We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Nassawadox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn Nassawadox to your Saves list
Budget Inn Nassawadox
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7120 Lankford Hwy, Nassawadox, VA 23412 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nassawadox
Virginia
1 review
“Caution!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I reserved a room through Kayak showing up late in the evening, about 9 PM. The manager looked at me like I had two heads when I told him my name and that I had booked a room for the evening. He then went right to a slip with my information, asked me how many people, handed me a room key and remote, and pointed me in the right direction. I felt like I was imposing. My son and I checked into the room which was stifling. I required internet access which we could not log on to. My son went to the front desk where the manager proceeded to argue with him rudely. I called the front desk to inquire about the free wi-fi and how to connect. The woman who answered the phone spoke with a pronounced accent which I had difficulty understanding. The woman then raised her voice, and associated letters with words so I could understand her articulation. My hearing is exemplary. The manager(?) and two boys came to our door a few minutes later. The manager continued to raise his voice and speak rudely as the older child attempted to discern the problem. The virus program we use was blocking their unsecured network, so it was a minor problem on our end, and readily fixed (I determined the concern after a few minutes more of fiddling with the control panel). FYI - Once connected, the internet was painfully slow, similar to dial up. This in no way excuses the manner in which we were treated. I felt like a second class citizen, or an intruder, an imposition. The room was reasonably clean with the exception of a few bugs. It appears an old building and one could see light around the door so I assume the bugs came in seeking comfort. In the morning my son went to scout out the free continental breakfast. Minutes later he came back to the room and said there wasn't one. I had an appointment in the area that morning which I had to get to, so we had a late brunch, as there was no way I, or he, was going to deal with the manager if we could avoid it. Water, nuts, and granola tied us over until we could stop for real food. Running an Inn requires a service orientated approach, or in the least general human kindness. If you have thick skin, don't mind being treated like an untouchable (avarna or out castes), don't require the internet for anything important, say like a meeting in the morning that one drove 5 hours to attend, don't mind a few bugs, and have a great imagination concerning what constitutes a continental breakfast (I thought surely more than air), by all means, book.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. Generally quiet setting. AC either didn't provide enough air, or was to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    3
    16
See reviews for
7
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Worst Hotel ever, I would call it worst than a motel. Travelocity made a mistake with the price and the reservation; once I realized everything was wrong and I looked at the place...I wanted to run away. I refused to pay them and decided I would take it up with Travelocity, and I was told that if I did not stay they would charge me the price of reserving a room. However, they charged me the price as if I would have stayed there plus an extra person and a dog. I DID NOT sign the credit card paper that they printed out and they still charged me the night as if I would of stayed. The next morning I went there, to ask for a copy of my paper work since they never gave me anything. They told me that even though I did not stay they were going to keep my money; they snatched a paper from my hand, yelled at the top of their lungs and insulted me. THE BEST PART was that I recorded them, saying they were stealing my money. I am taking it up with Travelocity and my credit card. Just want to make sure YOU don’t stay there, WORST place ever. Rooms are disgusting, the lobby stinks horrible… like all sort of spices and dirt, the people are beyond rude and look like they sleep there, they walk around barefoot and are so unprofessional. They DO NOT have continental breakfast, unless you call cereal with coffee a continental breakfast. The place is so nasty that you might just catch something from eating anything from that place. Go down the road and stay at the Best Western, so much cheaper, nicer, cleaner and friendlier.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is a dump and ruined our vacation passing through The Eastern Shore Of Va...The carpet was dingy,the bed had a stain on the sheet,no clean towels,an air freshner hanging from the ceiling..There was no hair dryer and even soap..The manager we spoke to was extremely rude and nasty when confronted about our room condition..He threw a temper tantrum blabbering off some unknown language and would not refund our money..We have the Better Business Bureau looking into this matter! This dump doesnt deserve a 1 star rating and the manager named Paul had better learn how to treat his customers instead of acting like a con man!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My stay was a nightmare... The rooms are discusting. Toliet keeps running. No clean towels the second day. They promised on the website that there was a blow dryer, coffee pot, alarm clock, iron in the rooms but there was none. The free wifi don't even work. They only give you one room key. The breakfast is only doughnuts purchased from the store and cereal that sits out all night. All in all I would never stay here again. Its deff not worth the $50/night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were traveling with our kids looking at the area considering a move to the VA Eastern Shore. We were greeted by a horrible front desk person who grilled us about having extra people and how we better pay up the extra $5 (we had no additional people!). The room was dingy and my kids put wet towels on the floor which instantly turned brown from the filthy carpet. We had exactly two grimmy pillows per bed. The A/C was 5 inches from the one bed and I froze all night. The bathtub made a terrible noise when you stepped in it and we feared it would fall thru. We had aked for a 1st floor room for a handicapped child and they could have cared less that they had none available. We had made advanced reservations for this purpose. NEVER AGAIN! The kennel where my dog stayed was nicer and the people friendllier than this place. On the upside, we stayed at a Comfort Inn the next night and that was a wonderful facility, pay the extra money!!!! DON"T STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Go to Comfort Inn....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAPEL HILL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very rude foreign man running the hotel. I got a room that was musty (probably because they don't set the A/C when nobody is in the room and it was 95 degrees) and it affected my allergies - literally could not breathe. The man said I was in the room too long to move to another, even though I was out for the day and had to wait to see if two Benadryl would work. He didn't want to hear it. The older woman who ran the desk at night was not any better.

The only reason they are still in business is there is a shortage of hotels on that part of the Maryland eastern shore. I tried to get another room at any other hotel within 100 miles north in July and there were not any. This was absolutely the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The problem wasnt with the hotel room itself but with the staff. The manager, from what I understand, it an older lady but she was nice. There is a foreign man who works there, I'm not sure what nationality. He is absolutely rude and has no customer service skills whatsoever. He does not care about the customer and has no interest in helping them at all.

There was a very large outdoor party across the street and a fight broke out and moved into the hotel parking lot. The police had to come and pepper spray them all. A drunk woman also hit something in front of the hotel and had to be arrested.

I will never go back to this hotel, it may be easier on the pocket, but you definately get what you pay for. In this case, $60 will get you rude, sarcastic, and snide treatment. Definately do not recommend this for any human being.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Upon arrival we requested a late check out (as this was a benefit for being a member of the America's Value Club) This was not granted by the owner Our room was in another building at least 50 yards from the main inn, with no ice machine available. For ice you would need to drive or walk at least 50 yards (just one way). The room was very poor maintained. There was only 1/2 roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, a very small refrigerator, no microwave, no air dryer (as advertised). There was an auto air freshener hanging from the ceiling. A dead fly on the window sill and screen torn in the window. I had asked for a handicap bathroom. What we given for handicap bathroom was to two handles which had to be attached to a very low toilet seat. We wil not stay at this place again and we do not recommend this facility to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay at another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn Nassawadox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Nassawadox

Address: 7120 Lankford Hwy, Nassawadox, VA 23412 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Location: United States > Virginia > Nassawadox
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nassawadox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Nassawadox 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Budget Inn is located in Nassawadox, 3 miles from Northampton Shopping Center, and 2 miles from Campbell Field. The Eastern Shore National Wildlife Refuge is a short 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Inn Nassawadox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Nassawadox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.