We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park)

Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park)
Pyin U Lwin, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This copy of London's Kew Gardens was built in 1917.
Boulder, Colo.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I loved walking the grounds of the gardens -- and especially watching Burmese families do their photo shoots and enjoy this beatiful, tranquil, unique Myanmar spot.

It felt like being transported to Europe given its heritage as part of the British empire period.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    77
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, North Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best day out of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

You won't find a more manicured garden than this anywhere. It was immaculate. I spent a gorgeous half day there. I especailly loved the orchard garden and the orchids garden. I cycled up from town and it was an easy 20 minute ride. The display of petrified wood was interesting. Cold drinks in the cafe are pricey. Take a bite to eat with you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Takin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice, well kept and clean gardens to wander around. The large bamboo is a sight to see and the orchids are beautiful. Didn't like seeing all the dead butterflies and insects pinned out in the museum area. Seeing Poinsettias taller than me made me realise why we cannot grown them as house plants at home....totally wrong conditions. The Takin were astonishing creatures like nothing I have seen before. Enjoyed seeing the wild gibbons playing in the trees (and on the cars) and the lizards playing around. The bird sanctuary was a let down.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary garden”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have taken a 1.5h walk around the entire garden, a popular place with both tourists and locals. The 5USD fee is very high (locals pay 1USD) and goes to one of the richest tycoons of Myanmar.

There are lots of nice trees, in fact presumingly over 590 species, but all together nothing special or whatsoever if you have ever visited a botanical garden before.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We walked around the park and were very pleasantly surprised with the clean and well cared for Gardens, which were obviously very popular with local people. We arrived to find a group of 30-40 people playing and dancing to Psy's Gangnam Style. The Orchid garden was superb as was the viewing tower that we walked up as there was a power cut and the lift was not working.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park) also viewed

Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Mandalay Region
Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Mandalay Region
 

Been to Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.