We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standards and run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green Hotel to your Saves list
Green Hotel
Swargashram | Near Ramjhula Bridge, Behind Parmarth Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh 249304, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 92 Rishikesh B&B and Inns
audiopink
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Poor standards and run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here as it was recommended by the rough guide. At first I noticed the bed sheets were dirty and had then replaced with semi clean ones. In the middle of the night I realized that there was no toilet paper, that one of the windows would just stay wide open and cold wind was blowing through it (eventually I had to tie it up with a shoelace) and in the morning that there was no hot water. The bed was really really old and so was the blanket. The walls are also paper thin with construction works going on in the hallway through the day it was a pretty noisy experience. The annexed restaurant, also rrecommended by rough guide, is pretty bad too, with unfriendly staff. Maybe the management has changed since the rough guide people last visited.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
9
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It just had a manky feel to it.
The manager and front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
But the restaurant was just dirty. Not sure if their table cloths had ever been washed. Food was nice enough, but served in plastic bowls/plates which have seen better times. On our last morning we came down for breakfast at 8am and the previous nights dirty dishes were still on the tables!
Rooms are massive, with most of them seem to have two doubles beds. But things were dusty and grimy.
Location is not bad.
I would try my luck elsewhere next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Could not have asked for better staff they were polite, warm, and very quick to get us whatever we needed and the restaurant is quite good. A great perk is the unlimited hot water which is very rare at hotels in India (in our 6 weeks visiting 10 cities only one other hotel had consistent hot water). They also exchange money for the real rate. The location was superb right by the bridge to the other side of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was here at GREEN Hotel on 1st June 2013. It was nice welcome from the staff. Rooms & Washrooms are perfectly clean and nicely built up, keeping in view of daily requirements of a customer. The best part was I could avail WIFI at no added costs. I had hired a FAMILY ROOM (i.e., 2 + 2 Double bed room) and it really felt as if I was at home.
However, I would like to suggest the management to provide good package deals (including MAP, etc) for 2 or 3 days stay, which I found to be missing. There are slight issues regarding room services, but with a good monitored check from management, it can be resolved.
Still I would overall rate it as value for money and a perfect place to be in when you are in Swargashram (Rishikesh).

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but choose the family room just above the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This property is located in a very quite place. Rooms are clean and nicely done. Just felt I am at my home since it matched my home decor a lot.. The staff is also very friendly. Nice budget stay with INR 1000 per day. Overall I will rate it as value for money. I will book this hotel again whenever I visit next.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I came third time now to Green hotel and i stood same good as in 2007 and 2011. It's on the part of Ram Jhula, just arround the corner to Parmath Niketan. Rooms are clean, food is good and the service team is friendly and helpful. Sometimes it is a bit loud outside the rooms, due to arriving/departing ppl, roomservice and else. That makes the sleeping qualities for some1 like me - who sleeps a bit longer in morning- not so good. But all in all it's a perfect stay here, that's why we always come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The good:
* Location
* They always seem to have rooms when every other hotel is fully booked.

The bad:
* Unfriendly and unhelpful staff.
* Very noisy with honking cars and barking dogs.
* The building has seen better days and could really use a facelift.
* Bad restaurant

There are many better options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Address: Swargashram | Near Ramjhula Bridge, Behind Parmarth Niketan Ashram, Rishikesh 249304, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.