We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Asmaa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kasbah Asmaa to your Saves list
Kasbah Asmaa
Route d'Er Rachidia, Midelt, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Midelt
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Comfortable, quiet despite the highway outside, beds good, bathroom plumbing interesting. Pool filling while we were there so didn't investigate. Breakfast OK- dinner comfortable and they had trout as well as the usual tajine and cous cous offerings. Free wifi in the foyer and lots of tapas type goodies to keep you going.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
16
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

When it was first built it must have been great. Luxurious gardens, stylish building, swimming pool. But now it looks like it was abandoned after a war & had just reopened without any restoration work taking place. The floor tiles in the garden area are almost all broken, the gardens overgrown, the doors to the rooms have had large painted numbers daubed on them, there is no hot water despite waiting the requisite 10 minutes. The staff are just about ok. The food wasn't bad. However, it's well located as a stop over between Fez or Marakech and Merzuga & it's a little bit like staying in an old colonial home & if you're not expecting the Ritz you will probably be fine here. It's obviously popular with organized tour groups.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed as part of a group tour. The room we had was marvelous; ornate door, two-room suite with sunny exposure for the sitting room. Very quite, very clean. Lots of complimentary nibbles while we sat in the lounge with tea or drinks before dinner. The food was good. The breakfast was the best we had in Morocco. Fresh fruite, breads, meat, cheese, hard-boiled eggs (omelttes were special order), etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Do not expect the plush hotels you can get in Meknes or Ouarzazate etc, you are more remote here, on the edge of the Sahara even, so be realistic.
If you are, then you are in for a great experience, yes its basic, but when the fires are going, the food comes and the music plays its worth 'roughing' it for one night. The decor is classic moroccon and the hospitality I was shown couldn't be faulted.
I plan to take my wife here one day, (when we tour Morocco) and I can't wait, please go and enjoy a taste of Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were last here in 2005 and since then the rooms have remained as shabby but it is much warmer than the January of our previous visit. The food was plentiful, traditional and good and the service much improved. If you want boutique hotel luxury this is not the place for you but it is quirky and has everything you need. Including a nice car park which we always need!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonNZ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here one night in August as part of a tour. When we arrived we were given a free 1.5lt of water which was very appreciated. My room was on the second floor and overlooked the pool. The room was large, with a balcony. There was great storage space so it meant you could get your bags stored away off the floor.
The bathroom was massive with a large bath.
But the best thing was the linen on the bed...it was soft and smooth. Not like the normal scratchy stuff you get.

Tip: Beaware of the boy with the goats. I was out on the balcony taking pictures and this boy waved at me on the other side of the hotel fence. I waved back and took a picture of the hills then he started yelling out for money for the photos I was taking. And he went on and on...even after I went back into my room. Eventually he came into the hotel and harrassed some of our tour group for money for photos...(they had taken pictures of the scenery too and he had seen them) Checky...but somewhat annoying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beautifully situated and stylish hotel with lots of charm. Huge rooms, average bathroom with 'moroccan plumbing'. A little bit run down, but that adds to the atmosphere.
Not your 4 of 5 star hotel by Western standards, but if you find this a dreadful pit, than you didn't see much of Morocco. Those people better stay in the Hyatt, Hilton or Club Med and never leave the premisses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Asmaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Asmaa

Address: Route d'Er Rachidia, Midelt, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Midelt
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Midelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kasbah Asmaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Asmaa Midelt
Kasbah Asmaa Hotel Midelt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Asmaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.