We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for a better stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Addy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark Addy to your Saves list
The Mark Addy
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for a better stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mark Addy for four nights for our honeymoon in July 2013. We had never really stayed at a bed and breakfast before, and the experience was above and beyond anything that we could have expected. The hosts were so helpful and gave us great advice on what to do as we had never been in the area. They went above and beyond the average necessities to provide for us and make our stay fantastic. Our room, Schloss, was beautiful, and although this is a pet-friendly room I honestly didn't notice any pet hair whatsoever in the room. It was beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed and lovely furnishings. The dining room where we had breakfast each day and dinner on one night was beautiful. The dinner I has there was probably the best meal I have had in the last 5 years. The gardens were beautiful, and the setting very relaxing and refreshing. We cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    57
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
17
194
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 2 wonderful nights at the Mark Addy Inn. The setting is very peaceful and relaxing and Leslie and Rafi are wonderful hosts. We had a wonderful dinner there for my birthday; the food was excellent. Also a 3 course great breakfast is included with your room and you will not go away hungry. We hope we will be able to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Jardin room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Four of us enjoyed two days at the Mark Addy Inn while doing some wine tasting in the area. Our hosts, Leslie and Rafi, couldn't have been more accomodating. The house is full of wonderful antiques and each bedroom is well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts by Chef Rafi were two of the best we have ever had at any B and B. From the spacious front porch, we enjoyed a glass of wine overlooking the beautiful grounds and great view if the mountains. A great mini vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Mark Addy B&B and had a wonderful experience. Leslie was very warm and friendly and Rafael is a wonderful cook. Julia, who helps them was also very friendly and helpful. They sincerely seemed to want to do everything they could to make our time there enjoyable. Our room was nice and clean, the food delicious and the atmosphere relaxing ...what more could you want!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from our 17th visit to this B&B. We love the location and the warmth of the house and hosts. The area is developing into a packed venue of interests. We hike, bike, golf and visit the wineries and cidery that are nearby. Leslie and Rafi always make us feel welcome and like family. House-sitter, Julia did a great job as well. We have already made reservations for next year!

Room Tip: we have stayed in the 'Rue de Monet' the most and love it. Its not the largest, but the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mark Addy last weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rafael and Leslie were extremely warm and gracious and it was obvious that they worked tirelessly to keep their guests happy. I am a vegan, which can be tough on a chef, but Rafael prepared a fantastic breakfast that included fresh fruits and vegetables straight from their garden. We absolutely loved the location on the BREW Ridge trail and were so happy to have transportation provided by Tours for Tunes so we could drink responsibly. We loved going to Wintergreen Winery and sitting by the creek while enjoying wine and cheese with crackers - it was like a fairy tale picnic. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about, but we sensed the place was well taken care of and VERY clean. The gardens, including the wedding path, were well weeded and full of seasonal flowers. The breakfasts were really good and there were PLENTY of muffins and croissants to go around... some people even had THIRDS! We will definitely tell our friends about the Mark Addy and plan to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Leslie and Rafael are wonderful hosts. They made us feel like personal guests in their home (which is kinda the case) since they live there. It was our first time at the Mark Addy. We stayed in the Schloss for two nights. The room was beautifully arranged, and had a lovely private porch we wish we had taken more advantage of. Breakfast is delish––first morning we had eggs benedict, second morning a quiche, with plenty of treats and coffee refills. We also took advantage of the winery scavenger hunt package which was fun. The vineyards around are great. Nellysford, and the Mark Addy specifically, are a great destination if you want to get away from the city for a weekend. We highly recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellysford
11.6 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#1 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Inn at Darden
The Inn at Darden
#6 of 33 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
22.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 33 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#6 of 9 in Waynesboro
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958
Location: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Addy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.