We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but relatively isolated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rishikesh Sadan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rishikesh Sadan to your Saves list
Rishikesh Sadan
2.5 of 5 Spa   |   Badrinath Road | Near Old R. T. O. Check Post, Behind Laxman Jhula Enclave Appartments, Aamkhala, Tapovan, Badrinath Road, Rishikesh 249192, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salvador, Brazil
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but relatively isolated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was our first time in Rishikesh, and apparently had not understood the maps of the region, because we believed to be possible to stay at this hotel and participate daily in various activities in the region of Swarg Ashram, but this is only possible if you do not mind paying for expensive taxis and tuk tuks (in Rishikesh seem much more expensive than in the rest of India), or have many hours to walk; so we spent the rest of our stay elsewhere in the Swarg Ashram area. But if you seek isolation or their interests are close to this hotel it can be an option. The staff is very attentive, helpful and friendly (excellent tea is served here). Large rooms. Common interesting spaces. Near nature. It can be an interesting option for those seeking certain isolation in region.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
10
6
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at Rishikesh Sadan for a few days and I enjoyed it very much. It was quiet for me to recover from my travells to the north. I have made wonderful friends with Aarti and her family and will be staying again in a few days.
Thank you,
Narindath Maraj.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointing, I emailed ahead of visiting to confirm my booking with them and to arrange pick up, When I arrived the driver took me to another hotel, I asked to speak with the manager of Rishikesh Sadan she said they were fully booked till the 22nd of March I arrived the 12th of March so they arranged for me to stop at sister hotel. As a result I felt confused and dissatisfied with there lack of ability to inform me when I contacted the Sadan a week before I travelled, I think they over book then move people to there other hotels. Be Very Careful when booking this hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Few quick comments :
Rooms very dirty, 2 of the 3 we booked were having moisture and damaged walls and roof (see pictures ).
No room cleaning during your stay (we stayed 2 nights )
Bathroom : smells very bad ... actually it stinks... as shower you do not have spreader but just net water.
No bed clothes when we arrived ... We had to ask ...
Just one towel per room ... We had to ask ...
And place is very noisy : no good noise insulation and you here all sounds coming from the valley. ..
Last point : price is very high! Same quality should not cost you more than 1000 INR taxes included ... I let you compare with rates proposed on the Web.
One good point : helping boys are nice with guests.
To summarize : just a place to avoid except if you are a backpacker enjoying raw place to stay, and even so, negotiate the price much down!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This "Hotel" is far from acceptable in my opinion. Though the layout of the room is fantastic for mediation and reflection, the severe mold and peeling paint on the walls made the place unbearable. Please see pictures. Maintenance is more than in order.

On the other hand, the chef who only provides prearranged meals is probably one of the best around. The food was outstanding.

My reservation for 5 nights was a scam. Was only allowed to stay 3 as was escorted to another hotel and told that Rishikesh Sadan was full. The other hotel, S K International is owned by the same man and is in great repair. Close to Rishikesh Sadan.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely not! There are much better properties in fantastic condition that will not provide mold as an amenity.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

AVERAGE GUESTHOUSE, bad location

Be warned: Rishikesh Sedan is NOT a yoga retreat, it's a guesthouse that provides expensive but average yoga.

It's located quite far out of town and requires transport or long, dusty walks to get anywhere. The rooms are average, some with peeling paint or bad rising damp.
Our shower didn't work and we had to use a bucket to wash the entire time we were there. We complained over and over again and they told us all the rooms were the same and it was a water pressure issue. This wasn't true as we used another room one night to shower and it was fine. We didn't move to this room because it had strange white mould type stuff growing on the wall from the damp.
We had to constantly ask for new toilet paper, our room didn't get cleaned for our entire stay and we actually had to take our own rubbish out as it was overflowing.

As for the yoga: There were three students doing teacher training and more advanced than us. It felt like we just had to slot in and learn fast. The yoga room is pretty hideous. It's on the roof with a makeshift tin-style enclosure and old, dirty, thin carpet.
The morning yoga involves lots of chanting and not a lot of yoga. The evening sessions with the younger master were much better as he was more attentive to peoples needs and limitations and spoke more about technique and always manipulated you while in poses.

The food was weird. I think we got put on the same diet as the people doing teacher training, but this was never explained to us. One dinner was a piece of chapati bread and a carrot juice. Another breakfast was a mix of salty bean-sprouts and a banana/milk concoction. What the?!

Check in involved being shown to the room, period. No induction about meals, types of meals available, times, where the yoga happened and at what time. Lucky we just wandered around to see and another student took the time to explain the program to us.

The staff were friendly but some were just ineffective. The cook and his assistant are sweet and tried their best given the weird menu they had to follow, which was dictated to them by management. The assistant-manager guy walking around was also sweet and did get us things, but we always had to ask.

If you're new to Rishikesh or Yoga you might think this place is good, but you only have to cross the river and look around at some of the established ashrams to know this place is dire! There are loads of traditional ashrams or even other yoga retreats close to the river and town, providing good food and simple but clean accommodation and for MUCH less.
Other guests were also unhappy and leaving early (some after just 1 or 2 days) because they were also not happy. We would have left early but we felt tied in due to booking through a travel agent.
My advise; shop around for something else.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at this warm friendly hotel. Aarti and the team were extremely welcoming, I instantly felt at home. Nothing was of any trouble. Taxis, food - yum! Information, other bookings, Massage and I was also welcomed into a Fire Ceremony. We only booked for one night but returned after our stay at Phool Chatti Ashram to stay a further 6 nights.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rishikesh Sadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rishikesh Sadan

Address: Badrinath Road | Near Old R. T. O. Check Post, Behind Laxman Jhula Enclave Appartments, Aamkhala, Tapovan, Badrinath Road, Rishikesh 249192, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rishikesh Sadan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to introduce Rishikesh Sadan as Spiritual and Rejuvenation Centre in the World Yoga/Meditation Capital Rishikesh having 1200 squire feet yoga hall. Rishikesh Sadan is situated in the valley surrounded with majestic mountains, deep forests and natural spring. Rishikesh Sadan at Rishikesh, just 250 kms from New Delhi. It is situated at Tapovan , just 10 mins walking distance from Laxman Jhulla As this is well clear Rishikesh Sadan is Spiritual retreat therefore we are glad to inform that Non of Room have Television and we serve only sattvic Food.( Basically property in use for Inbound Tourism, so we can assure you about services. We are one of the best yoga centre which offers Certified YTTC (Yoga Teachers Training). We are certified from Yoga Alliance, USA for 200 hrs & 500 Hrs YTTC for 01 month residential program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rishikesh Sadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rishikesh Sadan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.