We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and the tallest hotel in Zamboanga City...so far” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zamboanga City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sky Park Hotel
Save
You added Sky Park Hotel to your Saves list
Tomas Claudio Street, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Zamboanga City B&B and Inns
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location and the tallest hotel in Zamboanga City...so far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A 10-storey building, so far the tallest hotel, located at the heart of the city. Didn't really stay in this hotel but I've been here twice for dinner at the restaurant at the topmost part of the hotel building. They offer good food which is a mixture of Filipino, Chinese and Japanese cuisine served in a reasonable price plus you get a great view of the city especially at night. Transportation (tricycle) is very accessible and available anytime except in the wee hours. Surrounded by banks, grocery stores and bazaars, fast food chains and bakeries- everything you need is just a few steps away. Malls like Mindpro, Southway Square and Gateway are located nearby. The downside is that there is no parking area and it's better off using the elevator as the stairs would really annoy you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

At first I was given a small single room first night which was "adequate", then following day I was moved to larger double room (705) on 7th level with nice large bathroom and desk for browsing internet paperwork etc. Beds were okay.
In total I was charged 9,615 Php for my stay from 2am on 26th to lunchtime on 31st - January 2011 - which included 405 Php for "mini-bar" drinks.
My biggest gripe was with hotel internet connection and availability - they operate a 24 hour connection requiring payment + re-connection, which lasted 12-18 hours if I was lucky, was slow and very unpredictable - would cut out without warning and took interminable time to fix with the "hotel management". This was crucial for a foreign traveller like myself trying to make travel bookings, online banking, email, etc.
I became incensed when disconnected several times in the middle of credit card purchases for travel etc. Hotel staff had no idea what I was complaining about - they obviously hadn't travelled much.
Why cannot hotels just include a simple REASONABLE charge for wireless connection in their room rate for the duration of your stay - without this idiotic turn on-turn off arrangement - if indeed they can justify charging anything? Some budget hotels manage to include a "free" wireless connection, so my message to Sky Park Hotel Zamboanga is "CHANGE-FIX YOUR POLICY BEFORE I EVER RETURN" ok !
Other than that specific COMPLAINT - the lift worked okay, and the 10th level restaurant was very pleasant for meals and a birthday celebration for my hosts who showed me around Zamboanga, and celebrated their birthdays with family and myself in late January 2011. The views from there are very good over the CBD and nearby port area although the nearby rooftops looked rather shoddy from the highest building in town - see photos.
The best feature of Sky Park Hotel is its central location, being a short walk to Shopping Malls, and other services a visitor would want. Paseo Del Mar the eatery-music venue by the harbour and seaport was about 15-20 minute walk past the Lantaka Hotel, several travel agencies and airline offices.
If you fix that internet issue, Sky Park - "I will return" - as General McArthur once said.

Room Tip: Ask for larger room on levels 7-9 to be close to restaurant and away from city noise at street level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We had a good stay, and met a friendly staff, they were coming quickly if needed, we had a beautiful and nice view from the gallery at 10th floor, where restaurant and breakfast room are placed. The hotel is located in the center of the city, easy to go from there with a tricycle to all points of the city and outside of the city, hotel rates are reasonably priced, but
no breakfast including, quite rooms, even it is a busy location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Park Hotel

Address: Tomas Claudio Street, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga Sibugay Province > Zamboanga City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Zamboanga City
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.