We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
15 Appledore Lane, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
(540) 291-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Caverns in the Shenandoah Valley that extend 34 stories underground.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overpriced. Dirty building. Beautiful natural bridge. Butterfly (live) museum was fun but poorly kept with a lot of dead butterflies in the overhead lights etc.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    65
    50
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austintown, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We decided to tour these caverns because we were already here. But honestly I think maybe we should have went to the Lurray Caverns. These were okay. Kinda cool, but not what I've seen on other cavern tours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not as impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you've never been to a cavern and this is your only opportunity, have at it. But if you're in Virginia and have time, pick a different cavern. This one was not very impressive. Don't get me wrong, Natural Bridge all together was a great experience. Most likely, you'll but the ticket for all the activities so the butterfly museum and the bridge are nice and it's a great little hiking trip with some great scenery. But don't go into the cavern with high expectations. There are no pretty colors, no spectacular sites. Everything in this cavern is brownish. If you plan on visiting multiple caverns in the area (like I did), visit this one first because if you don't, you'll be a little disappointed after you see the others.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you've never been to a cavern (and for some reason cannot travel a bit further to other Virginia caverns), then this may be an awe-inspiring site for you. However, if you have been to other caverns, I recommend that you spend your money elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearts Content, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved every part”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The caverns are beautiful! such a wonder of nature. If you leave disappointed it's your own fault. We loved every minute of the whole park!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 
Natural Bridge, VA
 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Natural Bridge Caverns to your Saves list