We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madras Cafe

Madras Cafe
Ram Jhula, Rishikesh 249201, India
(0135) 2433219
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 63 restaurants in Rishikesh
Restaurant details
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

friendliest staff ever with great food for cheap!
Loved hanging out for breakfast with tea

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    21
    27
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Indian kithchen at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My partner and I found out about Madras on one of our first days in Rishikesh and came back for more almost every night. We had the chance to sample almost all of their dishes, and almost all of them were great. Highly recommended!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great chai and always a friendly welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Madras is like family after many years of visiting, but the quality is suffering due to staff changes and many smarter new restaurants are taking some business away. The absence of Israeli food on the menu is to be applauded, as this means that the clientele remains an interesting mix of Indian and Western, and not just Westerners who could be anywhere else!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quick service, average tasting food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The location is good on the Rhom Jula side of the bridge. Many locals and foreigners seem to like this place. I thought the portions were small and the food rather average. The prices were in line with what you got. At the time I was on a fried rice binge so maybe this was the problem. There is no atmosphere, so overall I give it an average rating.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Friendly owner and staff. Very nice food. İt is a must in Rishikesh.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Cafe also viewed

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 

Been to Madras Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madras Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.