We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed opportunity” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Missed opportunity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the "cottages" across from the main hotel, listed as "great for family reunions, Scout trips, etc." Of course, the cottages are old, but the courtyard style and picnic areas would lend nicely to just such occasions. We were in fact on a Girl Scout trip, so we expected to rough it a little bit. However, there were roaches in two of the four rooms we booked, and the management said they were sold out, so no other rooms were available. -we were left to spray the bugs or move to another hotel - (all sold out, and we had tickets for Natural Bridge and Zoo). We toughed it out, but I would not stay here again. Upon returning home, I would not allow any suitcases in our house until thoroughly cleaned. Very sad, because so much more could be done with those cottages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    66
    42
    57
See reviews for
108
111
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the number 1 hotel by the "natural bridge" which is basically a large hole in a rock so there's a "bridge" above the hole. Think of a Polo mint and you get the idea. The light show is a radical christianity movement with the Genesis 7 day theme going on ( & god created on the 1st day.......) - really awful.

This hotel looks very grand , large and clean from outside. Inside there are lots of plaques remembering famous faces who had stayed there - many of these are from decades ago which is probably the last time they refurbished the rooms.

Most of the staff look like they died 10 years ago and are frozen each night & re-thawed in the morning to take you to your table for breakfast. Given there was approx 50 free tables, I think we could have made our own way there. As for reception staff, they read from a script and talk so fast you have to ask them to repeat themselves over and over again. The bar is rubbish & the staff there are no better - they shut at 9pm.

The Breakfast is the standard cheap rubbish you get from the $1.99 buffet restaurants but as least they do not pretend to be something they are not.

The rooms are just about adequate for the 1970's but if I was a Health and safety inspector, most rooms should be shut down. The doors, rooms & facilities desperately need to be cleaned/repainted/replaced. The bathroom has a sliding cheap door to open it whilst the enamel on the sinks and bathtubs has peeled away so be careful you do not cut yourself when using.

The mould in the bathroom sealant was a lovely surprise - I've seen cleaner bathrooms in a Crack House.

This place would have been acceptable in 1982 but not for 2013 standards

P.s. do not do any of the attractions - they are awful - no, I mean really, really awful. The place is trying to covert everyone to radical Christianity I'm a Catholic but this place was too intense - the Vatican city in Rome (where the Pope lives) is not as radical as this place).

Do NOT stay here - just book yourself into Lexington (see trip adviser for their number 1 hotel which is cheaper plus a real 5* hotel) and avoid this area completely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Since we planned to visit The Natural Bridge, this historic hotel is conveniently located across the street from the attraction. It has a very impressive exterior. We stayed in the main hotel. Our spacious, nicely furnished colonial style room was on the 3rd floor, with a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We did not eat in their Colonial Dining Room, but we did enjoy a cocktail in their Red Fox Tavern. The staff we came in contact with very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room we had was spacious and had a great view of the mountains(3rd floor).The hotel is an old victorian, so it could use some updating but is very clean and the bed was comfortable.Ours came with free breakfast which was a buffet or you could order from a small menu.We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was fantastic and the staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Great location for visiting the bridge or a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holyhead
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Abissmal service and over charged on the bill when leaving. We would not stay there again.
The waitress in the coloial dinning room was down right rude to us.
The food, when it arrived was cooked to a crisp, a burnt offering.
The duty manager had no idea when the manager would be attending the hotel for us to make a complaint. Nothing has been heard from the hotel managment, despite several letters and emails of complaint. We just found out today that the hotel is up for sale, no surprise there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although there were mixed reviews on here I really like the hotel. The only complaint I have was the parking. There was a wedding going on when we stayed so parking sucked. Apparently the wedding party stayed there to so parking was bad for the two nights will were there. We had a package deal which included breakfast as well as all the attractions. We got the breakfast buffet and it was amazing. Love all the attractions at Natural Bridge. I thought the hotel was very good. Room was very clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Natural Bridge.

Room Tip: we had a room with a view of the Natural Bridge and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Brochure reads "Hard to Forget" - Yes, for all the wrong reasons. Do not even think about going there. It is horrendous. Peeling walls, Balcony (yes we stupidly paid for the view). Couldn't see through the windows, roofing on it was rotting. Bath - I think pigs had swilled in it and then cattle used it as a urinal. Refused to pay for breakfast -it was terrible 26 USD - no way. Manager wouldn't face us. Left to staff to sort and they don't know their bottom from their elbow, we got there in the end and didn't pay for it. shouldn't have paid for the room either but put it down to a very, very bad experience. Anyone who rates this as excellent must come from another planet or completely nuts. I'd give it 0 stars but I don't think it's an option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Natural Bridge Hotel And Conference Center
Natural Bridge Hotel Natural Bridge
Natural Bridge Hotel
Address: 15 Appledore Lane, US 11 & 130, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Natural Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on-site of The Natural Bridge of Virginia. Visit the monumental National Historic Landmark & discover why photos don't do it justice, nor words describe it, and why the awe-struck Thomas Jefferson bought it. Packages starting at $129 for 2 people, $169 for a family of 4, offer a great value on attractions, overnight accommodation & breakfast. Just 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway; off I-81, exits 175 & 180. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.