We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden and Sea Inn; July 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garden and the Sea B&B Inn to your Saves list
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 New Church B&B and Inns
DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Garden and Sea Inn; July 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Found this place because we needed a dog (grey hound) friendly place to stay near the NASA Wallops facility (near Chincoteague). The Garden and Sea Inn exceeded our expectations. The various accommodations for dogs (allowed in the room , have several acres for walking, and fenced area adjacent to pool) can't be beat. Though the facilities are very nice, its really the attention and effort put forth by the Inn owners that made us feel immediately comfortable. Lastly, if you stay here, don't miss the breakfast! We will definitely return the G&S Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
147
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Already planning to return here next summer. The inn is beautiful, spacious, clean, and has many nice extra touches most b&bs don't even think of (port wine for sipping, bath salts, beach chairs, cold creamers in the fridge to go with your in-room coffeepot...) Innkeepers are nice and helpful - and the breakfast they served was gourmet. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I had a great time - the innkeepers were really hospitable, the breakfast was amazing (fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, homemade bread and THEN a main course - we never had lunch after eating all that!), and the room was really charming. Great place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was looking to going to Chincoteague for a relaxing weekend and stumbled across this B&B online. I am so glad I decided to stay there! It was absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The gardens were fantastic and the rooms, and parlors were beautiful I wanted to take my dog and this is a pet friendly B&B which actually makes your pet feel wanted - provided dog dishes, treats and towels to clean them at the door if they got dirty. They even have a kennel right next to the pool so the dog can be in there while you swim. They thought of everything! I stayed in the Chantilly room which was decorated in a very romantic decor and had an amazing bathroom with 2 pediastal sinks and a 2 person whirlpool tub which I enjoyed both nights I was there! They will even prebook a boat trip around Assateague for you when you make your reservations. Their dining room is beautiful and I can't say enough about their delicious breakfasts. The couple who own the place are German and cook some German dishes which were very good. They were also very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to! I have already referred several people to the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This inn has a great location for visiting various locations on the Eastern Shore. It is about 15-20 minutes to Chincoteague Island and about one hour to the Assateague National Seashore (where they allow pets on the beach). We loved the Chardonnay room, which has a cathedral ceiling and skylights over the jacuzzi. It also had a handicapped accessible shower. The innkeepers provide everything for pets from blankets to towels and treats. Pets are not permitted in the pool area, so they have dog kennel/run outside that you can see from the pool. They provided excellent guidance on pet-friendly activities (restaurants, beaches, boat ride).

The breakfasts were fantastic--eggs benedict with smoked salmon and asparagus one day, then banana pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup the next, and individual bacon quiches on the last day with a buttermilk biscuit.

Another special feature of the inn was the dining room and small kitchen for guests in the Garden House. Since our dining options were limited with the dog, we were able to do take-out from Ray's Seafood Shack and eat in our inn's dining room that evening. It was the perfect solution!

Room Tip: We really liked the main Victorian House, specifically the Chardonnay Room on the first floor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Last minute weekend getaway planned by my Sister. We had two rooms on the second floor across from each other. Owners are wonderful, treat you like old friends. Food was amazing. Easy to get to from the Tidewater area and the food in Chincoteague is outstanding. Highly recommend this property if you need to destress, unwind, find your inner peace, or just sit still. Perfect trip at the perfect Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Still one of the most charming and inviting places we've been! Thomas and Doro are the warmest innkeepers and really make you feel right at home. We have stayed in several different rooms and just love the grounds, the pool and all the lovely amenities. Love that they are pet friendly as well. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Pick rooms with the king beds! They are sumptuous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden and the Sea B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden and the Sea B&B Inn

Address: 4188 Nelson Road, New Church, VA 23415
Location: United States > Virginia > New Church
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Church
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden and the Sea B&B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian near Chincoteague Island! Escape to the Garden and Sea Inn for an elegant, yet casual respite. Enjoy our spacious rooms with large private bathrooms, mostly with jacuzzi. Visit the Eastern Shore's charming, quaint towns and marinas - we are ideally located for those who plan to visit not only Chincoteague Island, but also the rest of the Eastern Shore. Relax on one of our porches or at the heated outdoor pool. Pets welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Garden and the Sea B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden and the Sea B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.