We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up Close and Personal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Safari Park

Virginia Safari Park
229 Safari Lane, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
540 291 3205
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Trams, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Drive along 3 miles of road, feeding herds of free-roaming animals from your car, such as antelope, camel, deer, elk and llama! Walk through the 10-acre Safari Village and see tigers, cheetah, kangaroos, primates, reptiles, a wide variety of birds and much more! Don’t forget to feed the giraffe and visit the petting barn! We’re located in the Shenandoah Valley, a short day trip from Roanoke, Lynchburg, Staunton, Charlottesville, Richmond, Maryland and DC.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was a terrific attraction! It had everything- animals, food, animals eating food in little tiny buckets that you hold in your hands :-) The camels were a big hit as were the elk. The llamas and alpacas chased us down the road and made us feel wanted! All in all, a terrific adventure. Don't forget to do the walking safari tour as well because you get up close and personal with the kangaroos.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    75
    6
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the ride and the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband (who is not an outdoors person, nor animal lover) decided to take a trip to Natural Bridge, VA with our 2 children, ages 12 and 15 for Spring Break. I Googled all kids of places and decided to visit Safari Park (especially since I'm an animal lover). We were expecting to see and feed only a few (sick/neglected) Llamas, maybe a cow and a few deer. Boy was I WRONG! This was a wonderful adventure! My family and I saw and experienced animals that we didn't even know existed or at least we didn't know the proper name for them. We were AMAZED at how gentle the animals were. When we saw the "horned" mammals, every part of me wanted to turn around and leave for fear of damage to my vehicle. There was no damage and there were rangers on standby for any difficulty that might occur. The only thing I saw were animals standing in the middle of the path that wouldn't move, but no threats at all! We will be taking that 3.5 hour ride again in the summer to visit our new favorite place in Virginia!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend a fee hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is our second visit- and just as great as the first! The walking safari village is compact- but has a varied collection of beautiful and interesting animals. The drive through park is fabulous as you feed and touch the numerous animals. Be sure to buy LOTS of feed buckets- you can easily go through 8 buckets in one trip through. Remember you can drive through as often as you like in one day. A truly unique experience and fun for all ages! The camels, bison and some of the elk WILL take your bucket, so use a bucket with only a little feed in it for them. That will ensure that you have food for the whole journey. Gift shop is actually nicer this time than last but mostly what kids want. Bathrooms are clean and neat. The snack shop is a little expensive but decent. The gas station just outside the park has a vacuum for a buck. You may want to clean your car, but it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinson, Alabama
1 review
“As close to natural habitat as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very well designed. Animals are extremely healthy and friendly. Best Bactrian camel collection I've ever seen and you are able to actually pet and feed them all. Love it!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful animals live in a well-maintained park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am the ultimate skeptic about zoos and animal parks. I hate the zoo and seeing animals in cages. What we experienced at the Safari Park was very nice. All the animals looked extremely healthy and content. It is a bit pricey, but the park and the facilities are spotless, the staff friendly and the management seems very efficient. I would keep small children away from the camels, although they are behind an enclosure, they are pretty aggressive towards those plastic bins of food. They pull them out of your hand, eat the food and the container as well! The giraffes are amazing as are all of the other animals So beautiful and cool to touch up close. There was a family of kids that were screaming every time they got near an animal, that was awful. If you have screamers, stay home. If wild animals cannot live in their natural habitat, this place is a fine second home.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Safari Park also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Safari Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.