We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Aster to your Saves list
Hotel Aster
47/48 Mandalay-Lashio Road, Nanda Wun, Ward 9, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 and it was one of the better places we stayed at during our trip to Myanmar.

Relatively new, the rooms are villa style and quite large. It was like we had our own small house!
Room was very clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom looked beautiful however the shower was a little disappointing as the water pressure was quite low.

Staff were helpful but English was limited (we made do with hand gestures). TV in our room did not work properly and after some investigation they happily changed it over.

Food was really the only major drawback here. Breakfast was a let down. We ordered boiled eggs but when they arrived they were basically raw and there were no egg cups. Staff were happy to try again but the second lot of eggs were not much better. The rice and noodle dishes at the breakfast buffet were tasteless and cold.

The grounds were beautiful with luscious gardens and water features, including a fish pond and we really enjoyed sitting in our room with our french doors open, overlooking the garden area.

There is also a great little tea house about 50 metres down the road called 'Lumbini Tea Center'
The family there are very friendly and the food is excellent. Highly recommend the goat curry!

Overall this was excellent value at $35 a night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cadier en keer
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just yesterday after the arrival from Mandalay with comfortable shared taxi right from the busstation for a 35.000 kyats 4 persons.
We where welcomed by the staff as vips although somewhat dirty after the long travel from Nyaung oo Bagan too Mandalay to here...
The wifi worked perfect, the double bed was very comfortable and superior realy huge wth a very well designed bathroom.
Cable television was ideal for the kids. A transfer to the very interesting twn of Pyin oo lwin was 2000 kyats.
Breakfast was okay, as always no fresh prang or other juice but limonade.
Although the price for budget travellers is somewhat high, about 45$ superior out of season price it is definately worth to stay and rest here.
A very nice hotel with well designed huge bungalows and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel aster is a brand new hotel. the staff are very friendly.

it is also cost efficient, 35$ per night for suprior room.

the room is clean and spacious. but the decoration quality is not very good, some taps didnt work well.

the breakfast doesnt hv various type.

The location is in the suburbs of Pyin OO LWin, needs taking bicycles or taxis to go to the national park. taxis to national park is 4000K.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place is real relaxing... and one of the best place in whole of Maymyo...
The hotel is sort of a resort style... Real Peaceful...
The staff are real helpful....
Had a few hiccups as i was given a room with faulty phone and middle of the nite, there will be power shut down and with no water supply and no water heater... which most properly not the fault with the hotel...

but overall i still give a thumbs up...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hotel Aster is a great choice. The superior room was fantastic value at $40. The rooms are spotless and nicely decorated and are set around a nice garden area. Breakfast was simple (fried rice, fried noodles, toast, eggs and fruit).

The location is slightly out of town but the free shuttle twice a day helps or you can pay 2000 kyat to go at other times. The location is on the main road so light sleepers may be disturbed. We also heard some noise from the adjoining rooms.

The service was great and everyone was very friendly and helpful and they even presented my husband with a personalised cake on his birthday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Brand new lovely hotel in Pyin Oo Lwin. The rooms are large with a separate closet area and large bathroom. Care has been taken to design the rooms with wood and natural stone. I have to say that it was one of the nicest places I stayed in Myanmar. The staff are very helpful. I rented a mountain bike from the hotel each day to get around town and to the Botanic gardens. The hotel is located on the main road from Mandalay and is approx 3Km form Pyin Oo Lwin town centre - the cycle ride is up hill from the hotel or you walk in appox 45 mins. The hotel also has a shuttle to town each day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We really, really liked Hotel Aster. The property is set up with bungalows surrounding a small oval shaped tropical garden. The bungalows are spotless, very spacious and obviously brand new (the plastic was still left on our room desk chair). I really liked the bathroom too with a stone flooring, spacious layout, and a separate shower (great shower head) and bathtub. Each bungalow has a small patio too, which is ideal for having a sundown drink. While the property is actually quite small, it is maintained meticulously. The garden is really quite lovely.

Even with the great rooms and well maintained garden, the staff are what really set this hotel apart. Every single person was always kind, eager to say hello and very helpful. There is always someone on staff that speaks English too which is a plus. My husband and I like to cycle and they arranged nice mountain bikes for us all three days we were there (which isn't so easy to do in Myanmar). We're also vegetarians and they accommodated us with veggie dishes at dinner that weren't on the menu.

For us, the location being slightly out of town wasn't a big deal since we rode bikes. However, it is worth saying that the location is a bit outside of the main area (there is a free shuttle though, and you could walk).

Really a great place that far exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aster

Address: 47/48 Mandalay-Lashio Road, Nanda Wun, Ward 9, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Aster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.