We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value only if you get the package deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Natural Bridge
Cicero, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good value only if you get the package deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is the "only game in town", so if you're here to see the attractions and want an overnight, there is nothing else around. It is close to Rt. 81, so if you're passing through, it's a good overnight stop, but there is nothing else there except the hotel and the attractions. On the surface, the hotel looked beautiful. The lobby was grand and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had booked a package which included tickets to all of the attractions, a balcony room, and breakfast for two for $129 including taxes. Can't argue with the value because if you added up the admission charges for all the attractions and the breakfast for two ($25), the cost of the room was essentially zero. That being said, you get what you pay for. The room we had booked had an odor (like a dog or cat had been there), the balcony was very dirty with a high brick wall that if you sat down, you couldn't see the view, the sliding doors did not slide, and there were stains on the carpet. Because the odor was so bad, we went back to the front desk and asked for another room. There were no other balcony rooms available (not that we wanted to be on a dirty balcony anyway), so they offered us another basic room with a mountain view for $10 less. That was fine--we now paid less than $119. The second room was OK--nothing special--one of the draperies was ripped from the rod and left hanging, there were stains on the carpet, the toilet was extremely loud, and the bathroom had been regrouted, but done very poorly. The other areas of the hotel (hallways, dining room, etc.) were in need of some touch-up paint. There were many chipped paint areas visible all over the hotel--a good maintenance man with a bucket of paint and a brush could have corrected this in a day's time. We had dinner in the tavern, which was very nice and much more intimate than the large formal brightly lit dining room. Food was good, nothing outstanding, but the usual pub fare. Breakfast was served buffet style in the formal dining room and was a very nice assortment of hot breakfast items. In spite of giving our breakfast voucher to the waitress when we sat down, she presented us with a bill at the end of our meal. When I reminded her of the voucher, she apologized and said she had forgotten. We owed nothing, but left a small tip. The attractions (the Caverns, the Natural Bridge, the Wax Museum, and the Butterfly Garden) which were all included in our hotel price were all worth the visit. To see all the attractions, you need to get there by at least 1 o'clock, as some of them were closing by 4:30--we never did see the Butterfly Garden as it was closed by the time we did all the others. Check-in at the hotel is not until after 3 p.m., but they will give you your attraction vouchers at the front desk anytime before 3 p.m. We were there in the fall, which is their off season, and the price we paid for the package was well worth it, but if one were to go in peak season during the summer, this hotel is not worth the high prices they charge. Certainly not worth more than a one-night stay. I would only give this hotel an excellent value rating if you book it with a package for one night, otherwise maybe only a poor or average rating at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view, but skip the patio/balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    81
    49
    72
See reviews for
128
135
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mitchellville, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The lobby looked very nice and the staff were friendly and professional. We reserved a patio King room and the view was nice. The bedding was clean and the room was spacious. There were some stains on the carpet and curtains that were a turn off. The breakfast was great. The hotel is situated close to all of the attractions so it's convenient. I prefer newer, more modern hotels, but it Natural Bridge this is as good as it gets.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay here! Our room was nice quaint and clean. The staff was more than helpful and friendly. The natural bridge and caverns was a thrilling once in a lifetime experience. Enjoyed the fall leaves and beautiful weather.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to see the leaves and the natural bridge attractions. Decent room. Ask for a upgrade to a renovated room and about discount packages. We saved a lot by adding the attractions package with breakfast included.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived very late at night and we had no problems checking in. The staff was very friendly. At first we thought we would be at the wrong hotel, because the entrance area was very upscale ! Yes it's true, the hallway and the rooms could use a little moreTLC but there is a reason for that! The whole area and the hotel is for Sale, so I do understand that there is no major investment done. It was clean and the view was wonderful . The breakfast was during the week Buffett style and very good. For everyone taste something . We had a very good deal. We stood two nights and booked the getaway deal, which includes breakfast and entrance tickets for the attraction. Because we did not needed tickets for the second day, they upgraded us into a room with mountain view and the breakfast vouchers for the second day. So if you do the math ( 2x $28 tickets 4x $10 breakfast vouchers ) we ended up paying $52 a night for 2! We have no complains other than the room was really hot and we had the windows open 24/7. If you looking for a nice relaxing time ( no nightlife) that's a really good spot! I hope that someone will take over, it would be a shame if the hotel and the area would be closed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Mile, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location, across the street from the Natural Bridge attraction. It has two sections, a newer one and the one that has been there a while. The difference in price is about $35 for the room. We stayed in the older section, which smelled musty, had a old mattress and was in bad need of upgrading. We were happy with the staff, location, etc but I chose the wrong section.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Lots of deferred maintenance, but the old Southern charm is still there. Food is acceptable and staff is friendly and helpful. Shuttle bus to bridge will come to front door upon request. Our room was so cold, we had to ask for a space heater, as the regular heat had not been turned on as of 10/9/13. The package rate is the best way to go, as it includes entrance to the attractions (except the zoo). Whole property goes up for auction in December, so go now to be sure of seeing it in its current state!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.