We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Temperature Problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Room Temperature Problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Traveling with a wheelchair bound person with oxygen we stayed four nights at the NB Hotel rather than move from hotel to hotel. While the grounds are nice, the place peaceful and quiet, and the restaurant very good, there were some problems. First, we reserved a "standard room" quoted at $81 per night. We were given a "mountain view" room on the 3rd floor for $99 per night not what we requested. The 3rd floor room was hot, around 78 to 80 degrees and we had a hard time sleeping. When we mentioned this to the front desk we were told this was an "old hotel" and they had either heat or air conditioning and that the heat had been turned on for the season. We ended up turning off the heat and having to sleep with the window open. Front desk not very helpful Hotel has only one elevator so be careful when traveling with disabled persons or elderly who may have problems walking steps if the elevator would not be operating. Next time we'll be staying in Lexington at a more modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    98
    62
    81
See reviews for
143
166
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Beautiful Lobby and dining room. Breakfast was top notch. Room was older, yet very clean. Satifactory comfort (double beds only for "Getaway Packages") Package included The Natural Bridge (as many trips as you like--located just across the street from hotel--under road tunnel walkway), Wax Musuem, Caverns and Breakfast. Staff was nice and attentive. Sitting area outside in front next to main entrance. The grounds were clean and well kept. Over all--nice find!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

WE stayed there one night for our anniversary check in eas easy and quick HE A/C. room was nice . only thing was ,that day was a little cool. the a/c was on and it was cold in our room. The heat wasn"t turned on yet for the season . So we turned off the fan and opened the door to get some heat out of the hallway.SOME.W we took in all the attractions. the bridge tour was nice but there was a goat stuck up on a rock side had been there all day ,a woker told us there had been a lot of people complain bout needind to get , the goat down .But ,nothing had been done about it . check out was easy and quick. the front desk was very helpful and polite to give directions.very convient to a small town called Glasglo . if on a budget I"d recomend going to the country cafe to eat dinner very country like and good food.good. the breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

My wife an I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our vacation in August and was disapointed. The hotel is showing it's age and needs a make over. The rooms were neat and clean but are showing there age. There is no pool and the property is also ageing and because of its size is difficult to matain. We did get a nice package to Natural Bridge attractions that did include complentry breakfast for 2 days. The resturant attached to the Hotel is very expensive and the food average.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our last vacation before school begins, got off to a horrible start. We had originally planned on cabin camping at a near by campground. However, when we got there, we were welcomed by a dirty, cockroach infested cabin. Note: this was at 1:30 AM. We began to panic because we had our two children with us and home was 3 hours away. So we got on the internet (on our phone) and found THE NATURAL BRIDGE HOTEL. I called reluctantly at 2:00 AM and spoke with the front desk clerk. We knew on Labor Day weekend there was no way they would have a vacancy. The woman who answered the phone was incredibly helpful. She checked to see if they had a cancellation and the our surprise they did! We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and WONDERFUL staff. They did inform us that the room we had might not be available for another night and that we would have to call in the morning to see if they had another cancellation. The next morning we called downstairs and they immediately started working on getting us another night. Not only were we able to stay another night but they arranged it so we could stay in the same room.

The location of the hotel is conveniently within walking distance to the Natural Bridge. The only negative as far as the condition of the room is that it was an older room however it was clean and comfortable. We travel on a regular basis and have NEVER found a more HELPFUL, FRIENDLY staff as we did at THE NATURAL BRIDGE HOTEL. We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be returning in a few months. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were looking for a place between CT and ATL that would break up our drive with a little something to do. We were traveling with a dog which can cause a little issue but the cabins across the street were perfect for our needs. The rooms are nice size 2 dbl beds no kings, but the beds are soft they need replacing. Bathrooms are bathrooms clean with a small shower. No internet access. No Frig. No Microwave. Yes small coffee maker. Great food at the Hotel. $10 for the breakfast buffet and on Saturday a fantastic seafood buffet. If you want something cheaper there is a little deli in the Large Gift shop with a variety of food reasonably priced. It's one or the other really it's a one horse town. The attractions were fun IMO, Natural Bridge is great, Caverns are cool, Wax Museum is nice. You can cover all in one day and if you want to take a drive to Cavern Mtn Lake. We enjoyed it

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Natural Bridge Hotel has its good parts and its bad parts. Among the good parts are the restaurant which offers outstanding dinner entrees. The rooms in the main portion of the hotel are fine as evidenced by a visit to them the morning of our departure. What definitely needs sprucing up are the plaza rooms. The good part is the balcony, an excellent place to people watch your fellow hotel guests. The bad part is the rooms themselves, only minimally adequate. The bathrooms are old-fashioned, ill-lit and somewhat dirty. The matresses and pillows are lumpy and the remainder of the furnishings have seen a lot of wear. If they fixed up the plaza rooms, they would bea good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.