We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“34 Floors Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
15 Appledore Lane, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
(540) 291-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caverns in the Shenandoah Valley that extend 34 stories underground.
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“34 Floors Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We bought the combo ticket to the attractions for Natural Bridge, VA from AAA for approximately a $10 per ticket savings, without even knowing which attractions we would enjoy most. The effort to get to a Virginia AAA office paid off! We toured the Caverns, a very short drive from the massive main gift store and parking lot located near the Natural Bridge. The guide was well versed in the details of the caverns and was clever to keep the attention of the group of various ages. The advertisement of the caverns being 34 floors down made some apprehensive of a major walk or tons of steps to climb. Fortunately the climb was very doable since the drop of 34 floors is measured from the top of the mountain to the bottom on the accessible area of the cavern. There were only a few spots along the tour that we had to duck of heads and watch our footing at the same time. People under 5' 3' tall should have an easier time avoiding the rocky ceiling. There were several bats to see hanging above our heads and also several stops along the tour for beautiful photographs. We enjoyed the tour which lasted about one hour and then returned to the main building down the road to see the butterflies, the awesome bridge, the hike to Lacy Falls, and the max museum. All total we were able to see this entire attraction area in about 4.5 hours, including a stop for lunch of burgers and grilled chicken sandwiches at the restaurant located at the base of the steps down to the Natural Bridge. I suggest you add an extra hour if you (or your group) likes to shop! The gift store is HUGE! Since this review is supposed to be about the caverns, please note that if you are short on time to make sure you see the Bridge first. It will take your breath away. The caverns were an added bonus!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    78
    61
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taylors, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had passed by this site in past years because it is expensive. However, this time we opted to pay and see both the bridge and cavern with our grandchild. The bridge is awesome, and the hike to the various parts of the site are very good. The indian village is very authentic and the guides are very knowledgable. The owners do need to use some of their funds to update and improve facilities. Bathrooms are old and very dirty.
We were less enthusiastic about the caverns. Our guide was not knowledgable and had problems relating to the children and their questions. She treated questions from adults and children as if the questions were stupid and really she did not answer them. Beware, if you have asthma, or any breathing problems, do not plan to visit the third level as we were not told this until we had already entered the second level,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good One Stop Opportunity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The cavern and natural bridge were close together, so we were able to experience a cavern with our 10 year old grandson. The walk under the natural bridge to the waterfall at the end of the trail was actually an amble with an replicated Indian village along the way. The caverns were definitely not the best we have seen, but because our grandson had never experienced any, it worked.
The other activities on site seemed to scream tourist-trap. The entrance to the Natural Bridge was through the store which looked more like a department store. We won't return here, especially if there are some National Parks in the area that are open.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Only place to see in natural bridge package! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Though you pay for many other things in a package natural bridge caverns is the only place you will have some excitement. One guy should be from authority explained us how, when and where things started and being done. Just like church seat arrangements are. We enjoyed sitting and watching sight for quite sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overpriced. Dirty building. Beautiful natural bridge. Butterfly (live) museum was fun but poorly kept with a lot of dead butterflies in the overhead lights etc.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 
Natural Bridge, VA
 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.