We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Addy

Save Saved
You added The Mark Addy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mark Addy
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Nellysford B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Four of us enjoyed two days at the Mark Addy Inn while doing some wine tasting in the area. Our hosts, Leslie and Rafi, couldn't have been more accomodating. The house is full of wonderful antiques and each bedroom is well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts by Chef Rafi were two of the best we have ever had at any B and B. From the spacious front porch, we enjoyed a glass of wine overlooking the beautiful grounds and great view if the mountains. A great mini vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    45
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
13
163
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Mark Addy B&B and had a wonderful experience. Leslie was very warm and friendly and Rafael is a wonderful cook. Julia, who helps them was also very friendly and helpful. They sincerely seemed to want to do everything they could to make our time there enjoyable. Our room was nice and clean, the food delicious and the atmosphere relaxing ...what more could you want!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from our 17th visit to this B&B. We love the location and the warmth of the house and hosts. The area is developing into a packed venue of interests. We hike, bike, golf and visit the wineries and cidery that are nearby. Leslie and Rafi always make us feel welcome and like family. House-sitter, Julia did a great job as well. We have already made reservations for next year!

Room Tip: we have stayed in the 'Rue de Monet' the most and love it. Its not the largest, but the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mark Addy last weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rafael and Leslie were extremely warm and gracious and it was obvious that they worked tirelessly to keep their guests happy. I am a vegan, which can be tough on a chef, but Rafael prepared a fantastic breakfast that included fresh fruits and vegetables straight from their garden. We absolutely loved the location on the BREW Ridge trail and were so happy to have transportation provided by Tours for Tunes so we could drink responsibly. We loved going to Wintergreen Winery and sitting by the creek while enjoying wine and cheese with crackers - it was like a fairy tale picnic. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are talking about, but we sensed the place was well taken care of and VERY clean. The gardens, including the wedding path, were well weeded and full of seasonal flowers. The breakfasts were really good and there were PLENTY of muffins and croissants to go around... some people even had THIRDS! We will definitely tell our friends about the Mark Addy and plan to return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Leslie and Rafael are wonderful hosts. They made us feel like personal guests in their home (which is kinda the case) since they live there. It was our first time at the Mark Addy. We stayed in the Schloss for two nights. The room was beautifully arranged, and had a lovely private porch we wish we had taken more advantage of. Breakfast is delish––first morning we had eggs benedict, second morning a quiche, with plenty of treats and coffee refills. We also took advantage of the winery scavenger hunt package which was fun. The vineyards around are great. Nellysford, and the Mark Addy specifically, are a great destination if you want to get away from the city for a weekend. We highly recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Mark Addy is a beautiful place to relax and reconnect with yourself, your family and your friends. My husband, 7 year old son and I enjoyed 2 nights here recently. We sat on the front porch and were mesmorized by the chaning mountain landscape while our son enjoyed playing in the sun and fresh air. The hosts were extremely accomdating to us and were delightful to talk to. Leslie told us about Wintergreen winery just down the road. My son and I went. I relaxed with some wine, cheese and crackers while he played in the creek and with the other children. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh. We had a wonderful quiche one morning and eggs benedict on the second morning. In the morning, when we were ready to leave, our vehicle wouldn't start. As soon as it was possible (we had to wait for other guests to leave as we were parked between the two other cars) Rafi brought his jumper cables and assisted us on our way. This was such a wonderful experience. We will definitely be going back. Try it out for yourself as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. Some have semi private porches or balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We're not really B&B folks, but we had an expiring Living Social offer and so went there in late August. There's nothing really wrong with it... it just wasn't that memorable for us. It's definitely a quiet location and the service is friendly, so if you're a B&B type then maybe it's for you...?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mark Addy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Addy

Address: 56 Rodes Farm Dr, Nellysford, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Nellysford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nellysford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark Addy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Guest room inn on Nelson 151 - Virginias vacation Destination - with 7 wineries, 3 craft breweries, a cidery and a distillery within 8 miles. Situated in Rockfish valley with views of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Fine Dining Restaurant on premises. All rates include a 3 course breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Mark Addy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Addy Hotel Nellysford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Addy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.