We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most social bar for westerners in Rishikesh - Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Cafe

Freedom Cafe
Behind Dr. Kothari Clinic, Laxman Jhulla, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, India, Rishikesh, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 69 Restaurants in Rishikesh
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Most social bar for westerners in Rishikesh - Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The prices are high for Rishikesh but the choice of menu, vibe, and views are great. A great place to relax the day away watching the world go by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice athmosphere, lots of pot smokers though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Good place to chill out. You can stay all day, no-one will ask you to leave. Located just above Ganga, has a nice Ganga view. Keep in mind, this place is popular among substance users. If you're not one of them, you might feel uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

They didn't have half the things I wanted on the menu, but I settled for the veggie biryani. I was with a larger group (6 of us) and the upstairs seating area was perfect. The view was phenomenal, which was nice since the food took quite some time. Had a few service hiccups, but I would highly recommend taking a lunch break here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahibabad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place in Rishikesh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is such a lovely, amazing and must visit restaurant near laxman jhoola in Rishikesh . YOu need to Cross the laxman jhulla and walk towards the market area, keep going for around 1 Km and you would find it on the right hand side, if not ask some local person about this. As the name suggest, you would feel freedom at most. A wide variety of Food, salad, Shakes and that too amazing. I found this place unbelievable in such a small place like rishikesh. They have mattresses sitting and one enjoy reading, playing guitar along with yumy delicious food. I would like to plan my Rishikesh trip only to visit this place and that too very often!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best place for breakfast in Rishikesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I ate here every morning while staying in Rishikesh. Deepak, the owner is lovely. Always smiling and happy to see you. The fruit salads are beautiful and fresh and the yaks cheese toasted sandwiches very tasty (always with extra green olives!) a very chilled and relaxed vibe, there is a cushion seating area which helps as you can lie down and digest!! Very good prices, great staff and awesome food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Cafe also viewed

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 

Been to Freedom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.