We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Needs Attention to Detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana Oualidia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Sultana Oualidia to your Saves list
La Sultana Oualidia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parc a Huitres No3, Oualidia, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Still Needs Attention to Detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

The hotel is new - only opened in April 2007 and therefore is still experiencing teething problems. We had hoped that these might be ironed out after 8 months of operation but sadly this is not the case.

Firstly room descriptions - do not be mislead by the term Junior Suite. None of the rooms are suites in any sense of the word. These are luxury and deluxe rooms with terraces.

Next the bathrooms. The standard "Junior Suites" do not have a bath - shower only. The premium "Junior Suites" do have a bath however the owners allowed themselves to be guided by a designer who has opted to cover the entire bath in stones and shells therefore these are unuseable - who wants to sit naked on stones? Also the drain is slightly proud of the bottom of the bath and therefore this never drains correctly. I would suggest that the baths are removed or refaced to something that works and is hygenic.

There are Jacuzzis everywhere - on each terrace and some by the pool however once again these are lined with stones and pebbles and are curved with no sitting area - sadly I would suggest that these will rarely get used.

In our room the windows did not fit in the frames corectly and indeed in one case the frame was not sealed in the wall - this meant that there was a constant draft - in fact a howling gale during the stormier part of our visit - this definately needs addressing. The shutters had not been finished in that some had closures others did not.

There was a large patch on the wall of our room which the manager advised was due to damage during the last rains - again this should be addressed.

Heating - the manager advised that a lot of money had been spent on the heating / cooling system in each room however the units did not in any way appear to have a heating mechanism despite the manager insisting I climb a ladder to put my hand in front of the grill and prove there was a little warmth. After much discussion over a 24 hour period a heater was finally delivered to our room.

The good points - yes there are some. The outside space is amazing and well designed. The staff - whilst some are still a little new overall they are friendly and in some cases very professional and in other cases do try their best. The food is wonderful - breakfast lunch and dinner can all be recommended.

This hotel would be great in warmer weather as is geared to outdoor living - in the winter, especially during the heavy rains there is nowhere to go inside and maybe an indoor bar could be a thought for the future - a roaring fire looking at a stormy sea would be a great way to spend a cold wet afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    36
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
54
180
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

A very nice hotel with excellent staff, lovely cuisine, a pretty setting. Great for bird watchers and those who want a good rest. Excellent spa treatments and pool. The reception service and restaurant service is excellent. There is not much outside of the hotel complex and lagoon though.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — It took a long time to heat the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

La Sultana was absolutely gorgeous. The entrance sign is very hard to see, particularly during the day, and when you turn down the road you think you're going to somewhere dodgy - fortunately you as soon as you see the hotel you get over this! The pool is beautiful - perhaps a little cold. Food is great - particularly breakfast which is delivered straight to your room for you to eat on your private balcony.

My only complaint was that it was very noisy in the mornings as work is still being done - we were woken up with loud banging on a few mornings. I'm sure this won't last much longer.

I would definitely recommend visiting this hotel and I hope I get to return!

Note: if you get a massage be prepared to strip of your kit and wear a g-string with no towel covering you. I'm not sure if this is how things are normally done in Morocco but they certainly aren't in Australia! Women - they also massage your chest which I found a bit odd.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — Noise!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

The hotel is situated down a dusty track but when it comes into sight it does look quite magnificent. The view overlooking the lagoon is fantastic. On arrival we were shown around the resort whilst our bags were taken to the room. We found the hamman was not operational nor was there a gym as advertised on the websites. Unfortunately there was also no air conditioning operational in the suites. As we were not aware of this before arriving, the manager gave us a 20% discount on the rate when we questionned it. The hotel itself is very nice and will be even better once fully completed and once a few teething troubles have been ironed out. There were very nice touches such as a straw beach bag with sun hats provided for use around the pool and a written overview of news from home was provided at breakfast. Also nibbles and canapes were provided with evening drinks.
The swimming pool is fantastic if not a little cold and there are comfortable loungers and large double bed loungers around the poolside. This makes it difficult to leave the pool area! All rooms have a small jacuzzi on the terrace which is filled by sea water (heated and cold water). Apparently you are only meant to fill it when the tide is in!! There is another pool which is described as being inside however is open up to the sky. It really is quite stunning to look at with all the pillars and tasteful style.
Overall this will be a good hotel. Service was fairly good with the occasional glitch. You order something but something slightly different may arrive. It would also be useful to have some command of the french language as although the staff tried very hard, they didn't always understand what we wanted.
Breakfasts were a full on affair where you could have fruit and yoghurt, omelettes or eggs and an array of pastries and breads. The orange juice was amazing.
At the moment this hotel is in its early stages. The hotel didn't promote what, if anything was in the surrounding area so it ensured a very chilled out and lazy holiday. Sometimes that is what's required! We did however venture into Oualidia town but there appeared to be very little else there and is largely an undeveloped place.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — not totally completed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

This is a gorgeous beach-front property with beautiful rooms, a stunning pool and great food. Highly recommended to anyone who wants a top quality beach retreat in Morocco.
Positives:
1. Top quality new hotel. The hotel was completed in May 2007 in traditional Kasbah style. The build quality is top-notch and the rooms are beautifully furnished.
2. Delightful pool area. The infinity pool overllooks the laguna. There are lovely loungers and double beds around the pool.
3. Great food. The restaurant serves delicious food at very reasonable prices.
4. Jacuzzis! Most of the rooms have a private outside jacuzzi, and even if you don't get one, there are 5 or so around the pool that you can fill up yourself and enjoy.
Some minor gripes:
1. Service still a little 'green'. The staff are all lovely, but seem to still be learning about operating a luxury hotel. I have no doubts that small initial problems (no service by the pool, a bit slow with breakfast) will be ironed out shortly.
2. A little isolated. The property is a long walk from the main beach and town. However, it is in the best part of the laguna, and there is no real reason why you would ever want to leave here anyway.

  • Liked — Pool, Jacuzzis, Style, Food
  • Disliked — Hard to complain at all
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

As we drove down the rocky road to La Sultana we were confronted by the scene of a gang of workman stil costructing the top floor of the hotel! Not a good start.
However, after a tour and a concession of a 50% reduction in the bill we decided to stay. We were also the only people in residence for our entire 3 day stay! As it trned out this was the best decision we made in Morocco.
This will be a fantastic place to stay when it is completed in May / June. The staff were terrific being very friendly and always helpful. The manager made every effort to make us feel comfortable in a deserted hotel and arranged for our meals to be in a different location in the grounds on 2 nights.
The food was the best we experienced in Morocco and the chefs take on traional moroccan cuisine was the star of the show.
I would recommend La Sultana to anyone. Probably best to give it a couple of months though.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sultana Oualidia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sultana Oualidia

Address: Parc a Huitres No3, Oualidia, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Sultana Oualidia 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your La Sultana Oualidia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sultana Oualidia Hotel Oualidia
La Sultana Hotel Oualidia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana Oualidia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.