We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Oualidia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Oualidia to your Saves list
La Sultana Oualidia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parc a Huitres No3, Oualidia, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Worcestershire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We only stayed at La Sultana for 3 days, but wished we'd booked for longer.
Everything about our stay was excellent, from the welcome by the hotel manager, to the superb food, to the stunning location.
We would absolutely recommend anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    36
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
54
180
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

During a visit in Morocco, a friend invited me to spend two days at La Sultana Oualidia. We were privileged to be booked into the suite on the top floor, with the lift having a direct access into the sitting room; Accomodation and amenities are superb, as well as all the surroundings on the estate. Excellent food. Had a lunch on a private beach only accessible by boat. The whole stay was quite an experience. Hope to be back soon. Marc Greilsamer

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Super location and wonderful food. Two comments:

Music – despite a breathtaking setting for the outside eating area (overlooking a lagoon with the sound of birds and waves in the distance) they insisted on playing poor quality ‘hotel music’ loudly at all meals. Titanic theme tune, the sound track from the 80s film ghost, not only did this negate the point of staying somewhere so peaceful, but it lowered the quality of the hotel as this sort of music is not worthy of a SLH. We asked for it to be turned off, only to be told the other guests wanted it. We asked all of the other guests, who confirmed that they too, hated the music and would love for it to be turned off permanently. The manager got involved and seemed more keen to blame a member of staff than to listen to the guest feedback. We had several days of peace, then the music started again. Once again we asked the other guests if they wanted music, to which the reply was a resounding ‘no’! Once again we struggled to get it turned off.

Service – see above (Sultana Marrakech) for examples of good service. The Sultana Oualidia gave us information in our room on the activities in the area which were listed as kayaking and boat trips to the other side of the river/lagoon. In fact, there are two companies in the lagoon that offer quad biking, surfing, paddle boarding, fishing, walking, and many other activities. The ‘boat trip’ consists of someone taking you over the lagoon and leaving you to walk around, then coming back to collect you. The cost is £10 and you can swim over in under ten minutes at high tide, less at low tide. We asked several times about activities and the concierge knew nothing about the two companies in the area. We ended up finding out the information ourselves and thus enjoyed the stay. Combined with the poor service about the music we left feeling as if this hotel is only part of the SLH group as it is linked to the outstanding Sultana in Marrakech. The only member of staff here who is polite, courteous and helpful is a lady who works by the pool and in the restaurant at breakfast with braces on her teeth. After we expressed an interest in the birds, she found a brochure on the birds in the area without being asked. We had already asked reception if they had any guide birds, to be told (surprise, surprise) that there was no such book. We feel the staff at the Sultana Marrakech should be sent to Oualidia to train the staff there.

We may return to this hotel, but only if we have confirmation no music will be blasting out in the small collection of tables at the edge of a lagoon filled with bird life.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Who knew such a paradise existed? This is the perfect place - albeit not easy to get to - for the Type A person to unwind, because after the first day a "spell" takes over and you don't want to leave. Rooms and decor are comfortable and cute, linens divine and cool. Location overlooking a lagoon where locals go digging for clams is serene and just breezy enough.
Staff is very friendly and eager to please, and ambience is casual elegance. Local seafood is featured including rock lobster and unique crayfish.

The hotel is really a small inn which looks like a bastide in southern France - lots of atmosphere, but not glitzy, just charming enough to warm the spirit without overkill. Quiet, restful, lazy days. Amen.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I came here for 2 nights of our 2-week long honeymoon in Morocco. We were very disappointed in our experience. We stayed at 6 different hotels throughout our stay and must say that this was by far the worst value of all of them. The "beach" and I use this word loosely was small and during low tide became a marshland. Felt like I was in the "Meadowlands," hardly a place I'd want to venture for a relaxing vacation let alone my honeymoon. Atleast the Meadowlands offers Sports Entertainment. The only entertainment here was in the form of the waiters fumbling over our orders like I was Charlie Chaplin and I had mimed my choice to him. The first night we dined there, I was brought out a Pastilla, which sounds nothing like the Sea-salt crusted "Dorade" I ordered. After straightening out the order, the fish was presented and fileted tableside. After plating, I noticed that certain parts of the flesh were near raw. When I told him, he told me that this is how they serve it but would cook it more for my liking. After another 5 minutes, it came back and was actually quite good ASIDE from the fact that my wife's seafood boulliabase came out 25 minutes prior to my dish. The timing was about as good as having your parents tell you their getting divorced on your wedding day (hypothetical.) Furthermore, the salt-water jacuzzi's in the room were not working for the better part of a day we were there and the water that they were pumping through the gutter-like system they had running throughout the property smelled of Sulfur. The final straw was when I opened my safe on the last day of our trip to find that we were missing $150 dollars out of our little bag, which carried all our valuables. While it could have happened between the time we dropped off our bags to be taken to our room and the time we got into our room after getting a tour around the property, I am without doubt that it was stolen at La Sultana. When I confronted the staffer on duty at the front desk who had given us the tour, he said it was impossible as there were "two" cameras in the lobby and then asked the bell boys/cleaning ladies directly in front of me as though they would jump at the chance to confess their misdeeds. Long story short, don't waste your time and money at this cracker jack operation. The service is poor, the finishing of he structure are haphazard, and the location is a joke. No wonder people recommended that Essouiaria and Agadir were better options. Stayed at Kasbah Tamadot in the Ansi Mountains and that is a REAL luxury resort, not one that fronts as one. Oh, and internet was down for half of the day as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We decided to spend 6 nights of our 2 week honeymoon at this hotel. If we could have left after 1 or 2 we would have. We even tried to arrange this.
The only thing going for the hotel was the infinity pool - which was great, but looking over the stinking lagoon at low tide was not so appealing.
Service was poor. The staff tried hard, but there was clearly a lack of management. The only time we saw the manager was when we left.
We were very disappointed with our room, which had no view, dirty bed sheets and peeling paint off fibreclass outside chairs.
The food was very poor - the heavy dew meant wet chairs and linen every night. The menu never changed for the 6 nights we were there and it all tasted the same, and was very very expensive.
The most frustrating thing for the hotel was being able to see a lovely sandy beach the other side of the swamp and not knowing how to get there - we were never offered a boat trip etc.
For a hotel with only 11 rooms, we expected a much more personal service.
The worst problem by far was the flies however. They were everywhere - not just over the food. They would land on you wherever you were - even your face when swimming in the pool. They were round the sunbeds, the restaurant and on the balcony. We had to resort to spending hours in our room because it was just too unbearable to be covered in so many flies all the time.
We enjoyed a lovely massage in the spa, but the service wasn't friendly - we just seemed a bit of an inconvenience.
We were bitterly disappointed - this was meant to be the holiday of our dreams - we just couldn't wait to leave and get home!
We really wouldn't recommend it. If you must insist in going - make it a maximum of one-two nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

ONly space available at the swimming pool for 18 people. Guess how people can fit in 11 rooms... Very poor restaurqant on the beach with high range prices. Out of the market and not the right place to ask for such money. Not very educated staff. The french guy in charge of the restaurant admiited that it was difficult to look for good people in this snmall village and educate them. Seems to be like in the colony time!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Oualidia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Oualidia

Address: Parc a Huitres No3, Oualidia, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Oualidia 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your La Sultana Oualidia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Oualidia Hotel Oualidia
La Sultana Hotel Oualidia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Oualidia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.