We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garden and the Sea B&B Inn to your Saves list
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lovely B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent two nights at Garden and Sea, the house and gardens were lovely, the breakfasts delicious, Innkeepers were friendly and helpful, suggested restaurants for dinner and helped us to plan our visit to the National Seashore on Assateague and Chincoteague. If you are traveling with a dog they are very pet friendly. Enjoy your visit.

Room Tip: The Nelson room was spacious with double sinks and a claw foot tub/ shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
151
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We traveled here to the Eastern Shore not knowing where to stay. I read some reviews and we decided to stay at the Garden and Sea Inn. We got one of the least expensive rooms and it was the best room that we have had yet. The inn keepers were lovely and the grounds were spactatular! This B & B should be in the Select Registry! We visited Chincoteague and ate at Steamers. My husband said we will return again and we will definitely stay at the Garden and Sea Inn in New Church Virginia.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nelson room. It had a very large bathroom. The room was very large and bright. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I recently came to the Garden and Sea Inn to stay as we celebrated our honeymoon on Chincoteague and Assateague. Everything was simply wonderful! We stayed in the Champagne room, and it was large and beautifully decorated, with a nice bathroom.

The grounds in general are great. Everything was well kept and the landscaping quite nice.

Last but not least, the breakfast! Every day was different and delicious. The German cuisine was a unique touch. Additionally, there were a lost of refreshments free throughout the day: Cookies, soft drinks, port, and other snack foods.

Met and far exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: We only have tried the Champagne room so far, but I'd recommend it personally, as it is on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Garden and the Sea Inn for a week when we visited Assateague Beach and it was the perfect choice. It's very clean, gorgeous landscape, and very quiet. The innkeepers are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. It's just a short drive to Chincoteague/Assateague but it is out of the hustle-and-bustle of the main tourist attraction so you have plenty of time to relax and enjoy peace and quiet. The property is very roomy and the rooms are beautifully decorated and full of character. We stayed in the Chardonnay room and loved it! The bed is huge and extremely comfortable and the bathroom is fit for a king. I would recommend this place to absolutely everyone. I don't have a single complaint and will definitely revisit this inn if I visit the area again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. It is a hidden gem- everything is exactly as stated on the website, or better!
We hope to return again. The accommodations were excellent, the food superb, and the hosts were so welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Found this place because we needed a dog (grey hound) friendly place to stay near the NASA Wallops facility (near Chincoteague). The Garden and Sea Inn exceeded our expectations. The various accommodations for dogs (allowed in the room , have several acres for walking, and fenced area adjacent to pool) can't be beat. Though the facilities are very nice, its really the attention and effort put forth by the Inn owners that made us feel immediately comfortable. Lastly, if you stay here, don't miss the breakfast! We will definitely return the G&S Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Already planning to return here next summer. The inn is beautiful, spacious, clean, and has many nice extra touches most b&bs don't even think of (port wine for sipping, bath salts, beach chairs, cold creamers in the fridge to go with your in-room coffeepot...) Innkeepers are nice and helpful - and the breakfast they served was gourmet. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden and the Sea B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.