We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature is Amazing!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
florida native
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nature is Amazing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

My family & I stayed here one night as part of our roadtrip. The hotel has a lot of history behind it. I enjoyed the room with the view of the mountains. We explored the historic natural landmark " Natural Bridge". It was a great walk that lead to a waterfall. You will see an Indian village during your walk. We saw a chipmunk,black snake & several different fish in the water.Keep your eyes open to see various animals etc.George Washington carved his initials in the landmark & you can see where it is. The gift shop is unique. We ate dinner at the "Cadillac Diner" not too far from the hotel. It had a "50's theme". The milkshakes were good. The restaurant served a delicious breakfast buffet. The only downside was the pool. It is located indoors under the giftshop. You have to walk thru a tunnel that goes under the street, walk thru the giftshop & downstairs. Once you are there it's an olympic size pool. It is heated. There are caverns located here to. We didn't see them. We went to Grottoes, Va. to see their caverns. We would stay here again. The room was decorated with antique furn. The service was exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    96
    98
    62
    81
See reviews for
144
166
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

My family and myself stayed there on 4-20-07 and ate in the dining room for the seafood buffet. It was horrible. The food was like rubber and it was over priced. They ran out of food and it took forever to replinish. I asked to speak to the manager and the young lady working in there said she was the manager. I told her my concerns she was not interested. She said they were short staffed and that was the problem I personally do not care if they are short staffed. We paid good money to eat there. So don't go on fridays because the are SHORT STAFFED!!!!!
Our rooms were very nice and clean, the drama was wonderful, little pricey though.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

I stayed at the Natural Bridge for business. We had a big meeting at te facilities. I worked some with the planning, and everything was great planning the event. The sales staff, espically Tammy was one of the best I have ever delt with, but when we got there, it was a different story.... The place is run down, dirty, smelly and the water is not useable. If you are thinking about going there DO NOT DRINK THE WATER. There are signs up from the health dept about the water, it says you must boil all water from the property. I didn't know about this until the 2nd day. AFTER I had been up all night with stomach problems. I addressed the issue with the food and bev director Dave ( I think) and he acted like I didn't even exist, the girl that was handling the banquet, was fussing and going around saying that she didn't have enough help, and compaining about us being there. I guess they didn't need our business. I asked to speak to the GM and the front desk told me " I didn't want to talk to her, so was the worst one here, and she is hateful" I just kindof laughed if off, and spoke to the sales dept. Again, they were great, Tammy tried to uphold the property and make me as comfortable as she could. At this point, I just told her that we would probaly never be back. They could use a face lift, and get some professional employees to work there.

  • Liked — the actual bridge
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

We made a last minute decision to stay at this property and used a Travel Discount Guide coupon for our room. Often, this means you get a "lower class" room and this hotel was no different. The room was average, the bathroom was very small. The shower was a simple stall, no tub. The toilet flushing was very loud. Beds were average, although the sheets and towels were clean and fresh.

There is not much to choose from in this area, and it is right across the street from the Natural Bridge. For this reason, I would recommend this hotel, although I have stayed in better places.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We just returned from a 2-day, 1-night stay in Natural Bridge, VA. What a waste of time and money! The website made it sound like such a nice, peaceful getaway and that's what we were expecting. That's not how it turned out! The lobby in the main building of the hotel was very nice and the employees were friendly enough, but, of course, our room wasn't in the main building. We were in a different area, on the third floor, with NO elevator, and it was set up like a motel - all outside corridors! The size of the room itself was OK, but the bathroom was the size of a closet - and forget taking a shower! I am 5'3" and weigh about 115 - I could hardly move in the shower! I still haven't figured out how my 6'3" husband did it! And, forget flushing the toilet - you had to pump the handle several times to get it to empty! Overall, the room was very basic and really showed its age - very old and worn. And, I only saw one bug!

The Natural Bridge itself is an interesting sight, but the views in and around it simply aren't worth it. I don't believe we were quite prepared for all the walking, nor were there any signs telling about the shuttle, which will take you from the building to the bottom of the hill (and back up). We discovered it quite by accident - and it would have been nice if someone had mentioned it, or if there had been signs advertising it! The water along the sides of the "trail" was almost non-existent. I realize there isn't any control over the amount of rain, thus, the level of the water, but it was so empty, it made for a rather "ugly" backdrop. Speaking of rain, the light show was scheduled to begin at 9:00. We arrived early and waited patiently, taking our seats in plenty of time. About 8:15, it began to sprinkle, then rain, then pour, so everyone ran for cover! Unfortunately, no one was communicating with the soaking-wet crowd as to whether the show was going to be cancelled, or simply postponed. We waited until about 9:30 or so and simply gave up! In this modern age, don't they have access to radar? Couldn't they have seen the storm coming, made a decision whether to cancel or postpone, and told the crowd?

After all of this, my husband really wanted a drink! We went to the main building since we had seen signs for a lounge. Well, the Dining Room required reservations and numerous signs made sure everyone knew that, but when I asked at the front desk about the lounge, they told me it was IN the dining room and required reservations too! What kind of lounge requires reservations??

The Wax Museum was interesting and had recordings explaining many of the scenes - I had never seen that before, and it was a nice touch. Can't say the wax figures themselves were all that impressive, though. Most of the time we had to hear the descriptions, or read the plaques to figure out who the people were. The factory tour was rather disappointing - you simply walk through on your own and look at stuff. I expected a factory to have people working and making things, but they weren't there when we were! The Toy Museum reminded me of a flea market or something similar. It was full of old, junky toys for the most-part, and was dirty and stunk! On the positive side, it was rather empty - no crowds!

We were going to stop by the Caverns on our way out. They opened at 1000, and we arrvied about 1004...and apparently, they are quite prompt, because the first tour had already left! Rather than waiting 25 minutes for the next tour to leave, we decided to simply leave. We had had enough!

Two-days and one-night was really too long in this place! If you go to the bridge, make sure you get water before going on the trail - and wear the right shoes! I thought the food/drink place at the bridge area was probably the best part of the trip! They have free refills on drinks and the lemonade is delicious! They even sell beer - and you DON'T need reservations! And, they have a rather varied menu and everything we tried was quite tasty! The employees I encountered were very pleasant, although there aren't many of them! I suspect many people end up being quite disappointed with this place, since when I checked out, the lady at the desk didn't ask me how my stay was, if we enjoyed our stay, etc. She simply said to have a nice day! I guess if you don't want to hear the answer, then you don't ask the question!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed here for just a night as we wanted to visit the Natural Bridge as part of our holiday in Virginia. The hotel was perfectly fine. The building is nice, the rooms are adequate and the service was friendly and helpful. We had a balcony room in the main building but other rooms are available on the site. I was happy to stay in the hotel itself. The room was well equipped and the bathroom was of a good standard. This isn't a luxury hotel but it is certainly adequate, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was in the Colonial Dining Room and, at 7.95 dollars, was very good value for money. The breakfast staff was very helpful and courteous and took you back to when service counted. Stay here to see the Natural Bridge. I didn't see anything that would disappoint anyone.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria , virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

Do yourself an immense favor and don't stay at this hotel. It needs to be retired. Blankets paper thin, bed and pillow lumpy, radiator sounds like an jet engine, plumbing very loud --food at the hotel dining room was very bad --sent our ribeye steaks back as they were half fat and left hungry.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.