We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome for tired travellers....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad du Pecheur Safi

Save Saved
You added Riad du Pecheur Safi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad du Pecheur Safi
1, Rue des Cretes, Safi 46004, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Safi B&B and Inns
Tynemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome for tired travellers....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

On a surfing road trip through Morocco we found ourselves driving way North from the Sahara and ending up in Safi because of a good swell that was forecast for that area. Through our hosts in Morocco we were hooked up to stay at the Riad du Pecheur as guests of Mehdi the owner.

We arrived late at night after a long drive and walked into a tranquil and very pretty compound with a small garden, fountains and lovely night time lighting with tables and places to sit. The rooms we were given were large, comfortable and very nicely decorated, and the chefs in the restaurant had prepared a delicious 3 course meal for us and had some cold beers ready and waiting! Just the sort of welcome you need after days on the road.

The few subsequent days here were spent surfing the amazing waves of the area, then returning to the riad to relax on the lovely balconies overlooking the bustling port and old medina (which is within 5 minutes walking distance of the Riad), before eating the lovely food prepared for us.

If i ever find myself back in Safi again then this is the only place i would stay...it was a shame to leave after 3 days, a home from home on the road......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    22
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
37
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

On a recent surfing holiday myself and a few friends had the fortune of finding Riad du Pecheur.
We arrived late in the evening, not expecting any eating options at that time of night yet it was no trouble for the chef to open the kitchen and provide us with an amazing 3 course meal. The rooms were of excellent standard and the service simply outstanding. The owner, Mehdi has a large area for sports equipment or oversized baggage and it was pleasant to know he also has security surveillance on entrance. Throughout our stay we felt safe, secure and very well serviced..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A wonderful place thanks to the love put into decorating each room in a diffent - but always very beautiful - fashion. The service is excellent and amiable and the riad is placed in a very central location. I enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

On a coastal Moroccan bike trip, my boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. Since it was October and pretty low season, we were the only ones in this hotel and got the room above the reception area with a gorgeous view. I think the other rooms has nice views too. We had a lovely meal near the fountain and even got our laundry done (although we were promised it dry, but they had hung it out to dry and it wasn't dry, which wasn't great for us, since we were biking). We got a nice plate of fruit delivered to the room and some room service too. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and gave us a good rate since the place was empty. It was a little bit noisy, being close to the main road, but we didn't have any issue sleeping. All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stopped there thinking staying a few days and we stayed 10days..! Nice rooms in a beautiful garden, nice food and the most important: mehdi the owner can bring you everywhere you want! You just have to ask, visit ,surf spot, luxuary place around...in one sentence , we just felt like home..in the family , 2days..he became a friend!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place is amazing, and by far the best tourist accommodation in Safi. Because Safi is not a tourist center, it does not have many options in terms of hotels. The Riad (or Ryad) du Pecheur, though, is on a par with any of the lovely riads you'd find in Essaouira or Marrakech. The owners have gone out of their way to make it a beautiful, comfortable, welcoming place. They only opened it a couple of years ago, so it's all quite new, even though the core of the building is an old consulate from the 1930's or so, onto which they built a wing and a new story. Because I lived in Safi 20 years ago when I was a Peace Corps volunteer, it's just incredible to me that there's a place like the Riad du Pecheur in Safi now.

The Riad du Pecheur offers all the mod-cons you'd expect of a high-end place. One thing that stands out, though, is its restaurant. Our breakfast was huge and delicious, with traditional Moroccan breads and pastries and even harira soup. Everything was served in beautiful Safi pottery, since the family that owns the riad also happen to be the leading pottery-makers in the town. (Ask about the studio and shop in the potter's market.) Dinner was equally delicious, with lots of seafood and fish specialties due to Safi's seaside location. (Note, You do not have to be a guest to eat at the riad.)

The only drawback to the Riad du Pecheur is something over which the owners have no control -- the ugly storage facility at the Safi port across from the riad. This spoils half of the view from the rooms. Luckily, the view in the other direction is quite beautiful, of the medina and the pottery hill. Apparently the industrial part of the port is going to move south of Safi in the next few years, and there will be only a marina for pleasure boats in town, which will be a vast improvement.

Mehdi, the manager of the riad, is an expert at water sports, including wind-surfing, so ask about lessons. His team is very helpful in planning your visit around Safi and to the nearby towns. The riad is located a couple of blocks or so outside the medina walls, near the pottery market and the center of the old medina, so walking distance to most sights.

On my future visits to Safi, I will definitely stay at the Riad du Pecheur again. It's the type of place where you can imagine kicking back and staying a couple of weeks, not because there's major sight-seeing, but because both the town and the riad are just nice places to relax and soak up Morocco.

Room Tip: Every room is different so check them out before committing to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

This charming ryad with nice terraces, garden,decoration, ... is situated right besides the medina of safi. Parking is next to the ryad.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. We got a free upgrade to a bigger room.

The room itself was very spaciousand luxurious but in need for some maintenance and renovation. One of the aircos/heaters didn't work, a few lamps were broken. But most of all : the bathroom wasn't clean (toothpaste on the tiles and in the sink, ... ) Also, there was a terrible, moldy smell coming from the bathroom.

We had dinner and breakfast here - both were very good !

In short : charming ryad with a few shortcomings that could easily be fixed with some more eye for detail...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad du Pecheur Safi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad du Pecheur Safi

Address: 1, Rue des Cretes, Safi 46004, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Safi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Safi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First guesthouse officially classified in Safi "old diplomatic house". The warm and green life in this Riad takes place around a magnificent fountain of the flowery patio, surrounded its fabulous arrangement of palm trees and cactuses and orange trees. An amazing atmosphere will let you appreciate the authenticity of the Moroccan Architecture and gastronomy.Our Riad is located in the heart of the Bay of Safi, a stunning view of the castle, sea port and fishing the surf spot known worldwide . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad du Pecheur Safi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad du Pecheur Safi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.