We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly heaven on earth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Beldi

Save Saved
You added Dar Beldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Beldi
douar moulay adessalam | boite postale N°88, Oualidia 24252, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Oualidia
Milan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not exactly heaven on earth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked here because of the reviews of tripadvisor and I would say it is ok for one night only.
The place is well kept but the room was humid and smelly (I guess it is due to the sea and nothing they can do about it).
Breakfast was good and the staff kind.
We has a big unconvient situation with one of the owners
This place is impossible to find even with the gps so one of the owner sent us a map months ago when we booked. Unfortunately we forgot that and our gps couldn't find the place.
We searched for 1 hour and half (I am also 8 months pregnant!) And we finally found it.
The "gentleman" opened the door and started to accuse us that it was just our fault if we couldn't find the place and that he normally never haa problems with French and Britons(???!)
We were highly offended because we are Italian but english breeded and his comment was highly racist.
I wouldn't recommend this place for tourists who don't come from Paris or London...
Too bad because in front of two tired customers he could have said "sorry you couldn't find the place" or "you must be exhausted".
Anyway it is his problem not ours.
We are leaving and we won't come back again.
The other owner was really nice to us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    24
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
92
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calenzano, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional staff,excellent location,wonderful breakfast. Just a bit far from the beach,but the hotel is in the middle of the true oualidia. Staff could speak only few English,but they try in every way to give you the feeling like home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in room «Youssef». Great room in an excellent hotel, with a relaxing garden. Guy was very helpful and kind. The hotel is located a bit outside the tourist-spot, which was perfect for us, as we wanted to see the «real» morocco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a week at Dar Beldi and loved it. Beautiful place which is clearly a labour of love for Pierre-Yves and Guy and their staff - the garden is absolutely stunning. Our room (Hicham) was lovely with a nice sitting area attached where we could shelter from the heat of the sun - or use the terrace to sunbathe. It was also great to have a fridge and kettle. We liked Oualidia a lot too - it doesn't look like much when you first arrive but stick with it as it has lots to offer the curious tourist! The lagoon is lovely for swimming, surf lessons are good fun and there's a decent selection of restaurants by the beach for fresh grilled seafood. Up in the town there are plenty of small restaurants and snacks for tagines and kebabs. It's a really nice, laid back place, with incredibly friendly people. Lots of Moroccan tourists which adds to the fun atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Youssef room for 1 night. We were in Oualidia for a total of 12 hours and in that short time we were incredibly impressed by this guesthouse and the hosts and wished we could have spent more time there. The guesthouse itself is absolutely beautiful – filled with exotic plants and flowers, very spacious, with lots of areas to sit and relax. Guy was a wonderful host – he made us feel extraordinarily welcome, gave us a great recommendation for dinner, and even offered to drive us when he found out that we didn’t have a car. He didn’t bat an eye when we asked if it was okay to have breakfast at 6:45 in the morning because we had an early bus to catch, and the other host (whose name we didn’t catch) offered to drive us to the bus stop. It’s only about a 10 minute walk to where the CTM bus picks up and drops off, which is in front of the Hotel Beach View which is on the map that they emailed us before we arrived. We were able to pay by credit card which a lot of places don’t accept. The only tiny complaint that we had is that the bed was a bit firmer than we would have liked, but that’s a personal thing and we had a good night’s sleep nonetheless. We hope to visit Oualidia another time and would absolutely stay in the Dar Beldi again! The hotel website is not currently listed on TA but can be found here: http://darbeldi.free.fr.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from staying with Guy at Dar Beldi and had a wonderful time. The hotel is perfectly put together with lovely rooms and fantastic garden areas. There is a nice roof terrace with sunbeds and a lovely glassed-in room in case it is cold with games and lots of music CDs. There are also films in a downstairs sitting area and kettles with tea and coffee so that you can sip a drink whenever you wish. Guy and his staff are wonderful hosts who will run you down to the beach in a car, provide a lovely breakfast, tips on what to do, arrange surf school for your children and keep them entertained with the dog Jojo, cat Giclette and 6 tortoises. Nothing is too much trouble and Oualidia itself is exceptionally nice. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is one of the loveliest places I have stayed when travelling. We were welcomed so warmly, and our needs prempted and met at every turn. The place is charming, so carefully sculpted and cultivated to create little areas of tranquility within its walls, a beautiful roof top terrace, and individual outside spaces for each room, each with lush plantings, personal touches and furnishings.It is clearly a labour of love to both tend to the charm of the garden and rooms and to ensure visitors enjoy their time in Oualidia which is a beaitiful unspoilt little gem of a place on the Atlantic coast, the lagoon offering safe swimming and sea food pleasures. The hotel was a little away from the beach front restuarants and lagoon activity, but Guy was ready and willing to drop us off, and bring us back, though we were also happy to take the chance to walk once we knew our way around. I didn't want to leave, the whole experience was so relaxing and the location so tranquil.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Beldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Beldi

Address: douar moulay adessalam | boite postale N°88, Oualidia 24252, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Beldi: Within a 3 hundreds yards walking distance from the lagoon and its beaches, Dar Beldi is located in the center of the tiny Médina in the Moulay Abdessalam quarter of Oualidia. The owners succeeded in recreating the ambiance of an original "Riad" in assembling 3 small traditional houses around an exotic, luxurious and fragrant garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Beldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Beldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.