We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Cheval Blanc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Le Cheval Blanc to your Saves list
Riad Le Cheval Blanc
26 derb El Kaouss | Bab Sidi Boudhab, Safi 46000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Safi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We started our Morrocan experience driving from Marrakech airport to Safi an interesting experience in its self.On arrival at Safi we stopped at the entrance to the medina fortunately two locals new the way to the riad le cheval blanc down a dark passage deep in the heart of the Medina. Once in side the very tastefully newly refurbished Riad we where met by the owner and staff and we where made very welcome, nothing was to much trouble we where given mint tea and home made cakes. We found the beds comfortable, but the wifi unfortunately didn't reach the ground floor breakfast was substantial and the evening meal by arrangement was traditional cuisine and lovely.If you wish to eat out we can recommend Hosni,just outside the medina not much to look at but his food is Delicious. we would certainly visit this Riad again.My husband and I are in our 70s and my husband uses a wheelchair and found getting around no problem.

Room Tip: Riads by tradition have no windows and very thick walls so all are very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier790, Propriétaire at Riad Le Cheval Blanc, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you very much. We hope to see you again and I must say that now WIFI is in all the riad!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is nestled in the Medina of safi and is a really great value. The rooms are competitively priced for the area and the building has so much more character than other local hotels. Breakfast was complementary and the staff is super friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesetJou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This riad is recently renovated and very charming. The French owner speaks fairly good English and is eager to make you feel comfortable. From the roof there is a wonderful view over the harbour and the sea. You have breakfast at the roof, and if too windy or cold there is a shelter. It is possible to have dinner too, but we arrived too late for that, The riad is right at the edge of the medina which is interesting and not very tourist-crowded. We would like to stay for more than one day but this time our plans did not allow. The owner took care that we got transfer for the bus station and help for getting tickets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus_Aarhus_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Riad Le Cheval Blanc is a wonderful place to stay in the Medina of the sea side town of Safi.
As posted by a previous contributor it is a little difficult to find but well worth persevering. Located in a dark alley way it gives no clues to what lies behind the wooden door. A wonderful building newly restored set on three floors the top floor being a terrace with a breakfast room. The other floors have rooms set around a courtyard, the ground floor has a reception area and dining area.
On arriving at Le Cheval Blanc we were welcomed by the proprietor and his maid whom invited us to inspect our rooms then served tea and biscuits on the roof terrace. I had the evening meal which was cooked by the maid it was traditional Moroccan food and very good. The bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom clean. Breakfast was served in the roof breakfast room fresh omelettes were made and there was a variety of pancakes and breads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mostlybytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Level Contributor
415 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everything was service oriented from the start. Our taxi driver couldn't find the place and I rang the riad. Indeed, you have to take a short walk from the main road into the Medina to get there which was why, I guess. So I rang and asked for directions. When we got to the nearest point to the riad and were getting out of the cab, my mate said, "Look, ask that foreigner if he knows where the riad is". "That foreigner" was, in fact, one of the owners who'd taken the trouble to walk down to show us the way.

The riad is along a side alleyway. It's terribly romantic and reminds one of the olden days of Morocco going under arches to get to the front door. The alleyway is off a pedestrianised souk selling everything imaginable at the end of which and over the road are the pottery shops and the kilns and so on, a welcome bonus for a few small gifts that we bought.

We were given mint tea and super little cakes on arrival and took them on the roof terrace overlooking the sea.

My friend had some work to do away from the riad so I ate there alone - it was a super 3 course meal, part of which was a super tagine. Later we watched some TV on the roof.
The next day, the owners were kind enough to let us keep the room for an extra hour as our coach back home didn't leave till 14:30h.

The room, en suite, was comfortable. The WiFi worked fine on the floor we were on and I was able to do some work! It's beautifully decorated, new bedding and so on. I must say in response to an earlier comment that the beds are hard that they suited me fine. The whole experience is good value for money.

We shall certainly be going back here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very friendly and serviceminded owners, nice interior decoration, breakfast over average. We had extra heating in the room and also good advice for dinner restaurant. The only thing that could be better was the bed - it was too hard, not comfortable enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadChevalBlanc, Propriétaire at Riad Le Cheval Blanc, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Google Translation
Merci de votre avis. Nous avons acheté de la literie de haut de gamme mais comme les lits sont neufs, elle est encore un peu ferme!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safi
1.1 mi away
Abda Hotel
Abda Hotel
#1 of 9 in Safi
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riad Asfi
Hotel Riad Asfi
#2 of 9 in Safi
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Assif
Hotel Assif
#3 of 9 in Safi
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Beldi
Dar Beldi
#2 of 9 in Oualidia
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad du Pecheur Safi
0.8 mi away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#3 of 7 in Safi
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Cheval Blanc

Address: 26 derb El Kaouss | Bab Sidi Boudhab, Safi 46000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Safi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Safi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible, Riad Le Cheval Blanc is located at the bottom of the Safi Medina so typical and so animated, facing the ocean near the port and the beach.The guest house has five bedrooms, it is installed in an authentic former residence of local Kaids. Each bedroom has its air conditioning and bathroom. Bedding is quality. Breakfast is included in the price, WIFI is free.Three lounges and the terrace offer a pleasant relaxation.The cook will make you enjoy Moroccan cuisine, daily special or specialties, barbecue terrace or glass of tea contemplating a sunset over the Atlantic, small fishing boats leaving ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Le Cheval Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing