We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, resturant very poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant

Save Saved
You added L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant
Oualidia Plage, Oualidia 24250, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Oualidia
Mohammedia, Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice hotel, resturant very poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we have stayed at the hotel at least 7 times and ate at the hotel resturant.
The hotel rooms are nice and owner is very nice and helpfull, each time the food has been amazing untill the last visit.
unfortunately we went back at the weeked the owner is still there very nice pleasent etc the FOOD! was awfull, to the point all 4 persons meals were barley touched (starter/main and desert) , they have changed the chef, what was an amazing eating experience has now turned in to a drinking mans bar run down resturant!
I would stay at the hotel again but as far as the food in the resturant I would strongly reccomend to eat else where.
lets hope they wake up and sort the problem out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It took me a while to decide which hotel to choose in Oualidia. In the end I chose L'Initiale and was really pleased I did. I was a bit put off by the price, thinking it is so cheap that it can't be that good. However it was really nice. The owner Isabel is really friendly, laid back and happy to help you with anything. The rooms were all on one floor. The rooms are very simple, extremely comfortable and spacious, each with a little balcony and a view of the lagoon. The rooms all have a TV. The bathrooms are small, but one of the fantastic things about this hotel is that it is spotlessly clean. The position is great, just a two minute walk from the lagoon, maybe less than 2 minutes! We ate at the restaurant and the fish was extremely fresh, service wonderful and food excellent. If you are looking for a glamourous, hotel with lots of facilities, this is not the place for you, but if you like clean, pratical simple hotels, with good service and a great restaurant and don't want to spend too much money this is a number one choice. I would give this restaurant a vote of excellent on the basis of position, cleanliness and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We really liked tho hotel. The owner was very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant was fantastic. According to the Lonely Planet, the restaurant is one of the best in the city. I'd absolutely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a review of ONLY the restaurant as we have not stayed at the Hotel.
Went for a quiet dinner with my fiance', even though the Hotel is situated right next to the lagoon there is no tables with a view of the lagoon. On the contrary all seating has a view of the street next to the Hotel. The menu was very limited and frankly speaking with regards to other Moroccan eating i would say that the place is grossly overpriced. We ordered the moroccan salad (which ended up being a french cousine looking small ..very small salad on a big plate) barely enough for one person (as a starter) let alone two people. Clams ordered where ok and fresh and so was the crAb ordered for the main dish. My fiance ordered a bbq beef. General though all portions are small and dissappointing. We ended up paying around €40 (we drank tea) which for Moroccan standards is way overpriced for the amount of food we got. Even though the cooking is ok , the service provided and the setting do not excuse the pricing. Would not return and do not recommend it. You may eat fresh fish at a quarter of the price from bbq stalls right by the beach next to the restaurant or even go up in town and have a bbw meat feast again with a quarter of the cost.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent several days in oualidia and ate in this restaurant twice. Although it does not have a sea view, it has a very pleasant outside seating area and the service is excellent. The menu is heavilly fish and sea food oriented and they do an excellent soupe de poissons with all the trimmings. The thin based pizzas are also highly recommended. Altogether very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Part IV of mine and my boyfriends Moroccan adventure! After a very long drive from Ait Ben Haddou this was the first place we saw and booked a room for two nights. The rooms and bathroom were a bit small, but comfortable. There was only one or two rooms with a view of the sea, but unfortunately we didn't get it. If you want these rooms you need to book in advance. Food is of excellent quality, breakfasts are also very nice. The staff are very helpful, and the beach is only a couple of minutes walk away.

Our original plan was to stay in Oualidia for a week, but we wanted to live in a rented flat rather than a hotel. But we didn't trust the husslers on the street, and rooms didn't seem to live up to the price they wanted. What makes this hotel very good is the French lady who owns the place - even though we thought she wouldn't help us find another place to stay, she went out of her way to call friends and in the end found us a perfect flat with a roof and even haggled the price down! In return, whenever we weren't having shisha and chawarma in the nearby shisha cafe we would go to this hotel and buy as many beers as we could drink from her bar! She was very kind, which from our experience makes all the difference in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Quiet place, wonderful landscape, wide beach, fresh sea food - this is a very short characteristic of Oualidia. And hotel l'Initiale - one of charming elements in it. It was a pefect little hotel in perfect place for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Oualidia Plage, Oualidia 24250, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > Oualidia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Oualidia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Initiale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Initiale Hotel-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.