We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice offerings, grumpy staff, lacking wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natural Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA
Save
You added Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA to your Saves list
214 Kildeer Road, Natural Bridge, VA 24578   |  
Hotel amenities
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice offerings, grumpy staff, lacking wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

LOVE KOA's, exclusively camp in they are very family oriented.

We have a 18ft travel trailer and camp with our two preschoolers. Camped the week before Columbus Day. Stayed five nights in the deluxe patio site with porch swing, gas grill (so nasty we couldn't use) and umbrella (filled with bugs and couldn't use) over patio table and comfy. Raised fire box on patio with screen to cover if desired.

Can't comment on pool, bath house or restrooms.

PROS:
--Two playgrounds for the kids.
--Nature walk path.
--Central location b/n Staunton and Roanoke.
--Older couple super nice (that manage campground).
--Nicely stocked campstore - with ice cream!
--Papa John's delivers pizza to campsite.
--Off season the campground is not crowded.

CONS:
--Younger man is grumpy, grumpy, grumpy. It was due to rain two days and my husband asked if the man could recommend any indoor attractions BESIDES the Roanoke Transportation Museum and the man recommended the two local zoos. (hunh?) DH also asked why the WIFI doesn't work, man told him he needed a clear signal (no trees, no campers, etc.). DH couldn't get a signal in the store, right in front of the man. Man shrugged. We get it, we're camping. But don't advertise that feature if you can't deliver.
--Very unlevel spots. Luckily we had plenty of contraptions to level our camper. The older gentleman did offer add'l boards, that was nice.
--Camp store was typically overpriced.
--Campers came and went all day long until well after dark - for just one night. Kinda a transient place off the highway I guess for ppl traveling.

Overall, because of the grumpy staff and unlevel spots, we will probably not be back to this particular KOA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Labor day weekend 2012=We had site 48A, a tent site down by the playground with enough room for 2 tents.
My party consisted of 2 adults and 3 kids.

PROS>
-clean bathrooms, very clean
-hot and free showers
-swimming pool clean and good temp
-typical store on site, slightly overpriced but well stocked
-very friendly staff, especially Jerry who took us to our site and brought us our firewood, felt like he was family
-super fun family activities (relay races in bouncy house, train rides, candy hunt at nite;-)
-organized facility, no trash laying around
-well shaded sites

CONS>
-most tent sites a little sloped (at least the majority I saw), or with a drainage ditch running down middle of them, we had to move. 2nd site was slightly better
-for a tent site; a little expensive per night

RECAP> Loved it and will stay here again, Kids loved it!!!
HP

Room Tip: Cabins look great and are just a little bit more $
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from the Blue Ridge Parkway in NC to NYC. It was a nice campground! Cabins were a tad far from the bathrooms in the middle of the night, but otherwise a nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our time at this KOA.... only draw back was that our site was on a slope which made it somewhat difficult to step up and step down in our RV. The entire campground was well maintained with clean facilities and the lawns were well manicured. If we are in the area again, we would be happy to camp here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our family just got back from a week's stay at the Natural Bridge KOA with our travel trailer. This is a very nice campground. Needs some updating but the property was clean and neat and the kids enjoyed the pool. We have a 32 foot travel trailer and had no problem getting into our site and from what we could see no one else did either. Even had a 50 ft Rv come in for an overnight while we were there and he fit just fine! I would recommed this as a place to stay if going to Natural Bridge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

When my husband and I go camping, we always stay at KOAs. This one was the worst. The roads and sites were tiny (watched many people with campers struggling to get into the sites), as well as the bathroom stalls, the showers, pool, everything. 2 out of 4 showers for women at the whole site were too low, I guess they were made for kids yet kids can shower under regular showerheads so I'm not sure what the thought process was there. I am 5 ft 5 and I had to squat under the showerhead. There was much hype about the dog park, which in my opinion, was terrible - filled with random tubes cut off from a playground that none of the dogs wanted anything to do with. It was too small for dogs to actually run around. In our case, "pet friendly" meant paying $10 more for a cabin right next to the entrance, which was ok for our dog, but not for most dogs that bark at anyone that walks/drives by. The $15 deposit for a key was strange, the key is on a huge bright yellow keychain you would be hardpressed to lose it. Wireless internet does not work at most sites (didn't matter for us, but thought I would mention it). We paid $125 for 2 nights in a small cabin aka "shed" that did not even have A/C. However, considering the area, this may be the best, which is definitely not saying a lot. I would recommend checking into the other nearby KOA (think it was about 30 min. away) or one of the other campsites if you are coming to the attractions here for the day.

The KOA is right next to the drive-through safari (check it out - it was awesome) and close to the main Natural Bridge attractions.

Room Tip: Ignore the fitness center and room service ratings, N/A
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently stayed three nights at this KOA. The June 29th storm knocked out power in Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, etc. & was devastating!

We arrived late evening on July 1st & were notified upon check-in that our tent site had no electricity. I was disappointed that they didn't call us before hand... also, at check in one of the owners made a comment about my hyphenated last name which added insult to injury.

We paid the price for a tent site with no electric or water, and they did knock off an extra $11 for a reserved tent spot, so I was happy about that... Yes, we are frugal!

The owners of the campsite did the best they could under the circumstances... I think after this they're likely to invest in a generator.

If you like to camp at KOA's... this KOA is OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA

Address: 214 Kildeer Road, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
Location: United States > Virginia > Natural Bridge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Natural Bridge
Number of rooms: 114
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge/Lexington Koa Hotel Natural Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge/Lexington KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.