We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to me in Mauritius” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Whatever

Le Whatever
Cap Tamarin, Place CAP TAMARIN, Tamarin, Mauritius 1906
483 78 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Tamarin
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Wine bar, restaurant, cellar. Terrace, air con,wine list more than 100 different french wines from the best wineyards served at low prices.Cuisine bistrot, fresh fish and fresh food.Situated on the West Coast of Mauritius
San Francisco, California
1 review
“The place to me in Mauritius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What an experience!
Heard about this restaurant from tons of people on the island but never had the opportunity to go. However we found the place by luck and took our chance by taking reservation for the night (a must on the weekend!) . What a good idea it was! My friends and I had such a great time, we are and will come back to Le Whatever for a long time to come. The food was top quality and even if it was really busy the waiters were doing their job just fine. The wine menu is literally amazing with great comments on the menu but from the owners in person as well. Also had a great talk with the chef at the end of the service, which is not seen everywhere. Nothing else to say, definitely a place to remember!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It took hours for the food to come”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We first came to the restaurant in a good mood. The atmosphere was great and we were shown to our table. Yet, in took the single waiter 10 minutes to get us the menu. Understandable, but questionnable because later customers were served first.
It took at least a better part of an hour for the first course to arrive. Of course the mood had dampen considerably compared to when we had first arrived here. And guess what? The main course still hasn't arrived and we've been here for at least 2 hours. That calls for some serious thought about coming here again

Food is okay, prices raised some eyebrows, atmosphere was good at start but the service was terrible.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Food was great, service good and the wine menu excellent. i was there at lunch time and although not very busy it was amiable. It also has an indoor air conditioned section for those who dont feel like sitting outside in the midday heat. it was appreciated.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic en Flac
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice setting in Tamarin. Great menu but not value for money. Portions also tend to be small.
Incredible wine list at good prices but we have had wines that were on the border of being off.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Gourmet French Food in a shopping centre Carpark...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We found this place by accident, on the road between into tamarin. It was surprising in that the menu and style of the place are really high level. We ordered seafood ravioli as a starter which was divine, and then steak (excellent) and fish (high quality but covered by too much oil for me) for mains. The restaurant is also a wine bar and had a wide range of excellent wines by the glass. Overall would really recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Whatever also viewed

Tamarin, Riviere Noire District
Tamarin, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Le Whatever? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Whatever, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.