We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but could be wayyy better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent but could be wayyy better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel had a lot of pros and cons.
Pros-
• Convenient to area attractions
• Nice history
• Free breakfast if you buy the package deal
• Nice exterior
• Beautiful lobby
Cons-
• Rooms were showing wear
• Peeling wallpaper
• Halls had horrible carpet
• Stains on comforter
• Stains on carpet
• We found two giant hairs in each of our beds
• Ice makers were too small/ran out quickly
• Stains on decorative pillows
• The bathroom had no exhaust fan, so everyone knew your business.
• The toilets flushed violently and then the pipes shook like an earthquake.
• Our shower was not cleaned adequately, the faucet head had buildup underneath it, the drain was dirty, the grout on the bathroom floor was various shades of black to white. There was obvious pink buildup in the shower grout.

We were staying in one of the balcony rooms and where our room was located was right beneath the pillared part of the hotel, birds were roosting above and there was bird feces everywhere. We could not even enjoy the balcony due to fears of being pooped on and debris falling overheard. The balcony wasn’t even swept up for us, it looked terrible!
• Stained night shades
• One of our bed side lamps had a blown bulb
• 21 channels on cable!
• Breakfast was mediocre
• Dinner was absolutely appalling, I had the shrimp and grits which had mushy shrimp and extremely salty grits. My wife’s vegetable medley was more like a vegetable mash.
• Parking was limited
• You had to wait to be seated to have breakfast which was ridiculous because there were available tables!

I am only reviewing to allow the hotel to see its flaws and bring itself up to what travelers are looking for. Travelers are better off driving 13 miles away to the nearest town to a big name hotel for better and more cleaner accommodations. It was extremely overpriced for what the accommodations were. You can get better rates in Vegas and have more as far as cleanliness and overall wear and tear in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    96
    98
    62
    81
See reviews for
144
166
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The outside of this hotel was extremely misleading. When I pulled up it was beautiful and inviting, but the charm ended once I checked in. Clearly the money for this hotel is only put into the lobby and exterior. The elevator smelled horrible and the lights on half of the buttons were not working. Once we arrived to our floor the carpet was terribly stained and wallpaper was peeling from the walls. After reading the reviews I realize they are renovating and perhaps my floor hasn't been renovated yet, BUT there is no excuse for what we walked into. The bathtub had so much soap scum built up the bottom was slippery, there was hair in the drain, our bedding was dirty and had crusty looking blood stains (which when we brought it to the manager on duty's attention she said they were clean), the lights in the room were burnt out as well, the window looked like it hasn't been cleaned in almost 100 years with spiders making a home in the corner, and the uncleanliness did not stop in our room. The restaurant was having a seafood buffet which smelled rotten and stunk up the whole hotel, so we did not done there that evening. However, we did have breakfast the next morning, or at least attempted to. When we walked in the waitresses were all hanging out in a room to the right, sitting down and chatting, but eventually we were taken to our seat. Thankfully I looked down before I sat down, because my seat was covered in disgusting stains. My husband looked in his water glass before taking a sip and found brown particles floating in his water. Sadly we had had enough and grabbed our son a cereal bowl and checked out. Once we checked out we were over charged and spoke to the manager on duty who did not appear to care about the disgusting conditions of the hotel or our satisfaction. Stay away unless you bring your own cleaning supplies. All of our dirty encounters were photographed and posted.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The tub was filthy, the beds were stained and uncomfortable. We paid $125 for a room that was worth about $50. We were told that breakfast was free and had to pay $30 for a biscuit that you couldn't even eat!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaturalBridge, General Manager at Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear 304 JOYE:
I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience at the Natural Bridge Hotel. I am Embarrassed that you had such a bad experience, and would like to apologize. We are presently undergoing an extensive renovation that will bring this hotel back to its grandeur, however it appears that we fell short on your visit. Our family packages do include breakfast for the entire family, served in the Colonial Dining Room, it appears that your family was not here under this special. Please contact me for your next visit to the area, and allow me the opportunity to make your next visit right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were on a group tour, we stayed there last year and the dinner buffet and hotel were nice. This year a whole different story, There is new management and things are not the same. The hotel halls and room had big areas of stained carpet. Also the dinner buffet was terrible. The food was not cooked properly, you couldnt even eat the chicken or cut the ham, They served frozen pies which were terrible and still frozen solid. The butterfly exhibit was closed, we walk the trail which was very nice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel was in a superb situation, but showed signs of faded grandeur. It has recently come under new owners and their plans should if they go ahead restore the hotel to its rightful place.
The local attractions at the bridge and the Caverns were well worth visiting and could be easily done in one day.
All the hotel staff were exceedingly helpful and the hotel was badly let down by the quality of its food.
The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the views from the balcony were stunning.
The package price of $129 was very good value

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The only helpful person was the front desk lady we had when we checked in. The room was OK but the WiFi didn't work at all. At breakfast they sat all 4 of us at a table And told us to help ourselves. When we came back to our table they had sat another couple and moved all our stuff. When I tried to talk to someone I was told, just go sit somewhere else. There were 5 servers and no one came to our table to fill our glasses or ask if we were OK. It was pretty sad considering they look like such a beautiful hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you are going to Natural Bridge for an overnight trip, the hotel is worth it. Right now, the hotel features a family 4 pack. If you stay at the hotel, you can get a room for as little as $129 and you get 4 adult tickets to the attractions (Natural Bridge Path and Caverns) included and a free breakfast buffet. That makes the price of the room very comparable to others around the area. The hotel is dated, but it has charm to it. We had dinner in the dining room, because we didn't want to drive anywhere else. Dinner was expensive, and food quality was only average. Eat before you arrive, and you will maximize value. I had 5 in my party, and we upgraded for $20 more to the balcony room. Our room contained 2 full size beds, but I brought my air mattress. Be warned: The room is very small. We did feel cramped and uncomfortable. The beds were comfortable, but my wife and I are used to at least a queen. Rooms are dated, but we found them to be clean overall.

I would go back again, but next time, I would prefer to do it as a couples getaway versus a family vacation. I liked the history associated with the facility. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Several room types: Standard, Cottage, Balcony, and Mountain View. Go with one that overlooks the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.