We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ostrea II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oualidia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Ostrea II
Save Saved
You added Ostrea II to your Saves list
Parc a Huitres et Coquillages 007, Oualidia, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Oualidia
Essaouira
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Real cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a real restaurant. With a chef who knows how to cook, to grill, to surprise. Try the soupiere a huitres, des huitres gratinées, le plat royale avec langouste, langoustines, crevettes etc. We certainly come back as often as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sidi Ifni
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've been coming here for years and find Ostrea II is still the best place to eat oysters and seafood in Oualidia. The cooked food is less appealing but we adored the new crustacean platter. It included crab, langoustine, shimp, langoustes, all perfectly cooked and fresh. The cooked fish and foods on the menu are less interesting. We come here primarily for the oysters. As to the hotel, the rooms are clean and modern with comfortable beds, but nothing special, except for the wonderful view over the lagoon. If you like to take a nap in the afternoon, stay away as you hear conversation and music from the restaurant below all afternoon. Breakfast coffee improved but we were disappointed that eggs were no longer available for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

On the recombination of the owner of our Essaouira riad we stopped by for this snack driving up to Casablanca and did not try other menu choices. We shared a dozen oysters and they were great, fresh tasty and free of shell debris.. Also had octopus salad and that was evidently over cooked to begin with and therefore tough. .But, ahhh, the oysters!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went here because it is recommended in all the guide books. The evening was a disaster. We were the only clients, yet the waiter could not be bothered to serve us until called repeatedly by the chef. Our starters were acceptable, but nothing beyond that. One maim course, a soupiere of oysters, consisted of four shrivelled oysters (this is supposed to be an oyster farm!) in what apppeared to be luke warm cream. The other ish, spagettis aux fruits de mer, was on the verge of being off, greasy and just smelt off. At this stage we just left the dishes being too demoralised to complain to a waiter who had consistently demonstrated he ccouldn't be bothered. Incidently although the wine list sshowed four moroccan roses only an indifferent and overpriced french VDQS was offered.
When we told our hosts of our experience, they told us that two other sets of clients had voiced similar complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

I enjoyed the oysters they were very good and the staff was friendly.. The other seafood was also enjoyable, especially the calamari

  • Liked — The restaurant was nice
  • Disliked — did not stay here =( too expensive
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

an absolute gem of a find. fantastic location, although the rooms are very basic, they are immaculately clean, and excellent value. (crisp cotton sheets!!)
the staff could not have been more accomodating and friendly, and as a result of our initial visit, have been back twice, with another trip planned in a fortnight.
the food is unbelievably wonderful, and fresh, and great value.

all in all, we could not fault it!

  • Liked — the friendly staff and the great food
  • Disliked — rooms are rather small but very clean
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ostrea II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostrea II

Address: Parc a Huitres et Coquillages 007, Oualidia, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostrea II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;