We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it :D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holywater - Dining by the Ganges

Holywater - Dining by the Ganges
237 Virbhadra Road | Hotel Ganga Kinare, Near Barrage,, Rishikesh 249201, India
+911352435243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Rishikesh
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, International, Vegetarian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A riverside dining lounge: The culinary experience at Holywater promises to excite more than just the sense of taste. Donning the look of a snug & sunlit riverside cafe by day, Holywater metamorphoses into a candlelit gourmet dining lounge in the evening. The riveting panorama of river, verdure and mountain threatens to burst through the wall of windows and spill into the lounge. Whether it’s a steaming mug of coffee with your favourite book, or a delicious full-course meal with family and friends, Holywater offers distinctive dining experiences. Holywater is a multi-cuisine restaurant, serving authentic delicacies from diverse cultures including Mughlai, Continental, Chinese, South Indian, and of course regional. In our unique menu, you will find delectable dishes including 24*7 bites. Our Clay Oven Treasures and Great Indian Vegetarian Food preparations are renowned and promise satisfied lip-smacks.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Loved it :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I visited Holywater after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and I'm glad I made this choice.

This restaurant has the most wonderful location as it has the view to the river Ganga and you actually get to dine by that view.

They also have an outdoor seating which gets slightly windy and chilly by the evening and being there, by the river, almost feels like heaven.

The variety of food on their menu is really good too. I was bored of eating Indian food at all the other places in Rishikesh so decided to order some Italian here instead and boy, was I in for a surprise? Their pastas and pizzas and very well done and although vegetarian, I didn't miss my meat even one bit.

I tried their chocolate brownie for dessert and that too was really good.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to all the readers, not only for the most wonderful view, but also for the food quality and service. Oh and did I mention how it's very easy on the pocket as well.

Must must must visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I visited this restaurant on my last visit to rishikesh and had an amazing experience here.

Food: 9/10
Excellent place for veg indian food...we were a group of ten...ordered paneer makhani, mushroom mutter, navratna Korma, katthal ki subzi and dal tadka with assorted breads. All the subzis lived up to our expectations. Ended the meal with divine hot gulab jamun (not to be missed at any cost) and kesar pista kulfi!! A must visit place!

Service: 9/10
The service was prompt and the waiters were very helpful. They suggested their specialities to us and visitied our table time and again to check if we needed any assistance.


Ambiance: 10/10
With a view to the Ganges, this place lightens up the mood and makes you want to sit back and relax and enjoy your food for as long as you can.

Overall: 10/10

Totally recommend this restaurant to everyone visiting Rishikesh

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Look no further..great food, view, service, decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent a week in Rishikesh and i must have eaten at all the recommended restaurants in town. There is no doubt that this restaurant, although a part of a hotel - Ganga Kinare Hotel - is no doubt, the only real restaurant option in the city offering real multi cuisine options with an amazing view to offer. There are a number of riverside cafes which have a good view in the city but Holywater not only has one of the most charming and most soothing views of the river, it also serves the best quality food i found in rishikesh and the ambience especially during the evenings is really amazing. The restaurant manager is really polite as is the evening flute recital and a small evening prayer ceremony for guests. The garden and the riverbank are also accessible from the restaurant itself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A perfect dining place in Rishikesh. By the river, enjoy amazing meals either indoors or in the bright sun!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“I Always Leave Smiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have visited the Ganga Kinare hotel off an on for 17 years and over that time have seen it gradually refine itself into quite a nice place. The setting, right on the bank of the Ganga a little outside the Main Market area of Rishikesh gives it a quietness that is very appealing. It has a lovely outdoor terrace overlooking the river. The last two years in particular, the preparation of the food has been very good. Have eaten quite a lot of the Indian menu and the Western part as well. Young residents of a nearby ashram who can't tolerate rice, dal, sabji and chapattis often come over for macaroni and cheese, which they do well. They make a very good quesadilla as an appetizer but I am most fond of the peanut masala, a chat made with roasted peanuts and finely chopped red onion, tomato, cilatro and chat masala. Of late I have often ordered paneer tikka, oven roasted chunks of paneer with roasted vegetables. The naan they served was wonderful but peculiar in that it was so thoroughly kneaded that it separated in sheets like phylo dough. It was delicious. Service is courteous and generally efficient, although sometimes there are glitches. It is a little more expensive than many of the restaurants in the Rishikesh area--definitely not a traveler hang-out, but gives good value and I always leave smiling.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holywater - Dining by the Ganges also viewed

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 

Been to Holywater - Dining by the Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holywater - Dining by the Ganges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.