We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, not sure about the location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Great Ganga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Great Ganga to your Saves list
Hotel Great Ganga
Kailash Gate,Muni-ki-Reti,, Rishikesh 249137, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Rishikesh
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
1,279 helpful votes 1,279 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, not sure about the location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay in January at the Great Ganga. the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Our room was really excellent. I'd asked for the best view of the Ganges they could offer and they took note of this and really delivered. We had a fantastic view straight down to the river. Our room was spacious, well furnished. Very comfortable bed. Large bathroom. Could do with an update in there. the bath (unusual in India) was going a bit seedy but the hot water supply was very good. We had their half board package and the food was very good. Lots of choice and all very well cooked and tasty. Obviously all veg, no meat, eggs or alcohol. The spa is just amazing for a small hotel. Really lovely rooms and a very nice ambience. I had a pedicure and it was good. they were very booked up with a large party of ladies or I would have had more treatments. In itself I cannot fault the hotel however, there is a down side in my opinion. It sits quite a way out of the main part of Rishikesh which is around the Laxman Jhula. The hotel is up an extremely steep narrow drive and we could not find a rickshaw driver willing to go up there. Taxi drivers were even a bit unwilling.. It is a real hike up there on foot so if you are elderly or not very fit this is not a good thing. It is perhaps 5 minutes walk to Ram Jhula and then another 10 minutes on the other side to the site of the evening Aarti. so that was good. If I returned to Rishikesh however I would choose to stay nearer to Laxman Jhula so as to be more in the centre of things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
25
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Great Ganga with my friend in early Jan 2014. We were really really pleased with our suite - it was overlooking the Ganges and had a great view across the river, with the magical hills in the background.

The whole team at the hotel were very polite and attentive - they really couldn't do enough for you. Really great service. Also, we had a number of massages in the hotel spa. Vipin the masseur, was very good. Even though we were only there a few days, we felt really relaxed and fully de-toxed by the end of our stay.

I left with the feeling that I'd like to return soon - there's no greater endorsement than that!

Room Tip: Reserve a suite if you can afford it. It gives you that bit more space and adds to the feeling of re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel about 4 times now. Lovely hotel.My room was very clean - as was bathroom. Service is good and I really appreciated by the 2 free bottles of water a day they leave in your room.Staff are friendly and helpful. The downside is the walk up the hill to the hotel from the road...apart from that the location is good - it is near to the taxi stand and the shops of Ramjhula .
Also the tv which I only turned on once, was flat screen and offered quite a few channels....oh - and wifi so far only available (free) in the lobby but not in the rooms.. I think if they could get the wifi to the rooms that would be brilliant. This hotel also has their own generator for the many power cuts that Rishikesh seems to suffer. Highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Having stayed 4 times I've liked every room I've been given. I think they all have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

stayed there with family, its a beautiful place and very comfortable to stay, the view from the hotel also is very good, the whoe of rishikesh is visible with the ganga flowing in front and swarg ashram and parmarth ashram visible from here, quite approach to the hotel, food also is very good, on request i got items cooked which were not there on the menu, they have a beautiful spa, highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor with view of the ganga
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The Great Ganga was lovely, comfortable, met all of our expectations in terms of service and more.
We were honeymooning from Oz, second time in Rishikesh first time at this resort and they decorated our room beautifully. They didn't have to, but they did. Our awesome room was overlooking the Ganges and this is where I go to in my head for my "happy place".

We had treatments every day in their on-site Ayurvedic centre. Fabulous, therapeutic and very affordable.
We also did some yoga and meditation in their rooftop hut. The Yogi was sensational!

We ate most evenings at the restaurant and it was tasty. No issues.Service from Beem was our favourite. A lovely man.

All in all when we return to Rishikesh we will again stay at the Great Ganga. Thank you for such an easy, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my 4th stay in Rishikesh and for the first time I stayed in a place where I had the most enjoyable time in all aspects.
The hotel is very well located and high up, so we could enjoy beautiful views to the river Ganges. Every night we could see from our hotel the aarti at Parmat Niketan across the river at sunset.
The rooms are very large, very clean, tidy and comfortable with lots of light and sun pouring trough the bank of windows and a fantastic view to the Ganges (room 208). Next door there is an ashram and we could see the monks in their daily prayers and routines.
The reception and the living areas, as well as the gardens are all very well maintained and welcoming, adding to the serene atmosphere of this place.
The restaurant serves beautiful, delicious, well prepared vegetarian food only, which for us was a big plus, but even non-vegetarians will find the choices easy here. The views to the Ganges from the restaurant makes every meal here a pleasure.
The NEER SPA is not to be missed! I have had many Ayurvedic treatments all over India (loved all of them!) but the treatments and massages in Neer Spa are as good as any 5 star resort in Kerala. My therapist's name was Maathu and she will give you that special attention and care for your needs and finish off your treatment with a nice prayer and rudraksha beads around your neck.
Everything in this Hotel is relaxing, nobody is pushy, all the staff are very friendly and you really feel at home here.
The only thing to point out is the steep driveway to get to this hotel. If you have your own car that will not be a problem at all. If you don't, then you must be fit or try to get a lift with someone up to the reception. But, don't be taken by this little inconvenience. The rewards up there are really "great"!! It is a photographer's delight if you go to the rooftop to photograph the panoramic views.
From now on this will be my only choice in Rishikesh! Thanks to everyone at the Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 208 with amazing views to river Ganges, as this room is right on the front. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with very helpful staff to help you out in everything.
Nice location.. Clean and tidy rooms... Had good stay with no any problems. Lots of local travellers passing by with little chat which was funny to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Great Ganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Great Ganga

Address: Kailash Gate,Muni-ki-Reti,, Rishikesh 249137, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Great Ganga is situated at one of the best areas in and around Rishikesh, at Muni-ki-Reti, the place where the holy Ganges meanders out of the hills and enters the plains. The Hotel is designed in such a manner that one can enjoy the enchanting panoramic view of the Holy Ganges, surrounded by the lush Green serene hills from each room. It takes just 5 minutes casual walk to reach the banks of Holy Ganges from the Hotel. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioners heaters and have private balconies from where one can enjoy the fabulous view of the river Ganges, the Chandrabhaga river and Rishikesh town. Yoga classes & ayurvedic massage therapies are also available. The Hotel is situated in an atmosphere of serene tranquility & peace which brings inner comforts & body relaxation. We have a multi-cuisine vegetarian restaurant open from 7 am till 11 pm. The highlight is the nearly forest a most appropriate surrounding for nature walk. The internationally famous aarti ceremony performed every evening can be witnessed from the roof top of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Great Ganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Great Ganga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.