We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise asharam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parmarth Niketan Ashram

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Save
You added Parmarth Niketan Ashram to your Saves list
P.O. Swargashram, Rishikesh 249304, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
jaipur
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A paradise asharam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

i was at Parmarth nIketan for last 2 weeks and the whole stay was incredible. i was there for the Yoga Course. The asharam is located on the banks of Ganges and has lovely rooms with all amenities. the yoga course, Vedic chanting, philosophy session, ganga aarti and the evening meditation session were superb. The sevak and the people working over there were very friendly and helpful. the food was excellent and i did not eat anyone else but the asharam for all meals. they are making another asharam at Virpur where we went for a day.

I am surely going there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    14
    3
    13
See reviews for
35
18
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for three days, this Ashram Parmarth Niketan is the largest, most serene, scenic and peaceful Ashram of Rishikesh; situated on the banks of the Ganges.
Got a room in the “Yamuna block”, the room was spacious & neat, facing a beautiful garden; the daily donation for the room was close to seven pounds. But with only the basic facilities (shower, western toilet and water heater) given, staying here may involve a bit of austerity (responsibility to clean the room lies with you). But for free yoga lessons (International Yoga festival 2013), sumptuous food, evening worship of Ganges and overall peace and tranquility, one can happily undergo such austerities.
Just move outside the Ashram and you can get restaurants, internet cafes, naturopathy clinics, Gems and souvenir shops and other day to day use articles very easily.
This was my first visit to Rishikesh and I have fallen in Love with this place; if you have a fascination for spirituality, yoga & Meditation, then Rishikesh is a place for you!!! This celestial abode is the “Home of the Ganges”, Temples, Ashrams and the “Gateway to the Himalayas”.
I would surely come back to this beautiful Heaven and would again stay at “Parmarth Niketan” Ashram.

Room Tip: Yamuna Block Rooms are garden facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

RoamWithOm tour gave it a try. It's an Ashram. Mostly for Yoga hosted events. Food is good.
Close to Sivananda ashram across the Ganga go there for Arati say hi to Hamsananda a saintly Sivananda disciple. Daya Mata visited there. Sivananda artifacts and Holy vibration.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed there for the whole month of February and a week in March after yoga festival. I love India, so I loved the stay. When it was raining my room was leaking by the window, that's the only disadvantage I had. Otherwise people are great, ashram is beautiful. Aarti ceremony every night, mediation and yoga ...what else can you wish for. Come and check it out for yourself. It's one of the nicer ashrams out there, the price is a bit higher than in other ashrams. Worth experiencing

Room Tip: Yamuna hall is more quiet than Ganga, in my opinion ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patiala, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spacious, well maintained, calm and serene.

Rooms are basic and so was cleanliness, but then hey! Its just an Ashram. What more can you expect?!? There's no room service or house-keeping, so you yourself are responsible for cleaning your bedroom and bathroom. We took two interconnected rooms and were happy to see spacious lounge area. I was thankful for bringing my own bedding as their bed linens / blankets weren't too clean. We had some problem with water geyser the first day, but it was resolved in less than an hour after complaining at reception. Ashram has inverter / backup to cope up with power cuts. We were there to attend a spiritual camp in a nearby Ashram and had all our meals there itself, so can't comment on food quality of Parmarth Niketan. There's hardly any noise in the night, so one can sleep peacefully.

Ashram atmosphere is absolutely amazing. It automatically uplifts your spirit. Evening Aarti along banks of Ganga at Parmarth is something one shouldn't miss. One best thing about this ahsram is its convenient location - it is very close to market, Ram jhula, small restaurants etc.

I don't regret staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing either garden or Ganga
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

You have to understand the meaning of an ashram. It is not meant to be hotel like with luxurious ambience and amenities. Traditionally in India, ashrams are meant to be basic. Sure you may have to clean the room yourself before you settle down but for $10 a night for accommodation AND breakfast, lunch and dinner thrown in I'd say you're being greedy if you expect anything more. I've just returned after a 45 day stay in this wonderful place and I'd not rather stay anywhere else upon my return to Rishikesh next year.
Everything you might need, including shopping, restaurants, provisions, fruit/vegetable vendors as well as grocery stores are a minutes walk from the ashram. Food is basic but clean, fresh and healthy. People tending to you are friendly, warm and hospitable. Ganga blocks are the most coveted but my favourites are the Yamuna rooms facing the garden with balconies.
Just stay away from the Alaknanda blocks. These should be ideally razed and redone. Couple of rooms in Yamuna may have leakages or mould so just be aware of this issue and ask for a room change if you land up with a dud room like that.
All in all, Parmarth Ashram offers you the best value for your money in Rishikesh along with free yoga lessons and wonderful arti on the banks of mother Ganga thrown in for good measure.
Enjoy

Room Tip: Stay away from Alaknanda blocks. Ask for Ganga facing rooms or garden facing rooms in the Yamuna blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely ashram, well located and very safe. In the Ganga block you can get a room overlooking the Ganges, although rooms on the other side of the hall don't even have windows. If some kind of view is of importance be sure to book ahead and be specific. Western toilet in the room. There was a shower but water dribbled out so I opted for the bucket and cup. Water was hot - you need to turn on the water heater a few minutes before. The cleanliness was definitely not what it could have been. Some of the towels looked like they might not have been changed after the last guest and the blankets may not have been washed in quite some time. It was February and quite cold, even during the day.
The room was quite large. Water was safe to brush teeth, but I can't vouch for drinking glasses of it. Very secure, with a guard who chases the red-faced monkeys away - they can be nasty little buggers and you don't want to look them in the eye (the monkeys that is, the guard is quite friendly). I only ate in the dining hall once as there are a wide variety of more comfortable places to eat nearby. There is a laundry service. There is an ayervedic clinic on site. The foot massage I had there was the worst ever - in 60 minutes the masseur spent about 15 min on my feet and the blanket and pillow were covered in oil. I didn't bother trying any other services.
The toilet in the yoga hall was disgusting and after repeated daily requests they finally sent someone to clean it on the fifth day.
Overall, the room was adequate although . not overly clean. There are several hotels nearby for about double the price but I liked the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parmarth Niketan Ashram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmarth Niketan Ashram

Address: P.O. Swargashram, Rishikesh 249304, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Rishikesh
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
Parmarth Niketan Ashram Hotel Rishikesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parmarth Niketan Ashram, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.