We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful cottage in rishikesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Bank Peasants Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added High Bank Peasants Cottage to your Saves list
High Bank Peasants Cottage
Laxman Jhula Bye Pass Road | Tapovan, Rishikesh, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 92 Rishikesh B&B and Inns
montdragon-france
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful cottage in rishikesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we have stayed several times in high Bank Peasant's Cottage in Rishikesh and it's always a wonderful experience. Nice rooms very clear and spottless, roof top terrasse with restaurant and a stunning view on the Ganges.The food is delicious.Mr tewari, the owner, canorganise side tours and trekking.
Without any doubt , the best place to be in Rishikesh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I booked a trek with the company who own Peasants Cottage and found them to be a very professional organisation who were able to deliver what they promised and to a high standard. My daughter and I went on the trek for 6 days and left my wife at Peasants Cottage. She had a great time doing daily yoga in the dedicated room they have available for this and she also was able to do a days trek and a days cookery course with the resident cook. As a women on her own she was well looked after by the staff.

The rooms we had were very clean and of a good standard although the bathroom could do with an upgrade.

Well worth considering if you are looking for a comfortable stay with attentive staff who will try their best to help with any request put to them.

Room Tip: Be clear from the outset what you are looking for and what you need to make your stay a good one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Considering I was traveling 2 days to get to Rishikesh I decided to book a room in advance and spare my self of busy Rishikesh. Pictures on line were just great but reality was far from it. Not sure which room people who liked this place stayed in but sure it wasn't the one where I stayed. Room was quite spacious and decently clean but BATHROOM!!!!! Didnt care bout exposed piping but the state the whole bathroom was in was just disgusting. It looked like there was war fought in there, all cracked tiles which were once upon a time white and now are filthy and disgusting. Cockroaches dead and alive roaming the room and bathroom all day long. Price was outrageous 1500inr per night for one person, Which I wouldn't mind if I had decent shower. Staff was very nice which still didn't compensate for State the bathroom was in!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I went to Peasant's cottage in Dec. 2011 for a 2 weeks' yoga package stay and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff was particularly devoted. Super Deluxe rooms were rather clean and spacious as well as the bathrooms. Vegetarian food was very good as well. I consider the hotel highly recommandable for the very reasonable price.

A special mention should be made to the yoga teacher of which the practice, both genuine and very precise, should come up to the expectations of most. Having practiced with him 3 hours per day for 2 weeks, I can but thank for his dedication and the quality of his teachings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

After two weeks in India staying in budget accommodation in Delhi, Agra and Amritsar, Peasants Cottage was a delightful change. For 600INR we got a lovely, perfectly clean room with fan, comfy bed, good shower and a little balcony outside.

We found the owner and the nice man that seems to do everything very pleasant, but a couple of other staff members were a little short with us if we asked them anything.

You can get much cheaper accommodation acrossm the river at Lakshman Jhula, but we much preferred being on High Bank where you can totally escape the crowds of pilgrims and tourists but still be only a 20 min walk away from everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

High Bank Peasant Cottage was an alright place to stay. The location was easily the best thing about it, although the same could probably be said for all of the accommodation in the High Bank area. It is removed from the crammed main area of Rishikesh and it was nice to be able to step outside the hotel without being harassed by the usual rickshaw drivers etc. Just a short walk down the driveway led you to a few rickshaws who were always waiting to take travelers down into the main area near Lakshman Jhula.

The bathroom was plain and our friends (in the room next door) had such a bad smell coming from their bathroom that they often came to use ours. The bed was a "double" (two singles shoved together with a miscellaneous hard post down the middle) but blankets provided were warm and we had a comfortable sleep.

Service was helpful but a little unfriendly. The main guy in reception was very accommodating when we decided to leave one day early and readily gave us our money back for the canceled night.

The restaurant at the nearby Swiss Bandari guest house was a surprise delight - great food with good prices and lovely waiters with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We found High Bank after being unimpressed with other hotels that we looked at in the area. Compared to the other guest houses in the complex, it has the best views and the cleanest rooms. There was a rooftop sitting area and balconies to look over the Ganges and Himalayan foothills, and the bathrooms came with a shower in the bath, rather than just a randomly placed shower head. The rooms were spacious and clean and the reception provided computers and internet.

The complex that houses High Bank is relaxing and quiet and is home to a tasty german bakery (the baked goods arent good but the Indian food is). We enjoyed having a break from the bustling streets of Rishikesh.

Overall, the guest house could be better value but it is definitely the best of a bad bunch. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Bank Peasants Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Bank Peasants Cottage

Address: Laxman Jhula Bye Pass Road | Tapovan, Rishikesh, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the busy town of Rishkesh, High Bank Peasant's Cottage is located 3 kms upriver in Tapovan. Peacefullly situated on the High Banks, the property overlooks the surrounding moutains & river Ganga flowing through the town of Rishikesh.All the main ashrams and the tourist areas of Laxman Jhula & Ramjhula are in 10 minutes walking distance from High Bank. One of the authentic Yoga - Sattya Yoga is taught to the residents at High Bank. High Bank Peasants Cottage is part of the Adventure Travel company - Garhwal Himalayan Explorations, which will not only handle your Trips in Rishikesh but will take care of your travel to and from Rishikesh. Come & experience the ture Himalayan Hospitality and richness of India....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your High Bank Peasants Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Bank Peasants Cottage Hotel Rishikesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Bank Peasants Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.