good and fresh. Breakfast was good and giving healthy possibilities, although we would have loved natural yoghourts without any sugar in it, more difficult to find in Thailand.
To leave the island we took a speed boat from the hotel, which was of very high quality! And the hotel bus shuttle was absolutely beautiful, very comfortable. The management of the hotel is excellent, and we'll definitively go back to Gajapuri on our next stay on Koh Chang!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.6 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#18 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.6 mi away
The Dewa Koh Chang
The Dewa Koh Chang
#9 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panviman Koh Chang Resort
Panviman Koh Chang Resort
#7 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gajapuri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gajapuri Resort & Spa

Address: 19/19 Moo 4, Moo Baan Klongprao | Tumbol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gajapuri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GajaPuri Resort & Spa Koh Chang is a Boutique style Hotel at the beach of Kai Bae. Only a short 20 min drive from the ferry pier, the resort offers a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in-midst tropical gardens. To the west you'll find the beach of the Gulf of Siam while to the east the rain forest with scenic mountain views surrounds your line of sight. GajaPuri and GajaLanai are laid out like cozy villages with unique wooden pathways leading you towards your private corner in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gajapuri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gajapuri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing