We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Thailand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Palms Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Palms Resort
Save
You added Paradise Palms Resort to your Saves list
13 / 12 Moo 4, Haad Sai Kaew Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
super deal !
Ranked #3 of 93 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and my wife have just returned from 10 weeks traveling around SE Asia and can definitely recommend Paradise Palms. We wanted somewhere to chill out and relax after so much travelling and this place was perfect.
The beachfront bungalows are very clean and well looked after, with comfy beds and pillows (a rarity in SE Asia!). Our bungalow stepped straight onto the resort's private pebble beach, with stunning views.
Matt, Tara and their daughter Muksudar are so friendly and welcoming that we felt like friends by the end of our stay. They can't do enough for you and will book trips, arrange transport, hire motorbikes out for you and anything else you may need.
There is an excellent restaurant (saffron by the sea)1 minutes walk away, who do great food and are also very friendly. 5 minutes walk away there is a post office and ATM, a row of shops where you can buy beers and food etc and also a good bookshop. There are some great sandy beaches that are very easily reached by cheap local taxis.
This is a great place to stay and was our favorite place in all Thailand. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    20
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
143
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the ocean view bungalows and loved, loved, loved our stay - great value for our money, clean and comfortable room and perfect views! The one big downfall of the room was the bathroom as there were mosquitoes in there. The property is close to white sands beaches and great restaurants. The owner, Matt, is the definition of hospitality and friendliness. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

while pearl beach isn't ideal for swimming, that's all it's not ideal for. the sunsets are gorgeous and paradise palms (bungalow #1) provides great sunsets from the deck. the resort is clean, matt and tara and their daughter are incredibly friendly and warm, and go out of their way to make you feel at home. this is a great place for people who want to enjoy a night out and come back to enjoy a sunset, a sunrise, or just some quality time together. it's away from the noise and mayhem, and easy to get a ride to the other islands. saffron is next door with great breakfasts and white sands a 3-4 min songtaew ride away. stay here. you have no reason not to.

Room Tip: bungalow 1 all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After being dissatisfied with another resort, we landed at Paradise Palms. Even though the other resort was larger, Paradise Palms seemed to offer us more in the way of scenery (our bungalow opened right up onto the sea), hospitality and comfort. Tara and Matt were an incredible help giving us suggestions of things to do, booking our activities and offering to give us lifts to places we needed to go. My teenage kids would agree that the resort had a "homey" feel. The bungalow was spacious and clean and a pleasant place to come home to after a trek in the jungle. The restaurant Safron on the Sea (best place to eat on the island) was only minutes away and we quickly became regulars. If I return to Koh Chang, I would most definitely book into Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked this place on a recommendation from a friend.

We has bungalow number one, facing directly out to the sea. Gorgeous view. Shame the weather when we visited (low season!) wasn't so kind to us.

Matt is great. Lovely guy from the Uk. Runs the resort with his thai family. We were the only ones there as it was low season. Koh Chang itself was quite empty but we enjoyed the peace and quiet. He came and collected us from the ferry and also dropped us back up for a small few which spared us the hassle of getting a taxi. He also helped sort out a taxi from the airport, which was appreciated!

Rooms were clean and tidy, with a new fridge which was a great size to take our beers and water, new curtains had just been put up, tv with satellite. And wifi was coming this coming week, so will be perfect for future guests.

Saffron in the sea restaurant next door was an added bonus for eating out every night with ease as it was minutes to walk there and the food was amazing!

We enjoyed our stay. I can only imagine in high season when the sun comes out, the beach bar is open and more guests are around it must be a lovely place to chat, drink and enjoy the view.



  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A lost resort....for those who are unable to find something better.
Few bungalows..but it's not a problem. Bungalows are cleaned every 3 days when most of the competition is able to do it daily. Services are ultra basic : no Wireless, no breakfast, no soap in the bathroom, no restaurant and just an archaic "fitness" center ... Just "enjoy" a beer in front of the sea then search for a restaurant (fortunately there is a Thai's mama at 100m and cooking well). I am surprised when some tourists are so enthusiast in their comment and when closed by, some others resorts are definitely providing a better quality for a cheaper price...In promotion you get what you pay...in satisfaction what you are charged for!
It seems that nor me nor my Swedish friends were very satisfied. Definitely a second choice and for a short period of time searching quickly for something else...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Paradise Palms Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Just quickly before we make our yearly apperence on tripadvisor to response ! A big thanks to all the lovley cool guests that stayed over the last seasons ,thanks for your support !
Ok now for our side of the story as resort owner ,firstly we have no idear who wrote this ,which is strange ,cos we remmember all ,as our guests know us quite personally as ther are only 3 of us ,me my wife and our daughter .small family run bussiness open for 12 years on koh chang .So that part make us think !!
We have only 3 bungalows and a 2 bedroom family bungalow ,the same as we started in 2000 ,all with seaviews ,aircon ,cable tv ,king beds ,western bathroom ,hot water ,beach bar,chill out deck and still west coast sunset !
So who ever books or signs up for it ,know everything ,before starting there stay with us ,normally with many emails and questions back and forth ,before booking !!
No false websites ,or pictures , we never had a resturant ,and dont advertise the fact ,we have 3 resturants directly outside the property ,30 sec walk to all ,one being tripadvisors No 1 resturant ( safron on the sea ) on koh chang .Why do we need it .Our guests are mad for the food there ! Good for us !
We do have fresh coffee and breakfast on request at the beach bar everyday ( high season ) ,try the famous fruit salad ,there are pictures if you browse ! So that part is wrong !
We thunk again !!!!
The cleaning is every 3 days ,as we are eco friendly resort ,stopping our carbon foot print on koh chang ( world ) ie ,electric .water ,watse ,detergents ,do people change there sheets everyday when living in there homes ??
No soap in the bathroom ,that one did make us laugh ,but we do supply contance rolls of toilet paper when the bad belly starts ,and extra beach towels ,beach mats ,etc
We do laundry ,which my wife does personaly ,left clean on your bed next day !
So if your looking for a buffet breakfast style with the hoards ,hotel-motel rooms and no personal service ,maybe paradise palms may not fit your travel criteria !
However if you are lokking for down-to-earth personal service ,wealth of information in a language you understand ,clean sunset view bungalows ,an almost private beach ,a honesty beach bar with cold beer ,then that maybe what your looking for, in a hoilday on the island
But on professional note ,we are getting the wifi put on ,as i cant stand lisening to my daughter ,for her ipad ,and of corse the guest comments ( proberley last man ( resort ) standing on that one on the island ! )
Also forget !!!!!
We also provide lifts in the truck to the stores when raining ,help you with your kids ie baby sit so you can have a night off ,help you with your problems that accure on the island ,translate ,check airline tickets ,give snorkel equipment when on the beach '' FOR FREE "
Arrange all your tour activites on the island ,trips ,bus rides ,taxis ,car ,bike rentals ,diving ,bbq on the beach ,wedding cemonys ,birthday partys at the beach bar the list goes on ,by me my wife or our 12 year old daughter ( family run )
We welcome you with open arms !
We maintain our idears even if the travel industry trys to mould us with the internet !
THE SUN IS SHINNING ,THE SEA IS WARM ,AND THE COCONUT TREES ARE LUSH !
KEEP SMILING
PARADISE PALMS FAMILY !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Had a very relaxing time here.
The hosts were friendly and helpful and happy to help where ever possible.
Bungalows very clean and well equiped

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Palms Resort

Address: 13 / 12 Moo 4, Haad Sai Kaew Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Palms Resort is in Hadd Kai Mook (Pearl Beach), West Coast ( sunset side ) Koh Changs national marine park. We are a small family-run business with only 3 large luxury seaview bungalows,and a 2 bedroom family bungalow. All bungalows have air con, cable TV (60 channels in English), large fridge, fan, king beds , western bathroom, hot waterlarge balconey . We also provide motor bike & car rental for your use arrange all your trips ,diving ,fishing ,elephant ,jungle trexs . The resort has a tiki beach bar, man-made sandy beach, chill out deck, sun chairs ,snorkel equpiment . All bungalows have sea view, with great snorkeling off the beach. Paradise Palms is a very quiet location, great if you're looking to chill and relax.PLEASE BE AWARE WE DO NOT DEAL WIH ANY BOOKING AGENTS ,AS SOME ADVITISE WE DO SO .YOU HAVE TO BOOK DIRECTLY ON OUR WEBSITE AT paradisepalmsresort .LOOKING FORWARD TO HEARING FROM YOU THANKS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Palms Hotel Koh Chang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.