We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could make more of place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kandawgyi Hill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kandawgyi Hill Resort to your Saves list
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nandar Road | Across from Kandawgyi Botanical Gardens, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could make more of place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were left with a feeling that the hotel could make more of its attributes. It is well-situated overlooking the lake and a short walk from the botanical gardens. There are one or two mentions in the main house of its colonial past and a good terrace above the gardens. Most rooms are in purpose built cottages. These are large but feel somewhat spartan. A quick make over - such as wooden floors and some traditional art on walls would greatly improve the place. The cottage felt a little like an up market hotel room in Eastern Europe in the days of the Soviet Union.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    29
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a cottage with this hotel. The cottages are very nice and big. The internet in the cottage is very slow but it's there. The staff is very friendly. The food is good but sometimes it's too much that there are 3 people watching you eating. When you take a sip of your drink they refill it. Breakfast is good. It's a little bit far from the city but close to the park. Sometimes the electricity stops.

Room Tip: No tips it's really quiet over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This resort hotel is converted from an old British colony rest-house. The guest rooms and the main building still retain the fireplace. Although the resort faces Kandawgyi Lake, the view to the lake is obstructed by some tall coniferous trees. There are only 15 guest rooms. My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in September and we were the only guests in the resort. The place is real quiet during the night. Service is good and we were given full attention by the hotel staff. The room is very spacious. Bath room is clean. You have the option to turn the aircond or leave the window open as it is quite cooling during the night. Also as we are the only guests having morning breakfast, the staff serves us very well. A Really nice hotel in Pyin Oo Lwin.

Room Tip: Stay in 401 or 501
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Basic, very clean individual units set in lovely grounds. The regulatory spraying for mosquitoes was undertaken with great vigour and I am sure that there was not one left anywhere nearby. We were with a large group and the critique of food in the restaurant was varied from excellent to just OK. It was said to be typical Burmese home cooking so not too spicy and with a mixture of pleasant curries. Spoken English was fairly limited among the bar waiters but they were very happy to try to assist.
The complex is an easy walk to the National Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March as a preference to doing a day trip from Mandalay, and still glad we did as we had a pleasant time in this old hill station. The botanical gardens were just a few minutes walk from the hotel and they were well worth the visit, as waw the Peik Khyin Myaung caves. The hotel was somewhat basic but clean with comfortable beds. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the food in the resaurant was good. Wouldn't say never again but there is competition!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The artificially reconstructed British hill station/town of Mamyo, which was renamed Pyin Oo Lwin, has its charm, but also once aware of its history, it pales a bit. It was once a British resort during the colonial period, and it has been bought by a corporation which not only owns the buildings, but also the botanical gardens. The cabins are no way a "resort." They are comfortable if it is not cold at night, and the heater does nothing to warm the space. During the intermediary seasons it is probably agreeable. The dining room left a lot to be desired... two of us got ill... although it is a very pretty space, you do well to find dinner elsewhere. The location is a bit far from town, and "town" is serviced by horse and carriage. But the bakery/coffee shop in town is delightful!

Room Tip: The cabins are surely adequate, sometimes charming, but not warm in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This attractive esatblishment has a number of bungalows set in well tended grounds with named trees and nicely planted borders. The staff were probably the least friendly of any I met in Myanmar. That is not to say that they didn't provide a good service, because they did. I just felt that they were going through the motions with their job, rather than making an effort to be genuinely welcoming. maybe this is because I think it is government owned. The problem with the place is that evenings are cool in Pyin oo Lwin in February and the bungalow we stayed in was freezing. A small electric heater was provided but it made no real impression on the room temperature. Hot-water bottles were provided. The elctricity supply was intermittent which meant that there was no kettle to provide properly hot water for the bottles.

Like so many establishments in Myanmar, the furniture is made of teak and bone hard. We wished we had brought a cushion for comfort when sitting on the terrace. The breakfast was rather dull. We bought local honey from a road-side stall on the way to the hotel - $3 for a whisky bottle-full of lovely honey. And this was the best thing about breakfast; pouring our honey onto toast out of a local whisky bottle!

The hotel is a twenty-minute walk along unlit and rutted roads to a restaurant so nights are adventurous. Also, a ten-minute bone-jarring horse-drawn carriage ride takes one into town which has a terrific market and good local health-beneficial special beer!

All in all, an inexpensive, OK establishment but take warm clothing and a cushion!

Room Tip: stay in a bungalow towards the back of the gardens. There is a noisy generator close to the front b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandawgyi Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandawgyi Hill Resort

Address: Nandar Road | Across from Kandawgyi Botanical Gardens, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandawgyi Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kandawgyi Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandawgyi Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.