We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet in the off-season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natural Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA
Save
You added Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA to your Saves list
214 Kildeer Road, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Central Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet in the off-season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the "economy" camping cabins. Unlike our previous experience at a KOA, this cabin had no 'fridge and no TV. I guess that was the "economy" part. That was a little disappointing, but when I looked again at the details of our reservation, it was all there. If you like those amenities, just be very careful about which cabin you choose.

This place was fine for us in April, when it was quite empty. It is literally across the street from the interstate exit ramp, making it extremely easy to find, and right down the road from a serviceable local restaurant. Bathroom and showers were clean. And I liked the convenient location of the water taps. Also, folks working there were nice.

We really enjoyed the safari park next door, and it's also a fantastic base camp for day hikes and drives into some beautiful country.

This is a very small KOA and I imagine it would feel pretty claustrophobic when filled up. However, in April during the week we had the place almost to ourselves. It was so quiet you could hear the trucks on the interstate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been impressed before, but not like this ! Very easy to get to and then get back on interstate. People are extremely helpful and friendly holding yo the southern hospitality. Nice paved roads, clean sites and wifi actually works! The store is quaint and sufficient closing at 8:00. There's an arcade, pool and covered picnic area as well as a very easily accessible laundry-mat. And for the women...the showers are down lower for good pressure and its a very clean bathroom. So pleased with this KOA. Will come again :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a 38 ft motorhome towing a car, by the time we leveled, we were 6-8 in off the ground. The sewer was 24 feet away, so we couldnt use that.The dump station only has water on the right side, so we dumped the tanks without flushing them out. We understand this is in the mountains, but dont think it is equipped for this size rig.
It is new owners, and they are nice and are starting to do improvements.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosciusko, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice shaded spaces..plenty of room for our 32 ft fifth wheel.reasonable rates...dog friendly. Wifi strong...cable lineup good.we will be back.its right off the interstate and easy to find.also has a nice store on the premises.staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We liked this KOA. We were in a tent, like the others say, choose your site wisely. We were in 48a, but thought that 28 would be the perfect site. Large and flat. This was a smaller KOA than the one in Williamsburg. This location is right next door to the Va. Safari where you feed the animals right from your car. Also, Natural Bridge and Lexington are right down the road. We found it very clean and well appointed. We didn't have any problem with the staff. The only exception is that they delivered the firewood I paid for to 48. At least I was there and saw him deliver it. The main problem was the road noise. It's only about 1 mile off of the highway, so you had a constant stream of traffic and trucks all night long. Not loud mind you, just constant.

Room Tip: As stated above, get the right tent site. I suggest 28 or 48A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

LOVE KOA's, exclusively camp in they are very family oriented.

We have a 18ft travel trailer and camp with our two preschoolers. Camped the week before Columbus Day. Stayed five nights in the deluxe patio site with porch swing, gas grill (so nasty we couldn't use) and umbrella (filled with bugs and couldn't use) over patio table and comfy. Raised fire box on patio with screen to cover if desired.

Can't comment on pool, bath house or restrooms.

PROS:
--Two playgrounds for the kids.
--Nature walk path.
--Central location b/n Staunton and Roanoke.
--Older couple super nice (that manage campground).
--Nicely stocked campstore - with ice cream!
--Papa John's delivers pizza to campsite.
--Off season the campground is not crowded.

CONS:
--Younger man is grumpy, grumpy, grumpy. It was due to rain two days and my husband asked if the man could recommend any indoor attractions BESIDES the Roanoke Transportation Museum and the man recommended the two local zoos. (hunh?) DH also asked why the WIFI doesn't work, man told him he needed a clear signal (no trees, no campers, etc.). DH couldn't get a signal in the store, right in front of the man. Man shrugged. We get it, we're camping. But don't advertise that feature if you can't deliver.
--Very unlevel spots. Luckily we had plenty of contraptions to level our camper. The older gentleman did offer add'l boards, that was nice.
--Camp store was typically overpriced.
--Campers came and went all day long until well after dark - for just one night. Kinda a transient place off the highway I guess for ppl traveling.

Overall, because of the grumpy staff and unlevel spots, we will probably not be back to this particular KOA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Labor day weekend 2012=We had site 48A, a tent site down by the playground with enough room for 2 tents.
My party consisted of 2 adults and 3 kids.

PROS>
-clean bathrooms, very clean
-hot and free showers
-swimming pool clean and good temp
-typical store on site, slightly overpriced but well stocked
-very friendly staff, especially Jerry who took us to our site and brought us our firewood, felt like he was family
-super fun family activities (relay races in bouncy house, train rides, candy hunt at nite;-)
-organized facility, no trash laying around
-well shaded sites

CONS>
-most tent sites a little sloped (at least the majority I saw), or with a drainage ditch running down middle of them, we had to move. 2nd site was slightly better
-for a tent site; a little expensive per night

RECAP> Loved it and will stay here again, Kids loved it!!!
HP

Room Tip: Cabins look great and are just a little bit more $
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA

Address: 214 Kildeer Road, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Natural Bridge
Number of rooms: 114
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge/Lexington Koa Hotel Natural Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.