We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
15 Appledore Lane, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
(540) 291-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caverns in the Shenandoah Valley that extend 34 stories underground.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overpriced. Dirty building. Beautiful natural bridge. Butterfly (live) museum was fun but poorly kept with a lot of dead butterflies in the overhead lights etc.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    83
    64
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austintown, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We decided to tour these caverns because we were already here. But honestly I think maybe we should have went to the Lurray Caverns. These were okay. Kinda cool, but not what I've seen on other cavern tours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not as impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you've never been to a cavern and this is your only opportunity, have at it. But if you're in Virginia and have time, pick a different cavern. This one was not very impressive. Don't get me wrong, Natural Bridge all together was a great experience. Most likely, you'll but the ticket for all the activities so the butterfly museum and the bridge are nice and it's a great little hiking trip with some great scenery. But don't go into the cavern with high expectations. There are no pretty colors, no spectacular sites. Everything in this cavern is brownish. If you plan on visiting multiple caverns in the area (like I did), visit this one first because if you don't, you'll be a little disappointed after you see the others.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
417 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you've never been to a cavern (and for some reason cannot travel a bit further to other Virginia caverns), then this may be an awe-inspiring site for you. However, if you have been to other caverns, I recommend that you spend your money elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearts Content, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved every part”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The caverns are beautiful! such a wonder of nature. If you leave disappointed it's your own fault. We loved every minute of the whole park!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 
Natural Bridge, VA
 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.